We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, great service, good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great room, great service, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is my 2nd stay at the hotel and my friend and I love it! We were welcome by a lovely trainee Mitchell I believe who took time to print us off a list of movies playing at Jam Factory and the timetable so we could plan our afternoon. I love the smell in the hotel and the rooms are really good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Albinoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Albinoosh
Many thanks for your lovely review of The Como Melbourne, we are very lucky to have a wonderful team of dedicated people who genuinely want to help all our guests wherever they can – I am very proud to work with them.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    266
    81
    28
    15
See reviews for
133
425
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Service is usually pretty good but some of the systems are a bit archaic. I have stayed 6 times over the past few months but I seem to have to fill in the same form - this time they filed my booking under my first name!

Rooms are good but my main gripe is the breakfast room. The selection is ordinary and it is expensive. I now eat over the road at the Spoonbill restaurant at the Olsen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear NickE
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the way we have welcomed you back to our hotel as a valued return guest. I am also disappointed we have not met your expectations in regards to breakfast but appreciate the time you have taking to make these known to us.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carragarmungee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great friendly service - great location - highly recommended in all aspects, however North Melbourne lost against Hawthorn by 3 points. Perhaps The Como can arrange for North Melbourne to win during our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank CarragarmungeeRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear CarragarmungeeRoo
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! However, we are extremely sorry we were not able to facilitate the win to North Melbourne as requested – if only we had that power!

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Big rooms, clean well appointed Great location. Close to trams and CBD. Movie theatre very close if you have time to kill. Big bathrooms with big fluffy towels. Many excellent restaurants close by. Try the Greek restaurant about 500 metres from the Como. Five mins to train station but you need to purchase an oyster card.

Room Tip: A twenty minute walk to Melb CBD. But can takes up to 45 mins in a taxi during peak hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmperthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear mmperthWA
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. We are delighted you enjoyed our large suites and the great location we are in. We hope you had enough time to explore…

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location in south Yarra near lots of shopping, cares and so forth. Staff very friendly and professional. Rooms very big with little kitchen, coffee and tea making facilities and good size bathroom. Not sure about morrissey bathroom products but they were there so shampoo etc provided if required. Breakfast area is a bit soulless and as usual my complaint with hotel breakfasts is that the range of commercial cereals is poor and unhealthy and I hate toasted muesli- ha!

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty good mine was 316 very quiet even though has window on to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suezzerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear suezzerk
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us however I am disappointed to see we did not exceed your expectations in regards to breakfast. I appreciate your commentary and have passed this on to the relevant department.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very hard to complain as the online deal we obtained was terrific, so felt like we stole a few nights at the Como. Enjoy the extra space in the rooms, my only criticisms are related to the the usual, why o why cannot internet be included, and here we are in melbourne and the hotel has not chosen to have the FoxFooty channel - which means had to duck off to the pub to watch the AFL.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank scott p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear drsmiparso
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. I am extremely sorry we did not meet all your expectations but appreciate the time you have taken to let us know so we are able to make improvements in the future.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
514 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first experience of the The Como Hotel and we were certainly not disappointed. Checkin was efficient and friendly, made better by the complememtary coffee we were offered while our luggage was taken to our suite. The hotel is of a different shape so you don't get the long sterile corridors of big chain hotels and the decore is bright and interesting. Big bowls of apples and pears were available at the desk at all times.
Our suite was large, bright and clean with windows overlooking Chapel St on one side and a park on the other. The suite was well appointed but definitely for two people only, ie 2 cups, 2 plates etc.
Lovely bedroom with a big comfortable bed, TV set, big fluffy robes and slippers. Nice living area with table and chairs apart from a comfortable settee and a good sized desk if you need to work in the suite..
Nice bathroom with separate bath and shower, good quality toileteries and nice fluffy towels.
Sobar is a great place for after work drinks while The Brasseire is a great place for breakfast. Dinner is only available in room, but this is no problem with the multitude of restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: I doubt that there are any substandard rooms in this hotel but certainly the suites with windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Schlepper1939

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our little touches like the apples and pears and complimentary coffee at reception on check in too. We hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing