We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quest on Chapel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Fitness center
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Toorak Manor(Toorak)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hatton Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,085)
Filter reviews
1,085 results
Traveler rating
633
308
97
31
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
308
97
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth yarrachapel streetrubber duckspa suiteone bedroom suitedeep bathaccor membergreat shoppingtoorak roadroom servicestar hotelcafes and restaurantsbeautiful roommodern hotelan upgradedining tablevalet parking
Filter
Updating list...
777 - 782 of 1,085 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location in south Yarra near lots of shopping, cares and so forth. Staff very friendly and professional. Rooms very big with little kitchen, coffee and tea making facilities and good size bathroom. Not sure about morrissey bathroom products but they were there so shampoo etc provided if required. Breakfast area is a bit soulless and as usual my complaint with hotel breakfasts is that the range of commercial cereals is poor and unhealthy and I hate toasted muesli- ha!

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty good mine was 316 very quiet even though has window on to the road.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suezzerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear suezzerk
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us however I am disappointed to see we did not exceed your expectations in regards to breakfast. I appreciate your commentary and have passed this on to the relevant department.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very hard to complain as the online deal we obtained was terrific, so felt like we stole a few nights at the Como. Enjoy the extra space in the rooms, my only criticisms are related to the the usual, why o why cannot internet be included, and here we are in melbourne and the hotel has not chosen to have the FoxFooty channel - which means had to duck off to the pub to watch the AFL.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank scott p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear drsmiparso
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. I am extremely sorry we did not meet all your expectations but appreciate the time you have taken to let us know so we are able to make improvements in the future.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first experience of the The Como Hotel and we were certainly not disappointed. Checkin was efficient and friendly, made better by the complememtary coffee we were offered while our luggage was taken to our suite. The hotel is of a different shape so you don't get the long sterile corridors of big chain hotels and the decore is bright and interesting. Big bowls of apples and pears were available at the desk at all times.
Our suite was large, bright and clean with windows overlooking Chapel St on one side and a park on the other. The suite was well appointed but definitely for two people only, ie 2 cups, 2 plates etc.
Lovely bedroom with a big comfortable bed, TV set, big fluffy robes and slippers. Nice living area with table and chairs apart from a comfortable settee and a good sized desk if you need to work in the suite..
Nice bathroom with separate bath and shower, good quality toileteries and nice fluffy towels.
Sobar is a great place for after work drinks while The Brasseire is a great place for breakfast. Dinner is only available in room, but this is no problem with the multitude of restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: I doubt that there are any substandard rooms in this hotel but certainly the suites with windows on two sides are light and bright.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Schlepper1939

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our little touches like the apples and pears and complimentary coffee at reception on check in too. We hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent service from the get-go. Loved every part of the experience. The rooms are really spacious and the location is a winner - in close proximity to some great Melbourne restaurants. I'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sydneyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Sydneyph

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy more of this great location.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've been staying at the Como for about 12 years now, and the place is still rocking. The rooms are very funky, dark carpets, fluffy bathrobes and a nice felt-covered lounge. Bowl of fruit, with apples and pears greets you at the reception desk, nice touch. About half an hour of free WiFi in lobby per day, or if you need more Internet time, you can use the business centre. Nice and quiet . Fab location, close to tram stop and South Yarra train stop. Great shopping and eateries at your doorstep, as well as the Palace Cinema within spitting distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Lou665

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Como Melbourne. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We love our new cosy bathrobes too. We hope we can welcome you back soon to enjoy more of what is to offer in our great location.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews