We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and stylish.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #22 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Big rooms, clean well appointed Great location. Close to trams and CBD. Movie theatre very close if you have time to kill. Big bathrooms with big fluffy towels. Many excellent restaurants close by. Try the Greek restaurant about 500 metres from the Como. Five mins to train station but you need to purchase an oyster card.

Room Tip: A twenty minute walk to Melb CBD. But can takes up to 45 mins in a taxi during peak hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmperthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear mmperthWA
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. We are delighted you enjoyed our large suites and the great location we are in. We hope you had enough time to explore…

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location in south Yarra near lots of shopping, cares and so forth. Staff very friendly and professional. Rooms very big with little kitchen, coffee and tea making facilities and good size bathroom. Not sure about morrissey bathroom products but they were there so shampoo etc provided if required. Breakfast area is a bit soulless and as usual my complaint with hotel breakfasts is that the range of commercial cereals is poor and unhealthy and I hate toasted muesli- ha!

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty good mine was 316 very quiet even though has window on to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suezzerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear suezzerk
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us however I am disappointed to see we did not exceed your expectations in regards to breakfast. I appreciate your commentary and have passed this on to the relevant department.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very hard to complain as the online deal we obtained was terrific, so felt like we stole a few nights at the Como. Enjoy the extra space in the rooms, my only criticisms are related to the the usual, why o why cannot internet be included, and here we are in melbourne and the hotel has not chosen to have the FoxFooty channel - which means had to duck off to the pub to watch the AFL.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank scott p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear drsmiparso
Many thanks for your review of The Como Melbourne. I am extremely sorry we did not meet all your expectations but appreciate the time you have taken to let us know so we are able to make improvements in the future.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first experience of the The Como Hotel and we were certainly not disappointed. Checkin was efficient and friendly, made better by the complememtary coffee we were offered while our luggage was taken to our suite. The hotel is of a different shape so you don't get the long sterile corridors of big chain hotels and the decore is bright and interesting. Big bowls of apples and pears were available at the desk at all times.
Our suite was large, bright and clean with windows overlooking Chapel St on one side and a park on the other. The suite was well appointed but definitely for two people only, ie 2 cups, 2 plates etc.
Lovely bedroom with a big comfortable bed, TV set, big fluffy robes and slippers. Nice living area with table and chairs apart from a comfortable settee and a good sized desk if you need to work in the suite..
Nice bathroom with separate bath and shower, good quality toileteries and nice fluffy towels.
Sobar is a great place for after work drinks while The Brasseire is a great place for breakfast. Dinner is only available in room, but this is no problem with the multitude of restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: I doubt that there are any substandard rooms in this hotel but certainly the suites with windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Schlepper1939

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our little touches like the apples and pears and complimentary coffee at reception on check in too. We hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent service from the get-go. Loved every part of the experience. The rooms are really spacious and the location is a winner - in close proximity to some great Melbourne restaurants. I'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sydneyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Sydneyph

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy more of this great location.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've been staying at the Como for about 12 years now, and the place is still rocking. The rooms are very funky, dark carpets, fluffy bathrobes and a nice felt-covered lounge. Bowl of fruit, with apples and pears greets you at the reception desk, nice touch. About half an hour of free WiFi in lobby per day, or if you need more Internet time, you can use the business centre. Nice and quiet . Fab location, close to tram stop and South Yarra train stop. Great shopping and eateries at your doorstep, as well as the Palace Cinema within spitting distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Lou665

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Como Melbourne. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We love our new cosy bathrobes too. We hope we can welcome you back soon to enjoy more of what is to offer in our great location.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Even though this was a freebie from Advantage Plus, we were treated with complete courtesy from the hotel staff from the front desk staff to the guys looking after your car in valet parking. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. Breakfast was served in a delightful little room overlooking a pleasant courtyard and was very good value for the price charged. The final pleasing gesture from the hotel was after making our way to our car, carefully parked outside the entrance in a position that was ready to drive away, the hotel staff had put two bottles of ice water in the front of the car for our drive that day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank kcfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Kcfall

Thank you for taking the time to review The Como Melbourne. As a part of Accor Hotels, we are delighted to welcome all of our Advantage Plus Members, we do hope that you had a chance to sample our Harvest menu in The Brasserie for breakfast. We are so pleased that your stay was memorable and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,783 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#93 of 161 in Melbourne
343 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $145 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing