We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel - Fantastic Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“Great Hotel - Fantastic Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Currently sat in my hotel room on my last nights stay in this hotel, everything has been to the highest quality and as others have already mentioned the suites are excellent, with beds that you need a map for to navigate across as they are huge.

The staff are very accommodating and friendly from reception to room service.

A particular mention to Rebecca (Bec) who has got to be the happiest person I have ever met. Nothing seems to phase her, I contacted the hotel a week before my arrival and Bec dealt with my call, during my stay I happened to mentioned to her that I had spoken to her two weeks earlier from the UK and she even referred to me by name. Great customer service!

The hotel is a 9.8 out of 10 for cleanliness, the only criticism I can have would lie around the mould/mildew behind the glass in the shower cubicle but other than removing that glass panel there is no way to clean that.

The food is of a high quality, fresh produce, it is a little on the expensive side but that is expected in a 4+ star hotel in a lucrative area of the city.

I did look at various hotels prior to this visit but I am glad a ended up here and would I highly recommend to anyone.

The gym/pool facilities do exist but to be honest I only made it there a couple of times and it isn't the biggest, that said on the first occasion I was there on my own and the second only one other.

**Warning** If you close the blackout curtains SET an ALARM, I failed to do this and lost several hours of my day as these blackout curtains really do the job and for someone that is a very light sleeper that is an achievement.

Room Tip: If not bothered about the view then room 614 looks onto a small garden area. Quite frankly, the blac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Neil C

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are so privileged to work with such a fantastic and enthusiastic team that thrive on providing the service that you received. We have noted your comments with regards to the shower and have escalated this to our maintenance department. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Melbourne and have passed on your praise to the team. Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review, we greatly appreciate it.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    254
    78
    28
    15
See reviews for
124
411
70
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Couldn't fault any aspect of our stay, many thanks to the staff for going out of their way assist us-especially with my wife's dietary requirements. Will (and have) recommend this property to friends.
Jase and Jane

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Meester-Holmez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Meester-Holmez

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was disappointed as the cleanliness of the room was poor and as soon as we entered the hotel there was someone's underwear (men's jockey) lying near the mattress.Also the dustbin in the bathroom was full of dirt and looks like haven't cleaned at all.Expected a lot more for the price I paid!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank christopher_tomichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Christopher_tomichen

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I sincerely apologise that the cleanliness of your room was not as it should be. We have escalated this to our housekeeping department and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused and assure you that this is not our normal standard. We do hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future and ensure that you receive our usual service and standards.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

In Melbourne for a week and stayed at the Como in a one bedroom suite. Fantastic rooms. The bed and pillows were soooo comfortable.
Loved having the extra space with the lounge room and balcony.
Staff are professional and friendly, nothing was a problem to them.
Great to have valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonjoymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sharonjoymc

Thank you for your review, we love our fantastic oversized One Bedroom Suites too. We do take a great deal of care in the warm and hospitable service we provide so I am delighted to read you felt that from our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my 2nd time staying at the Como, it was even better than my first time there.
From the moment you walk in you know you're staying somewhere special. The staff a just wonderful, friendly and extremely attentive. After hello you are offered an espresso ... Fantastic.
The hotel is exceptionally clean and bright. It doesn't compare to any other 5 star hotel I've been to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Kylie D

We are so pleased to have had the opportunity to welcome you back. It is the little touches like the complimentary espresso on check-in that we pride ourselves on along with the fantastic work our team do to ensure every guest is made to feel at home. Thank you for your lovely review.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived it was plain to see this would be a great place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, who when told on check-in that it was our wedding anniversary, immediately organised a complmentary bottle of sparkling to be sent to our room arriving just minutes after we first entered it. On entering the large room we were immediately struck by its spaciousness and quality fittings and made to feel at home with a welcoming note, drink voucher and chocolates. Being right on Chapel St (which our room overlooked) and all it has to offer, we had immediate access to restaurants, shopping and public transport so didn't need the car.
It was a terrific few days, accentuated by the quality of the room and the excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank peterandanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Peterandanne56

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful wedding anniversary stay with us and we were able to spoil you little with a bottle of sparkling. As you know, we are located in such a fantastic position on Chapel Street, we do hope to be able to welcome you back soon to discover more of what the local area has to offer.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed after not been to Melbourne for some time. The staff were amazing and so accommodating, nothing was too much for them. I stayed in an open plan suite and it was just so spacious. The hotel had a theme running with lots of local harvest items, the corn fritters were divine and I just loved the beetroot, carrot and ginger juice that was a part of their Harvest Special menu. I previously stayed at another hotel on Chapel Street but the size of the rooms and service leave them for dead. Will be back- thanks so much!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ScouseSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear ScouseSA

Thank you for your lovely review of The Como Melbourne. We are very proud of our Harvest installation and are thrilled you enjoyed your breakfast with us. One of our greatest assets, along with our fantastic staff, is the size of our suites, so we are pleased that you loved our Open Plan Suite. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,837 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing