We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Title of Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #22 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

In suite 527. King size bed good; slept well. Bathroom/shower good, but smooth marble floor - slippery when wet. View out window was cooling ducts, building sites & look down into mall :) Limited TV selection ... only analog channels & restricted pay TV selection. In-room dining reasonable quality; breakfast good. Lobby so boutiquey, that it has steps everywhere ... why is there not a single level for entry/reception/lifts? Overall, enjoyed a single night; private and relaxing; good base to wander down Chapel St shops

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

Worst hotel ever! Staff were unhelpful & moody. Bar staff didn't know how to make a simple cocktail. Room was old, outdated, shower door hanging off hinges, room service was non existant. Would never stay here again & would never recommend this hotel to anybody!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

After several visits I have to say this hotel is not the Melbourne icon it was in the 90's.
Even arriving in a limo did not get us help in with the cases.There are stairs and a walk to the lifts which are by the "back door" to the Como arcade.
The lobby is smart and we read newspapers and used WiFi there, as it is free there and does not reach rooms. Reception staff work hard and seem to get all the phone calls too. Management were invisible and the bar very down market.
The rooms are all sorts of shapes and quiet, with large bathrooms and baths and good toiletries.
The TV's are too high up the wall when sitting below.
The tea/coffee kit is stored in the wardrobe without an electric socket.Out in the room there are NO high level electric sockets so tea making happens on the floor!!
House keeping is most unreliable.Little cleaning is done until the day you leave.
One day the cleaner left all our glasses and cups around the bathroom sink for us to put away!
We never ate in as there are dozens of cafe's near by.
The room windows are sealed but the air con is set to switch off after one hour if you fail to trigger the movement sensor in the ceiling near the door.
The bed cover was way too warm. The newspaper was kindly delivered daily.
Unless the price was excellent I would probably not want to stay again,despite a good position in town.
The pool looks very shallow and is open to the weather on the roof, did not make me interested in using it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel has a lovely foyer, the checkin process was easy and the staff were welcoming. The rooms are comfortable, but there are some oddities. The power points are below the level of the desk, so you have to clamber around under it to plug in any appliances/computers etc. Then the tea making area is at below knee level in a cupboard, without a power point, so you have to plug the jug in on the floor. Also had to plug the hair dryer in there too as I couldn't plug it in in the bathroom. So for a hotel that prides itself on a design, these are odd oversights. Good location, lots of places to eat and shop. Valet parking was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFlaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

What a great hotel. Exceptional staff who were consistently warm and welcoming. Super comfy beds with a great selection of pillows. The rooms are very spacious, and cleanliness and impeccable. Little things like fresh fruit in the lobby, and a welcome coffee after a long trip helped to make our stay truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandiceJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from one night at The Como in Melbourne. Upon check in greeted by a friendly knowledgable young gent who was happy to help with local info and create a good feel from the start.

The hotel is located in South Yarra, the tram stop is 50 m away and this can get you into the centre of Melbourne in approx 15 mins (#8) or to the beaches of St Kilda in similar time. Close to the hotel are an abundance of caves, restaurants and designer shops. The hotel itself is fresh, modern and in good order.

Our room I believe was an accessible room which wasn't the best, large yes however no bath tub and annoying elements like low mirrors and hand rails. All unnecessary for me personally. I found the room not to be overly clean, there appeared to be some hair in the bed, behind the taps in the bathroom was left over shaving hairs from a previous guest, not a great impression. I didn't complain as we were literally using the place to sleep for a couple of hours and didn't have time to move or wait for a housekeeper to rectify. At around 5am we were awoken by the adjoining room, not a pleasant wake up call at that time of the day, very loud and enthusiastic sounds coming through the wafer thin walls. I called reception twice who did try to react to the problem however the culprits paid no attention. We checked out and the manager automatically apologised to us and removed a small room service charge from our bill and offered an upgrade should we stay again, a very pleasant surprise and i was impressed with the response and empathy shown towards our experience. We stored our bags and went exploring for the day

Overall I would say fantastic location, friendly helpful staff, however little things like poor sound proofing and slack cleaning let down a potentially very good hotel. I would stay again because I know things do go wrong and I am a firm believer of its how problems are dealt with and not actually the occurrence that makes the issue.

Room Tip: Use the tram network, purchas a myki card and use on all public transport. Cabs are reasonable but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheStag247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

What a fabulous suite! the spa was lovely and the view with the trees below was great ! I only wished we were staying longer to make use of the amazingly well set out kitchen...did have to complain about the toilet seat which was broken and wobbly though..not a problem for us but the heavy guy coming in next...whoops!
Have to say the staff were so helpful and amazing...Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miranda151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,775 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#94 of 161 in Melbourne
343 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $146 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing