We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very modern,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #21 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked this hotel as a mystery option at a reduced rate. Considering it was Melbourne Cup time it was excellent value. The building and rooms appear to have been recently refurbished and everything is spotlessly new and of a high quality. Our room was a good size even though it was one of the smallest available when looking at the floor plan. It was tastefully decorated with white and charcoal as the main colours with a falling leaf motif on the wall. The bed was very comfortable, reading lights very accessible and all lighting controls easy at hand. The bathroom was a good size with a very satisfying shower but there was no benchtop on which to put personal toiletries. One concern was the noise from adjoining rooms where even moderate level conversations could be easily overheard. The staff were very professional and efficient. One drawback is the high cost of parking at $35 per night but if you are prepared to do a bit of searching cheaper parking can be found as well as on street. While this hotel was very well presented I felt the decor inexplicably lacking warmth or attractiveness. Its modern and, to my personal view, somewhat harsh interior design was unsettling. So, for my personal taste this hotel would not be one I would choose again. That said, I am certain there would be many others whose personal preference are opposite to mine and would feel comfortable there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul4444_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
There are newer reviews for The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I find the decor here a little stark and the need to lug your bags up and down stairs to the lift is very annoying. Having said this the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, the rooms comfortable and well equipped and the breakfast-I had mushrooms on toast and fresh orange, carrot and ginger juice-absolutely delicious. Good value too and a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good to see a tasteful refurbishment of The Como. I was urgrdaed to a Suite and it is like a one Bedroom Apartment. I used to live in the adjoining Armiatge Apartments back in the early 90's and was fond of the Como when it first opened for its stylish persona back then. (For those in the know I still have the Rubber Duck!) This my first stay there in 15 years or so and I was pleased to see it has reclaimed its prominace as a trendy and comfotrable establishment. The building is constructed solidly and most internal walls are concrete so it exudes more a feeling of a residential building than a cheap newly constructed Hotel.The srevice at check in was youthful and friendly. The Suite had that great smell of new plush carpet. There is a tastefully done kitchenete and Dining Table. Even a seperate office space. Great on trend danish inspired decor and furniture and a very comfotable quality fabric lounge. Large modern Bathroom with Morriesy Toiletries. (Though they were a bit generic). Bed could have been more substaintale in comfort for a King. It would have been a perfect stay if not for the noisy trams on Chapel Street and the construction site across the road in the morning. Overall befitting 5 Stars. Congratulations on the Re furb. I look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheStandardBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Regular visitor to Melbourne and first time I have stayed at the Como. Little worried when I arrived as there is a lot of building work in the area. However, very happy with my stay. The Como is stylish, spacious, clean and comfortable. I booked this as a secret room at a good rate and was not surprised to get a smaller room but it was still very comfortable and quiet with a large, well equipped spa bathroom. Lovely toiletries, slippers and robe and not stingy on the towels like many hotels, even 5 star ones. Great cinema in the same complex with direct access from the lobby and a really wide range of eating options on Chapel Street. Fashionistas will be in seventh heaven with a million shopping options nearby. The Como is a great choice if you are a bit tired of CBD hotel stays and want a modern hotel in an area with character.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank nina99Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A good start at reception with an efficient, friendly check in. The room was a nice surprise, one of the larger hotel rooms I have stayed in recently. The newly renovated room features a huge, very comfortable bed, large TV, good size desk and a bathroom with spa bath.
I had a room service meal which was very good and delivered very quickly.
A couple of small improvements could be made, there is a lot of light in the room at night, with light coming in from around the door and from the lcd display on the air conditioning. Also the minibar fridge seemed much noisier than usual. There are however small things that will not stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My first stay at this hotel and I will definitely be back. The staff were welcoming and the room was brilliant. Just renovated, good business desk and a huge bathroom with shower and spa. A great bed with good pillows.

The bar is great for a drink before going out for dinner at the fantastic restaurant strip. Lots to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregP42_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is very well located for the traveller in Melbourne. I found that the staff lacked that special touch you expect when paying $400 per night. The bar service took over 20 mintues to provide a simple drink, the check in did not advise us of the facilites regarding pool and services. A cab was booked and took over an hour to arrive, which is not The Como's issue, but we did request they book it for us and they advise us that it would be one time. The breakfast was ho hum. Rooms were very spacious and beds very comfortable. The only reason I would stay again is location, but there are cheaper options in the same area. On check out we were given the incorrect account and then once home I realise they had over charged by $100. The refund took nearly 5 days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuerong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,635 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
1,719 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,110 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
2,373 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $155 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing