We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #21 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Great place to stay for either personal or business. The rooms are huge, including the bathrooms. Pool is great, on Chapel street so close to everything, there is parking if you hrie a car. What more could you ask for in a hotel. Because I go for business I like to use the gym which is a little small, minor thing in the scheme of things.

Room Tip: Studio rooms are extra large
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PP01Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

the como is a fantastic location,very clean room with a friendly team.
always happy to go back!

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikistoliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Rhys Blight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We were in melbourne for a one night charity performance. There were a bunch of people with various needs and under lots of pressure. The staff bent over backwards to make everything smooth and hassle free. They were patient and friendly and lots of fun. The rooms are stylish and well laid out. I loved relaxing in the spa, sauna and pool before the big night. We were even allowed to kick up our heels till late after the show in a corner of the hotel where we could have fun without disturbing other guests, What more could you want?

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namronette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will pass your comments on to our team as I am sure this will serve as encouragement for them.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Rhys Blight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My partner surprised me by taking me to this little gem for my birthday. We arrived here and were greeted by one of the loveliest concierge I have ever encountered. I think she may have been French by her lovely accent.

Nothing was too hard for her to manage. My partner made me wait in the car to discuss 'the finer details' as to what was in store for the evening and was greeted by personalized service, friendliness and some witty humour.

The valet swiftly took the car and we were whisked to our rooms. Their hotel lobby was just the right amount of style and not over the top. Some key pieces and well decorated.

The room my partner got us was a beautiful penthouse. It was a pity about our views (carpark across the road) but when you go to cosmopolitan South Yarra, you can't always expect breathtaking views. Having said that, I'm sure in the other side of the building there would've been some city views. This is all in hindsight mind you - at the time, you really don't think about this at all.

I walked in and had champagne, chocolate-covered strawberries waiting. The couch comfy and the lighting supplied was perfect for romance.

The room has a small kitchenette with a dining table and chairs. Everything was spotless.

The lounge and bedroom were the one room and they cleverly placed a swiveling tv set in the middle of the room to act as a separator of both rooms whilst allowing you to turn the tv to be able to watch from the lounge or the comfort of your king size bed (a real king size, too - not an imitation or two king singles next to each other).

Bathroom was clean and spacious. Bathtub was deep and ling but hard for more than one person at a time to enjoy. We tried both of us but gave up after 5 mins.

The Como also had an 'emergency' kit for around $35 which had all your 'essentials' such as deodorant, toothbrushes, romance 'things' and plenty more comforts you way wish to have. This allows you to whisk someone away without the need for packing toiletries!

Sleep quality was great and late check out (I think it was 1pm) an extra plus. We also organised in-house masseuse which came very promptly. The price is standard for this type of service and the massage quality was good (7.5/10).

We had breakfast there and I remember the coffee being pretty good (that's right, I got coffee off the menu from the barrista at an additional charge) and the quality of the food I remember to be quite good.

Overall, my scores are as follows:
Concierge: 9.5/10
Overall package price: unsure as surprise but one of the best nights I've ever had so priceless
Room quality: 8.5/10
Rubber ducky (complimentary): 9/10
Como robes: 8.5/10
Sleep quality: 9/10
Strawberries & Chocolates: 9/10 (real milk chocolate! Try to get extra!!)
Champagne: Moét & Chandon 9/10
Spa bath: 8/10
Masseuse: 7.5/10
Breakfast: 8.5/10
Late check out: 9.5/10
Views: 5/10
Sun block curtains: 9/10 (truly, they blocked all sun so we could sleep in!)

Romance package: 9/10
Location: 9/10
Amenities: 9/10

Would recommend: couples for romance.
Also recommend: get there earlier during the day to enjoy the richness of South Yarra and its surrounds. We arrived at 11pm from dinner elsewhere but this area has a lot to boast. Take advantage if you can.

Any questions (other than price as I don't know) please let me know!

Cheers,
CozyPrincess

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CozyPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Went for a weekend in April. Loved every second of it. Staff where friendly and made us fell very welcome.
Rooms where amazing! Much more then we needed.
Very spacious and clean however one bad thing we found was a used bar of soap in the bath. Over all were very happy with the room.
We will be staying at this hotel again! :)

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B3nno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

stayed for one night in the 90s when I lived in Melbourne. From what I remember it was pretty nice with decent location.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank MichaelJT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The location for tourists is can't be faulted, on top of the busy Toorak Road and Chapel Street shopping precincts and a 10 minute walk from the Richmond restaurant strip. Business travellers should stay elsewhere unless your business is nearby, as peak hour traffic in Melbourne can be difficult.

The service and property are under standard and so are poor value for money.

Service was condescending, reeked of attitude and everything no matter how small was slow. The gap between other at other five-star Melbourne properties and Como is wide. Perhaps management should secret shop themselves and their competitors so they can better understand what 5 star service in Melbourne is nowadays.

The rooms were clearly top of the line when they were first built. But now they are tired and need work. The beds are of lower quality that what one finds in other 5 star Melbourne hotels.

I suppose you could live with all of the above with low rates. But the rates are high.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneySydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,622 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
1,718 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
2,369 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,108 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $155 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing