We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments
Ranked #61 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Okay the apartment building is straight from the 60s, but it situated on the most beautiful street and it is clean and has a good bathroom with plenty of hot water. The Punthill apartments is a great choice if you are on a budget. I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Kate L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments.
We are delighted that you found the apartments so comfortable, and look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 129 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Davis St Punt Hill Apartments. The apartment suited myself and my husband really well. Excellent access to everything, transport, food, and the City. We went to the Talisker Masters Golf Tournament and it was lovely to come back in the evenings to a comfortable, clean apartment. Thank you very much. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Mary-Anne T,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments.
So great to hear that you and your husband had such an enjoyable stay, and will also be happy to recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We found this hotel very reasonably priced it was clean and in the perfect location close to South Yarra train station, tram stops and chapel street. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a self contained reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_D255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Michael_D255103,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you found the apartments, service and location met all your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Comfy bed and pillows, room nice and light. - But where are the rooms on the web site? Old and in need of a refurb, the bathroom had a make over and that was a plus. No room service on 2 night stay. If you need to stay in Sth Yarra on a budget close to public transport ok, otherwise better value in the city.

Room Tip: Would love to help you find a good room unfortunately not sure where they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Chris L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
This 3-star property is our budget option for accommodation in South Yarra. The apartments are older, but a soft refurbishment was completed last year, and they are kept meticulously clean. Rooms are serviced twice a week, so you are correct in stating that no room service was done during your 2-night stay; upon request though, we can definitely provide an additional housekeeping service at no cost.
We do also have our 4.5 star Punthill South Yarra Grand property, which is only a 5-minute walk from the Davis Ave apartments, so you may like to consider these apartments for any future visits to the South Yarra area. We otherwise have 3 properties in Melbourne CBD too.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked the 1 bed apt for our 6 night stay as our daughter was coming to join us for 2 nights, so she used the sofa bed. Our apt was on the ground floor and although the apts were busy due to the Li Rugby Tour we did not notice much noise at all.44 Davis Ave is very well located, just off Toorak Road, close to S. Yarra station & #8 Tram so transport into CBD is very easy & quick, though an easy, leisurely 30min walk will take you through the Botanic Gardens with easy access to the River, Olympic Park & CBD. I had stayed in the CBD on my last visit, not realsing how close the Chapel St/Toorak Rd/S.Yarra suburb was to the main city centre and would definitely recommend the location. There are lots of local shops, IGA's & eateries close by. Our apt was clean & well presented with modern furniture, with no added frills but had everything you really need & the lady manager was very helpful. The housekeeping staff work hard as the apts seem to be turned around very often so found a few cobwebs on the lighting rail in the living area but apart from that the living/ kitchen area, fridge & cooker was clean & everything usable & included a hospitality tray for tea/coffee/milk. Bedroom had enough storage, reading lights & a clock alarm ( very useful) & bathroom was clean with an easy to use shower. The double bed & sofa bed ( & bedding) were clean & comfortable,with extra blanketspillows available. There was a hairdryer & iron/board & the small on-site laundromat was very useful ( manager sells sachets of washing powder). The Lounge AC/Heater worked a treat as it was abit cold at times ( June). Some Parking is available but very tight turn to get into car park so only really suitable for small cars. All in all a very good place, helpful, friendly staff, clean & well presented useful accommodation & a great location. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We booked the 1 bed-apt which gave us plenty of room, the upper apts have a small balcony whereas th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyM-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear GillyM-S,
Thank you for your extensive and complimentary review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the apartments, service and location of the property and hope to welcome you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Beware. This offering by Punthill is bewildering. Punthill do not match the Meriton quality or style but the nearby Punthill Grand is light years ahead of this offering. Punthill will argue that it is priced accordingly but we paid A$140 per night for 3 nights for 2 rooms, total A$840 through booking.com. Ridiculous!
The place is a downtrodden 50s/60s block, cheaply and rather grubbily furnished, painted bare brick interior, dodgy carpet, ancient bathroom, that room having permanently open louvered glass window. In winter the place was freezing. Heater in lounge area needed to be on 24 hours and bathroom still freezing!
The staff smiled a lot but were inept. Asking for directions....'don't know, only just started, not from this area'. You check in via a grilled hole in the wall in what is an old kitchen. It was at this stage that real doubts set in!
Advertised free internet isn't and it's very slow.
My recommendation avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank springhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear springhall,
Thank you for your review.
So sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Punthill South Yarra Davis Ave is a 3 star property. It is neat, extremely clean, very friendly and in a most wonderful location. South Yarra is, however, an expensive area. As you mention, we do have Punthill South Yarra Grand a couple of minutes away. It was suggested to you that we could relocate you to this property but you declined.
We do hope to welcome you back to another Punthill property in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lovely clean bright room with a beautiful view of autumn trees. We thought we'd be facing the railway and be getting train noises early in the morning but no, not at all. The thick curtains keep the room dark at night and in the mornings and help for a good sleep-in. The room is spacious, could do with a second armchair or lounge though. The bed is extremely comfortable.

I give the location four stars because we had terrible traffic each time we drove to or from the apartments, wasn't an easy drive. It was brilliant having off-street parking but be prepared to do tight 8-point turns to maneuver around it :) Would suit people wanting to use public transport really well I think.

We'll definitely stay there again. It was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fionacaldarevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear fionacaldarevic

Thanks for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#86 of 162 in Melbourne
340 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#33 of 147 in Melbourne
67 reviews
Apartments of South Yarra
#48 of 147 in Melbourne
96 reviews
Oaks South Yarra
#21 of 147 in Melbourne
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments

Address: 44 Davis Ave | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $75 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing