We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would I go back - No”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments
Ranked #57 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Would I go back - No”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Comfy bed and pillows, room nice and light. - But where are the rooms on the web site? Old and in need of a refurb, the bathroom had a make over and that was a plus. No room service on 2 night stay. If you need to stay in Sth Yarra on a budget close to public transport ok, otherwise better value in the city.

Room Tip: Would love to help you find a good room unfortunately not sure where they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Chris L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
This 3-star property is our budget option for accommodation in South Yarra. The apartments are older, but a soft refurbishment was completed last year, and they are kept meticulously clean. Rooms are serviced twice a week, so you are correct in stating that no room service was done during your 2-night stay; upon request though, we can definitely provide an additional housekeeping service at no cost.
We do also have our 4.5 star Punthill South Yarra Grand property, which is only a 5-minute walk from the Davis Ave apartments, so you may like to consider these apartments for any future visits to the South Yarra area. We otherwise have 3 properties in Melbourne CBD too.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    56
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
23
60
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked the 1 bed apt for our 6 night stay as our daughter was coming to join us for 2 nights, so she used the sofa bed. Our apt was on the ground floor and although the apts were busy due to the Li Rugby Tour we did not notice much noise at all.44 Davis Ave is very well located, just off Toorak Road, close to S. Yarra station & #8 Tram so transport into CBD is very easy & quick, though an easy, leisurely 30min walk will take you through the Botanic Gardens with easy access to the River, Olympic Park & CBD. I had stayed in the CBD on my last visit, not realsing how close the Chapel St/Toorak Rd/S.Yarra suburb was to the main city centre and would definitely recommend the location. There are lots of local shops, IGA's & eateries close by. Our apt was clean & well presented with modern furniture, with no added frills but had everything you really need & the lady manager was very helpful. The housekeeping staff work hard as the apts seem to be turned around very often so found a few cobwebs on the lighting rail in the living area but apart from that the living/ kitchen area, fridge & cooker was clean & everything usable & included a hospitality tray for tea/coffee/milk. Bedroom had enough storage, reading lights & a clock alarm ( very useful) & bathroom was clean with an easy to use shower. The double bed & sofa bed ( & bedding) were clean & comfortable,with extra blanketspillows available. There was a hairdryer & iron/board & the small on-site laundromat was very useful ( manager sells sachets of washing powder). The Lounge AC/Heater worked a treat as it was abit cold at times ( June). Some Parking is available but very tight turn to get into car park so only really suitable for small cars. All in all a very good place, helpful, friendly staff, clean & well presented useful accommodation & a great location. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We booked the 1 bed-apt which gave us plenty of room, the upper apts have a small balcony whereas th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyM-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear GillyM-S,
Thank you for your extensive and complimentary review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the apartments, service and location of the property and hope to welcome you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Beware. This offering by Punthill is bewildering. Punthill do not match the Meriton quality or style but the nearby Punthill Grand is light years ahead of this offering. Punthill will argue that it is priced accordingly but we paid A$140 per night for 3 nights for 2 rooms, total A$840 through booking.com. Ridiculous!
The place is a downtrodden 50s/60s block, cheaply and rather grubbily furnished, painted bare brick interior, dodgy carpet, ancient bathroom, that room having permanently open louvered glass window. In winter the place was freezing. Heater in lounge area needed to be on 24 hours and bathroom still freezing!
The staff smiled a lot but were inept. Asking for directions....'don't know, only just started, not from this area'. You check in via a grilled hole in the wall in what is an old kitchen. It was at this stage that real doubts set in!
Advertised free internet isn't and it's very slow.
My recommendation avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear springhall,
Thank you for your review.
So sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Punthill South Yarra Davis Ave is a 3 star property. It is neat, extremely clean, very friendly and in a most wonderful location. South Yarra is, however, an expensive area. As you mention, we do have Punthill South Yarra Grand a couple of minutes away. It was suggested to you that we could relocate you to this property but you declined.
We do hope to welcome you back to another Punthill property in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Narrandera, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lovely clean bright room with a beautiful view of autumn trees. We thought we'd be facing the railway and be getting train noises early in the morning but no, not at all. The thick curtains keep the room dark at night and in the mornings and help for a good sleep-in. The room is spacious, could do with a second armchair or lounge though. The bed is extremely comfortable.

I give the location four stars because we had terrible traffic each time we drove to or from the apartments, wasn't an easy drive. It was brilliant having off-street parking but be prepared to do tight 8-point turns to maneuver around it :) Would suit people wanting to use public transport really well I think.

We'll definitely stay there again. It was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fionacaldarevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear fionacaldarevic

Thanks for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I recently stayed at Punthill South Yarra Apartments over the Easter Long Weekend, I stayed here last year for the first time in September. Again I found the accommodation clean, spacious and well priced. For 3 star accommodation I was again pretty impressed. The staff were obliging and helpful, and I would definitely stay here again. Some of our travelling party stayed in the 1 bedroom and I did find that the studio apartment appears to be somewhat larger then some of the 1 bedroom apartments, and I would probably choose the studio over the 1 bedroom. All in all another great experience with Punthill South Yarra - great location and close to everything. There are also some really great restaurants within walking distance on Toorak Road. The South Yarra Train Station is less then a 5 minute walk and the buses down Punt Road and the trams on both Toorak Road and Chapel Street are all great modes of transport to get to major tourist areas. However if you don't mind to walk then there are a lot of great places in walking distance. Probably the only down side of this accommodation is that there are no lifts and most apartments are up multiple flights of stairs, so either bring a light bag or ask for a ground floor unit if you have problem with lifting weight.

Room Tip: Looking at both the studio room and the 1 bedroom rooms some of the one bedroom rooms are a little p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrogirl_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Astrogirl_43,
So great to hear that you are a return guest to Punthill and that you once again enjoyed your stay at Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
This 3-star property is perfectly situated at you mentioned, and all that South Yarra has to offer is on your doorstep. There is no lift access but the property has only 2 floors, and should any guest request a ground floor, we do try our best to accommodate such requests.
We thank you for your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with no problems at all. Brilliant location, great for transportation with tram and train lines close by. Apartment clean and tidy, although bathroom could do with a renovation. Locum manager very helpful and friendly.
Low budget accommodation,but suited all our needs, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 207JAR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear 207JAR13,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
These budget-friendly serviced apartments are extremely well located in South Yarra and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My partner and I have been staying here now for seven or eight years and keep on returning. It's not the most luxurious of the Punt Hill properties but the suites are clean, comfortable and reasonably well equipped for those of us who like to prepare at least 70% of our meals. If you need something just ask the manager and she will probably have it. We needed a coffee plunger and it appeared in two minutes!
It's not in the CBD but South Yarra is easy to get to (two train stops from Flinders St. Station or about 20 minutes from the station on the #8 Toorak tram).

Room Tip: There are two rooms with courtyards that are nice for sitting outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Davian40,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
We are thrilled to know that Punthill is your accommodation of choice, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Melbourne!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
336 reviews
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#58 of 160 in Melbourne
417 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oaks South Yarra
#20 of 142 in Melbourne
112 reviews
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#33 of 142 in Melbourne
63 reviews
Apartments of South Yarra
#45 of 142 in Melbourne
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments

Property: Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments
Address: 44 Davis Ave | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing