We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Southbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Southbank
Ranked #51 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great rooms, nice and quiet. Awesome location in southbank, only thing that let it down was the man on the desk at check out, didn't offer to help me with my 2 bags or to rung a taxi. This was at 6.30am in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing City Rd for an amazing night view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Heine1,

Thank you for posting your review, as we always welcome guest's feedback.

It is nice to hear that you think our apartments are great and the location is "awesome"!

I do apologise though, that our staff were not more helpful and we shall endeavour to improve our customer service at all hours of the day and night!

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne on business - or leisure!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    218
    77
    27
    17
See reviews for
127
105
9
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Having stayed at Quaywest before this apartment was bigger and half the price! May not have marble bathrooms but was well maintained, decorated and comfortable. Staff were very helpful. Would stay there again next time I am in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Exceutive apartment has higher floor with less noise and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouRob11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear LouRob11,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. And I am extremely glad to read that you found our apartments to be spacious and well maintained!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

we stayed on the Friday night (27th) as a night to get out of the house and enjoy some city time.
We were greeted with a smile by the girl working the evening shift and a no fuss check in. Very happy all round. Will be back!

Room Tip: as for a high floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear KMelbs,

Thanks for the great review!

Glad to hear our property was to your liking and that you were happy with everything!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I've stayed here many times over 5 years as it's convenient for my work but increasingly I am disappointed. The first couple of times I was given upgrades but the more I have stayed I find the apartment gets worse - which is the converse of most hotels who reward frequent visitors. This visit was the last straw. I booked an executive 1 bedroom as I find it difficult sleeping without natural light and found it was just like the ordinary 1 bedroom apartments - with an internal bedroom. The only difference was a bench that separates the kitchen from living area. That's not what I need. I've now discovered there are only 3 x1 bedroom executives with natural light to the bedroom. A couple of other points - if you make special requests they are rarely considered. The staff just apologise and say they can't help, especially if you've booked online. Bathrooms are quite aged. Microwave wasn't connected to power - took some effort to remove to reconnect. I think they trade on their location but at a 'discounted' rate of $193 this night was not value for money given my bad sleep.

Room Tip: One bedroom apartments are on levels 1 - 7. You need to book a 2 bedroom to be higher and get a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneySuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear SydneySuz,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is disappointing to read that you feel that we have gotten worse over the past five years that you have been staying here. Especially when we have an active continual improvement program.

This program has recently involved replacing more than half of our beds and changing to new doonas as well. We have also refurbished the bathrooms in 20 apartments (mostly 2 Bedroom apartments) over the past 2 years.

And yes you are correct, most of our 1 Bedroom and Executive 1 Bedrooms have internal bedrooms. We generally find that most people prefer these as they dramatically reduce any outside noise levels that are a consequence of being located in the middle of Southbank. You are also correct that the most significant difference between a "standard" 1 Bedroom apartment and an Executive 1 Bedroom is the kitchen, which is larger and better appointed. They are also marginally larger in living space. As there are only a few key differences, this is why the price increase is also marginal - generally only $15~$20 per night.

However we will take your feedback seriously, and will add these areas into our continuous improvement program to be looked at in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights over Easter as 2 couples. The location was good for the ladies as close to the city as the purpose of the trip was an exhibition at Bundoora so we were out most of the day.

The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and having 2 bathrooms was good. The kitchen was a bit light on with utensils but everything was clean and worked well (except the dishwasher which just seemed to run and run for hours). Having a small balcony was nice as often the places with windows that don't open get stuffy but not the case here.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Peter G,

Great to read your review of our 2 Bedroom apartment. Glad to hear you considered it was spacious and clean. I can happily say that all of our 2 Bedroom apartments have 2 bathrooms and a balcony. Also nice to read that you thought our location was good!

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at the Quest Southbank at the end of May. We had a 4 night stay which included a Friday night (extremely expensive for same room, purely because it was a Friday which was disappointing). There were 2 apartments between 2 families, as we were there for the gymnastics championships our daughters were competing in. The location was perfect. Very close to the arenas (once we found our way around!) We arrived just after 1pm and were delighted to find our rooms were ready. My apartment was lovely. Very clean, fresh linen and a nice little kitchen. The staff on our arrival were simply lovely, helped us in finding places to get food from etc.
I was not impressed with the $300 insurance money, it was immediately taken from my account, that was money I could have used in Melbourne. It was returned to my account at the end of my stay but I've never had to pay this kind of insurance for a stay anywhere before. This would make me think twice about staying here again, even though it was a nice apartment (not every traveller trashes rooms!!)
I only encountered one staff member who was very abrasive and not at all helpful, but I persisted with my request and she did help in the end. Reading recent entries here, it appears others have had a similar experience with the same person.
Overall, I would recommend the Quest Southbank, however it is tinged with the disappointment of being $300 short throughout my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear M N,

Great to read your review of our apartments as spacious, clean and in a convenient location. We think they are ideal for families travelling to Melbourne.

Most hotels will hold some sort of credit card bond on arrival. The amount we hold is clearly laid out in all of our confirmation emails, regardless of if the booking is made direct with the hotel or through one of the many hotel room websites. I agree that not every traveller trashes their room, but knowing which ones will is impossible to tell in advance. Therefore everyone is asked to provide a bond.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed for two nights, booked via QANTAS FF as i had in the past to house hunt in the Southbank area. Was pleased that this time, the room did not smell of mildew however i was disappointed that at 2.45pm, the room was still being "serviced" by a young man who just would not leave. He decided to strike up a conversation in the doorway of my bathroom and offered to buy me a drink if i was "around". The hint of "my partner is on his way" did not seem to be understood. The door was not locked when i arrived and i felt slightly unsafe, especially as i bumped into this man later on that evening. Tried to use the washing machine and dryer later on and my clothes came out stinking of dirty old socks. I had not left the washing in it to smell that way. This was overall disappointing. I have been there several times, hoping it will get better due to budget constraints. I feel that after 3 goes over 12mths, this service guy finshed it off for me. Did not bother to complain, i just got out as quickly as i could. I would rather pay more than risk mould, dirty carpets, clingy service staff and filthy washing machines.

Room Tip: Just don't. I suppose if you have to, ask for a upper level room, NOT on the Mezzanine level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daylan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Daylan78,

Thank you for posting your feedback. In a way I actually would have preferred that you lodged a complaint at the time, because if one of our staff have made you feel uncomfortable, or dare I say unsafe, then I would prefer to be dealing with it immediately. I am extremely sorry that you have been made to feel this way and I will try to contact you offline so that I can get further details to address this situation.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#60 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#40 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Property: Quest Southbank
Address: 16 Kavanagh St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing