We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #52 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (2 adults and a teenage daughter) stayed here over 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment.
The room was very spacious with fantastic views from level 17. We had friends staying on the other side of the building and their view across the city was even better.
The apartment had a modern feel and was fitted out with modern appliances - all in working order.
As far as location goes, the Quest is set back slightly from the Southbank river front so it's a 5 minute walk to get down there but certainly not inconvenient. Just next to the Quest is an IGA mini mart which provides a handy place to buy your groceries and stock your fridge.
Room service is available although we never used it (this is a serviced apartment after all).
We found the staff here to be very helpful which always makes for a pleasant stay.
The Quest is definitely worth considering if you're staying in Melbourne.l

Room Tip: Ask for a view across Fitzroy Gardens to the MCG
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxsterPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear MaxsterPerth,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and for commenting on the spaciousness of our rooms.

I am also very glad that you and your friends enjoyed the different views we have available!

We look forward to you staying again with us in the furutre.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 964 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked a high floor apartment for 4 girls weekend away. Close to local spot tourist spots. Easy walking distance to local attractions including markets, casino and nice dinners. Loses points for previous departing guests hair and stained bath towel in bathroom so housekeeping should be fine tuned as we spent a lot of money on this accommodation. Tip: have breakfast in one of the little cafes along the Yarra.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank 1travel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear 1travel24,

Thank you for your review of our property. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping department.

I hope you had a lovely girl’s weekend away and once again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in two bedroom apartment. The room was spacious, clean and modern. Service was friendly, professional and helpful, even on a very busy weekend. The front desk staff offered help with a smile when we were faced with problems due to cancelled flights and did all they could to assist. It is in a great location and the rooms were very quiet considering it is in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Leonie O,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We strive to offer a great product and fantastic services and I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay here.

We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This visit was our 4th stay at QUEST Southbank. The customer service and kindness from the ladies at the Front Desk is excellent. The Quest Southbank apartments is very comfortable and so central. We will always recommend to friends and family to stay at Quest Southbank. It is also very easy to get on to the major motorways out of the city centre from the QUEST. There is an IGA shop and various fast food outlets and restaurants close to the Quest.
The Quest is close to the art centre of melbourne and the entertainment precinct of Southbank with a short walk further the the busy city centre of Melbourne.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westernaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Westernaus,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you have continued to stay with us and recommending Quest Southbank to your family and friends as a place to stay in Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, the girls at reception are very friendly and helpful. room was clean and spacious, and the bed very comfortable. I couldn't fault this hotel, they only thing was when coming back at around 11pm at night I had a simple question and asked the male who was at reception. He was extremtly rude and was a disappointment as he let the whole team down.
I would happily stay here again and recommend it to people I know.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear KEA14,

Thank you for your feedback and for bringing to my attention the interaction you had with our Night Manager. Thank you for recommending us and I do hope we see you back again soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Terrific location and quiet quiet quiet. For Melbourne this is amazing as I have stayed in a few Melbourne hotels and never had a quiet night. We stayed over on the White night all night arts festival which 300,000 people attended and which carried on till 7am yet we didn't hear a thing in our apartment. We walked to all the activites from the apartment as it was very close to southbank and the Art Gallery.Friendly, efficient yet welcoming staff. Room comfortable and enough space for two of us with a nice lounge/kitchen that was separate from the bedroom. We even used the washing machine which worked well. It was a hot night and the corridors around the lift were very hot but the rooms were airconditioned and staff had it running to cool the room before we arrived. We were able to adjust it ourselves and turn it off if we wanted. The breakfast voucher was a welcome surprise and we had a pleasant and short walk to La Camera at Southbank for a lovely big breaky with a view of the river. Late checkout at 11am and complimentary parking provided too. We were very happy.

Room Tip: We had the 6th floor overlooking Kavanagh St which was not an inspiring view but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secondglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Hi secondglance,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review.

We think our location is wonderful – so close to everything Melbourne has to offer – yet just tucked away enough so it’s quiet for sleeping.

Housekeeping do a great job to ensure apartments are perfectly clean and comfortable for your arrival, right down to cooling your apartment if it’s hot outside, and heating it up in winter.

Booking our “Escape to Southbank” package is great value for money – providing breakfast, parking and the late checkout for one low rate. We’re so glad you enjoyed your weekend.

See you again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Quest Apartments are in a great central location in Melbourne being walking distance to the Theatre area, Casino and the city. The apartment was well appointed and clean.The reception staff was "professional" on check-in and helpful on check-out. It was serviced daily. My only grip was the check in slip I had to sign which was more like a threatening Legal Document than an agreement. The names of each individual Guest had to be provided and each person had to sign in! They also demand a $300 bond that is debited to your card and "will be refunded in about 5 days"! All in all I would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSKahoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Robyn S,

Thank you for your feedback.

The document you signed on arrival is titled ‘Guest Registration and Code of Conduct’ and it asks you provide your guests names and phone numbers. This is for many reasons – in case we need to evacuate and account for each person in house, or even just to contact someone from your apartment should you be unreachable. It outlines that Reception is available 24 hours and asks that you agree to no parties, loud noise or lewd/offensive behaviour. So it’s more for your safety and to ensure a lovely stay for all guests more than anything. It is certainly not threatening in any way.

A credit card pre-authorisation (hold or “freeze’) is not out of the ordinary for good hotel practise, and you’ll find many hotels do this around the world. It’s not our money, but instead your bank has frozen it should we need it for any reason. We mention this on all documentation; confirmation emails, etc. so there are no unexpected surprises on arrival. A pleasant and safe guest experience is our upmost priority.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#58 of 161 in Melbourne
1,820 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
262 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#44 of 161 in Melbourne
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#14 of 161 in Melbourne
579 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank Melbourne

Address: 16 Kavanagh St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $138 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Convention Centre, Crown Entertainment complex and Melbourne's CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains/ Trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and CBD/Federation Square. Complimentary Wi-Fi powered by a high speed NBN line, 40inch LED TV's and Foxtel/ Cable TV is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing