We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #48 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My visit to Melbourne was easy and fun, staying at Quest Southbank. The apartment had a great view of the city and was modern and comfortable. The location is central to restaurants, theatre and art gallery. It was also convenient to catch the tram to St Kilda and other parts of the city. The staff were friendly and professional and happy to share their local knowledge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKV19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear DKV19,

Thank you for your review of our property. We strive to offer a great product and fantastic services and I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay here.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
There are newer reviews for Quest Southbank Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 925 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Staff were accommodating and even allowed us to check in early due to our plane arriving at 10am. So they allowed us to check in at 11:00am, three hours before we were supposed to.
We've been away a lot over the last year due to our daughter having a terminal illness, these apartments rated well in comparison to some.
Serviced daily which I wasn't expecting since a lot of places are weekly serviced. We did find the bed a little small I think the main bedroom only had a double which is uncommon. The kitchen had a plunger which was much appreciated as fresh coffee is much preferred by me. The view was not very nice our balcony and all windows looked out onto the building across the street. It was uncomfortable sitting on the balcony watching people in the apartments across. However, the location was great - right behind the arts centre and a short walk across the bridge to Swanston Street.
I wish hotels and apartments had better internet access especially in 2012. The internet was very expensive to connect to. $16 dollars for one day. The room service is provided by an Italian place downstairs at Southbank and they have a list of a few places that will deliver to the apartments. I recommend the Nepalese restaurant they have delivering. We really enjoyed the meal we had there and for our family of five it was under $50.
I do think paying over $300 per night was a little bit too expensive for apartments that were not four/five star.
\

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Natalie S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review!

We are 4 ½ star rated and all of our apartments have queen size beds, there are no doubles beds in any of our apartments.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Yes, for the third time in a row I chose Quest Southbank as my preferred hotel in Melbourne. Right from my first stay, I have been extremely happy with the arrangements there. Reception staff is very friendly and always ready to help in any way they can. Room are clean and neatly arranged and has everything one would need especially for a longish stay and where one wants to do some own stuff (like cooking). With that, one can entertain guests and will not find anything wanting even when hosting a few persons for an evening gathering. Only wanting thing would be free internet in rooms which is now standard with almost all hotels in UK/US so not sure why Aussie's are still thinking about it ! But ofcourse one can rely on cost effective 3G dongle from Optus or Telstra. Paid wi-fi in rooms is bit expensive if one has to be there for more than a week/s. But that is hardly a show stopper given alternates one can go for. Overall, great place and great people ! My advice, go for it !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear sanjay j,

Thank you so much for this glowing review of our property. We work hard to provide a 'home away from home' environment for our long-stay, corporate traveller so it's great to hear you have everything you need whilst enjoying your stay here.

I have taken your comment about the cost of wi-fi onboard, and will ceratinly consider this moving forward. Thank you.

We're so pleased you choose us for your business travel and we hope you will continue to do so.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I found the hotel very comfortable and clean. Off the main roads but easy to find. The art gallery is next door and south bank restaurants and cages offered plenty of choice. A main railway station is close. Plus it is close to the river and parks for walking/running. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hepast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Hepast,

Thank for your great feedback. We pride ourselves on immaculate apartments and fantastic service so it is always nice to hear. We also think our location is great! Very easy to get anywhere.

We look forward to welcoming you to Quest Southbank again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at the Quest Southbank with a group of friends (five of us in total) on a Saturday night. We originally booked this place because it offered the option of 4 single beds plus a rollaway bed. But I received a call the day before to say that the bedding configuration would be one queen, 2 singles and a rollaway - and no amount of discussion would change this arrangement. Sleeping issues aside, we found the apartment (once we did manage to find it) quite suitable for our needs. The living area was spacious, the kitchen was large, it had two bathrooms (an essential with five women!) and also had a laundry and balcony. It was handy to have an IGA (with liquor outlet) and a pizza restaurant (which incidentally makes great pizzas) just around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Lilwend,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

As we do not guarantee bedding requests, we think it's nice to call and let our guests know, so that you know what to expect before you arrive.

We're so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay. We think our location is great too!

Hope to see you again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I would not recommend these apartments. We stayed at the Quest Southbank for 3 nights and I will never stay here again. I travel a lot for business and pleasure and have not experienced a worse hotel during my travels. The bathrooms were unclean, worn out and had terrible water pressure in the showers. The carpet was mouldy and smelt putrid. The beds and pillows were extremely uncomfortable but the worst part was there was no heating in the bedrooms. How can you have a hotel in Melbourne and have no heating! There was no way the heat from the lounge room could have heated the two rooms. To make things worse we had to pay to upgrade to a slightly better suite but this was only marginally better. The staff at the reception had no reaction to our poor experience. There are hundreds of hotels in Melbourne much better than this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear A P,

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing a great product to both the business traveller and leisure guest. I have looked at the notes on your booking and can see that the only concern you told Reception about at the time was the heating. I believe my staff were helpful in offering either additional blankets and portable heaters or a payable upgrade to our Executive Apartments which, among other things, have ducted heating – to which you chose the upgrade.

We’re currently in the process of laying new carpet, and we regularly steam clean all apartments on a cyclical basis. I inspected the carpet in the apartment you stayed in and while I did not find it mouldy we have subsequently steam cleaned it since your departure.

It’s a shame we weren’t aware of the other concerns as I know my Front Office Staff do their best to ensure every stay is a positive one.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed at the Quest Apartments with my wife when she was in Melbourne for work. It is a quiet hotel with all the basic amenities. It would be ideal for a family stay or business.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner apartment away from the elevator. Also try and get city views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeylandBrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear LeylandBrothers,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#60 of 160 in Melbourne
1,669 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#52 of 160 in Melbourne
201 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#53 of 160 in Melbourne
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,108 reviews
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#15 of 160 in Melbourne
530 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank Melbourne

Address: 16 Kavanagh St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $128 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Convention Centre, Crown Entertainment complex and Melbourne's CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains/ Trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and CBD/Federation Square. Complimentary Wi-Fi powered by a high speed NBN line, 40inch LED TV's and Foxtel/ Cable TV is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing