We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thought it was fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #11 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We thought it was fantastic”
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We only stayed one night as I wanted somewhere close to St Kilda Road, as I was running in the Run Melbourne Half Marathon, which started at 7.30am. The second we pulled up a very pleasant young man came forward and insisted on lifting the luggage out of our car. Our veteran long wheelbase Bentley is a big car and hard to park, but it was whisked away and well looked after. The front desk was quiet and 3 people looked after us, so check in was fast, and when we looked around, our luggage was gone, and was all nicely placed and laid out in our bedroom. We have been around the World 18 times and stayed in many hotels of various Star ratings. We have stayed in few as well set out and comfortable as this one. It is so nice to have a lounge and dining room and proper kitchen in a luxury Hotel. We were on the 12th floor and the view and lack of almost any noise were both exceptional. We called down for more tea bags and they were at the door in 5 minutes. I have never stayed in a Hotel of any type before that had a door bell! The only possible negative was that the heater was very reluctant to go over 18 degrees. If the fan was turned up, you could hear it start up, but there was no warm air, or flow of any type. I was fine, but my wife was cold. I reported this to the desk when we moved out and were told we should have reported it last night and they would have looked at it, and that occasionally it needed to be reset. (Must have a Windows Operating System). The bed was a King, and comfortable, but possibly a little on the firm side for me, but typical of good hotel beds. We slept well, which was important under the circumstances. We did not eat there as I wanted a low fat, high carb meal for the morning ordeal. And the menu looked a bit rich for that, and I had to be running by the time the restaurant opened, but the fully equipped kitchen eliminated that problem. We wanted to check out late so I could spruce up and recover as we had a luncheon appointment, and they were fine with that. Checkout was also completely unfussed and they were happy for me to collect my car, as it has idiosyncrasies in starting. The tiny receptionist was about half my weight, but she insisted on carrying the heavy case and putting it into the car. All in all, We could not have asked for more. These units would make the ideal city apartments.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    279
    59
    11
    12
See reviews for
256
460
36
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We came to Melbourne to see the Australian Ballet and we chose the Quay West because of it close location that enables you to walk to the Arts Centre or even into the city.
Now for the Motel, the room was excellent, the staff was amazing and the buffet breakfast downstairs is to die for but the scrambled eggs was a bit yuck.
We had a suite so the cost was high but the overall experience is what this motel is aiming for and they achieved that with us. The views are the only disappointment but I’ll say the main feature is the quietness and the bed...wow.
Love to go back but we will have save up.
Take as package from the website is my tip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights to see 2 football games and do some sightseeing. We had a one bedroom apartment facing the Southgate complex. The lounge area had a sofa bed for our daughter, but the king bed was so big and comfortable that she slept with us (mainly because she wasn't well). The rooms were modern, clean and well appointed. We used the kitchen, which had everything we needed to make our own breakfast. TVs in lounge area and bedroom were handy when our daughter wanted to watch something different to us.
The best feature of this hotel is its location. This is the 4th time I have stayed in Melbourne (other times at Fitzroy, Docklands and another location behind Southbank), but this was far and away the most convenient. You simply walked over the bridge to Federation Square and Flinders St station, from where the free city circle tram takes you to many places where it's easy to walk to attractions- eg. Melbourne Museum, Queen Victoria markets, Old Melbourne gaol, Docklands. the Aquarium etc. City Central shopping is an easy walk. The DFO at South Wharf is longer (maybe 15 -20 mins) but very doable and pleasant as you walk along the river. To get to the MCG, you simply walk over to Federation Square, along the river, and then a bridge takes you straight into the ground (about 15 mins). To get to Etihad, we took the free city circle tram, and then the train home, which took about three minutes (the free tram stops at 9pm). There are so many restaurants very close by (including a food court on the ground floor of Southgate) that eating out at night is not a chore, even with kids. Another family friendly restaurant at Southgate is Blue Train on the 1st or 2nd level.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating, helping us find a medical centre open on a Sunday.
I would not even consider staying anywhere else next time we go to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandgroperPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at The Quay West Suites for one night on the 18th June, 2 of us arrived at 11am and our room was ready, which was fantastic. We were located on the 7th floor overlooking Southgate shops, The room was spacious and large, great bed and we also had a sofa bed. Kitchen would be handy if we needed to use it as it has everything you need to cook a basic meal, there was also a washer/dryer too.
Large balcony, 2 flat screen TVs one in the lounge room and one mounted on the wall in the bedroom, large King size bed and the room also has a strong hairdryer which was great because I didn't bring my own. One of our friends arrived around 7pm so we just left a key for her at reception which wasnt a problem.
Handy location for sightseeing, close to transport, city centre and Casino. Close to Olympic park Stadium where we went to watch our boys play footy.
Overall a awesome stay, the staff were so friendly and approachable, Will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank island085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This hotel/suite was great. It was clean and well appointed. The staff were always helpful, friendly, and courteous. Located at the eastern end of the southbank precinct it offered great walking access to many locations. The only downside is taxi travel (which is nothing to do with the hotel really) as many drivers are not familiar with the hotel. Trips to the cbd, fitzroy gdns etc were tedious as you had to go the long way round. Our room faced east (St Kilda Rd) and found it to be noisy with street cleaners etc early in the morning. The hotels restaurant put on a good breakfast, but the evening meal left a bit to be desired, would recommend giving it a skip and frequent the many excellent restaurants along southbank.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with a fantastic location. The staff and service was excellent.

We arrived in Melbourne from the US at 5 am and it was still quite early when we arrived. We weren't expecting to get into the room, but they were able to get us in.

The Melbourne CBD is very walkable and we were able to find many nice restauarnts and shops very close by. We were able to use the free tram around town which was very convenient and fun.

If you're going to try to cook much, the apartment has only the basics, but is adequate for most things.

The only one criticism I had was that there was no dresser or table or chair in the bedroom. Minor thing, but would have made things a bit easier.

Thanks to everyone who made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Dear Mr & Mrs Wiltap,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on your recent stay , we are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We have stayed in 5 star accommodation before but our experience at this hotel has set a new benchmark. Its proximity to the city centre allowed us to walk to every business meeting. The parks and public spaces nearby were ideal for running even at night. Our suite was well appointed, comfortable and stylish. We didn't use the pool or the gym during this visit but will do so next time. For us, what really set this experience apart was the warm welcome, early check-in, generous upgrade and delicious breakfasts. Compliments to the staff who were efficient, genuinely friendly, helpful and thoughtful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bleazy_dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Dear Mr Dale Bleazy,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suietes Melbourne and for taking th time to submit your review.

We appreciate your feedback and your comments will be shared with the managament team with your compliments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,263 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 159 in Melbourne
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
992 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing