We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roomy apartment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle,nsw
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Roomy apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nice big apartment - excellent location. Not as nice as a 5 star hotel like the langham or the westin but great for families.

We often stay here when visiting melbourne. Good gym although a little cramped with all the equipment.

There is a great wine bar located just op the hotels not so great bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geowyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    268
    57
    11
    11
See reviews for
243
446
36
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Check in went smoothly and we were in our one-bedroom apartment in no time. The room cost more than $400, but because we booked at the last minute due to my mother's funeral and that it was a long weekend and the tennis finals were on, that was our own problem. The apartment was excellent. Spacious and well appointed although the sofa was a bit uncomfortable. Bedroom was big and had a flat-screen TV. Bed was super big and super comfy and we used the sofa bed which was also surprisingly comfy. The thing I loved most about this place was the temperature control. Lo and behold a hotel that actually cools the room when you want it cool!!!!!! Needless to say the air-con worked brilliantly. Shower was good, but a bit of fiddling around to get the water to the right temperature. The location was great. We had a family dinner following my mother's funeral at Fatto and it was literally a 45-second walk from our room to the restaurant. We ordered breakfast to be delivered in the morning and it was OK, but nothing great. The hash browns were practically blocks of thickened grease. Check out was efficient the young woman who served me was friendly and professional. Would I stay here again? Yes, absolutely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the first week of the Australian Open - and through a heat wave! We were not on a high floor, but had a great view across the river, the apartment was clean, modern and spotless and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemini31_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and loved the location.Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have travelled to Melbourne every year for the past 7 years to go to the tennis, and tried many CBD hotels. This was the first year we have stayed at Quay West and we will return. Service was fantastic, very spacious rooms, enjoyed the facilities of this hotel (gym, valet parking and buffet breakfast). 15th floor had great views of the MCG and Melbourne Park and it is in a great location, very close to trams to get to the tennis. A few tiny negatives: shower was small, and had mould growing on the door handle, sofa bed mattress was a bit thin and noisy, pillows were VERY soft (personally I like firmer pillows) and the buffet lacks choices for fussy eaters, and was not as good as others I've seen. However the small things such as complimentary newspaper daily, clean rooms, crisp bed linen, exceptional housekeeping service (we rang for more tea bags and they arrived within 3 minutes), and a great pool/spa and gym will most likely see us return in January 2015.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleee480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night on the 15th of jan, location is perfect, with lots of attractions/shops/restaurants within walking distance, and near public transport if you wish to go further. I live in melbourne, but often come down to the city to stay over night, and this is probably the best I have stayed in. The accommodation, a one bedroomed apartment, was exceptionally clean, with trendy, comfortable furnishings. The balcony was an added bonus. We stayed during the heatwave, and made full use of the lovely pool and spa. Will definately be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IB0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a place to stay near to the Rod Laver Arena and the hotel was GREAT.
Superb staff, great views, huge rooms and the best Air-con EVER during a 43 deg Heatwave.
Good WiFi and awesome Pool, the only fault was the horrendous House-brick 70's hotel scrambled egg and bacon boiling in a warmer at breakfast which went out of style and purpose 10 years ago , but do let that put you off , we had a bloody great time

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mottyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and thought our service was "Fab"

It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team. Your comments regarding the breakfast buffet have been noted and apprceiate the feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is well situated - walking distance to Federation Square, the tennis centre, the shops. Our suite was very clean and well equipped. We had an iconic view over the river to the CBD. Would definitely stay here again when we visit Melbourne

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. we appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor,. We are pleased you liked the location and look forward to welocming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing