We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #13 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in Quay West Melbourne with my family, the room was very clean and it has almost everything you want. The reception is very friendly and helpful, the location is super good too. Can't compliment much, it does a great job, i will definitely come again next time I come to Melbourne.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Qian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and are also pleased to know that you were "highly impressed". It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
There are newer reviews for Quay West Suites Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Recently stayed for four nights and it was sensational. The location is next to none, we looked onto the buzzing center of it all at Federation Square, train station, MCG and of course the Yarra. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment within the AAA rated 5 star complex. The building is stylish , the staff were delightfully friendly, a special thanks goes out to Darren for our complementary bottle of champagne. The bedroom was very comfortable, balcony lovely and well equipped with chairs and table. All amenties were clean, well kept and in good working order. The pool and gym area was lovely. Looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the Yarra
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaJWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff, Darren will be pleased to read your comments
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Booked a last minute room with no trouble. It really is a great location. The hotel is clean and car parking was ok. It is $30 a night for valet. The room is a bit bigger than average. My room was the cheapest but still had a lounge, kitchenette and separate bedroom. Big king bed which was very comfortable. I like sitting on the balcony watching the world go by. Couple of small complaints. The shower was boiling hot and hard to control. The bathroom is a little outdated. However the beautiful organic toiletries made up for it. Might bring my husband back and use this as our new city hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrandmrsossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future and are pleased tot hear its going to be your new " city base".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

LOCATION: QUAY WEST SUITES, MELBOURNE is located at 26 Southgate Avenue, Southbank. The following Arts & Cultural Venues are all easily accessible on foot: the Arts Centre; Hamer Concert Hall; Melbourne Recital Centre; Malthouse Theatre; Australian Centre for Contemporary Art; Ian Potter Centre; and National Gallery of Victoria.

Melbourne Aquarium, Polly Woodside Maritime Museum and Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre are also located in the vicinity. The main shopping district (around Bourke & Collins Street) is just a brisk 10-minute walk away.

Side Note to Bibliophiles: be sure to check out the Hill of Content Bookshop @ 86 Bourke Street and The Paperback Bookshop @ 60 Bourke Street. Both stock a wide and diverse range of books with mainstream titles alongside more obscure yet intriguing reads.

DIRECTIONS: From Melbourne Tullamarine Airport, you can either take a 30-minute cab ride into the city (approx. AUD70) or hop onto SkyBus, an express service that runs 24/7 with buses departing every 10 minutes (AUD17 for 1-way Adult fare).

If arriving by train, exit Flinders Street Station via its underpass and take the footbridge that spans the Yarra River to Southbank. Walk along Southbank Promenade till you reach the end of SouthGate Complex, turn in to your Right and you will find the entrance to QUAY WEST SUITES.

OVERVIEW OF SUITE: We stayed in a 1-Bedroom Superior Suite on the 9th floor. Our spacious and comfortable suite had a minimalist decor which was quite plain but functional. The wide French windows open out to a sizable balcony where you will find 2 chairs and a small table; perfect spot to enjoy a drink or simple meal when the weather is fine.

From our 9th floor suite, we could only see the surrounding office blocks and a glimpse of the Yarra River. If you want a spectacular view of the cityscape, ask for a higher (12th-15th) floor with City/River View but be prepared to pay a premium for it.

LIVING AREA: furnished with a 2-seater sofa-bed; 2 armchairs; foot stool; coffee table; multi-channel flatscreen TV; narrow side table; and a big dining table with 4 chairs.

KITCHEN: clean, spacious and equipped with refrigerator; microwave oven; stove; convectional oven; and dishwasher. The cabinets are well-stocked with pots & pans; crockery; cutlery; and kitchen utensils ~ everything was clean and orderly. For those who wish to do their own laundry, the washer & dryer are housed in 1 of the built-in cabinets. Little satchels of laundry detergent and dishwashing liquid are also provided for your convenience.

BEDROOM: double bed was comfortable with clean sheets, warm blanket and lots of fluffy pillows. The big wardrobe with mirrored sliding doors has the following: ample hangers; bedroom slippers; plush bathrobes; iron & ironing board; extra blanket; pool towels; and a small in-room safe for your valuables.

BATHROOM: clean, spacious and well-lit. Furnished with the usual: long vanity counter with lots of storage space; huge mirror above wash basin; hairdryer; bath tub; separate shower stall; and toilet.

Clean towels, tissue paper and extra toilet rolls were provided and replaced as necessary. A comprehensive range of high quality amenities were also provided: hand soaps; shower gel; body lotion; shampoo; conditioner; shower cap; shoe-shine kit; etc.

The shower-head had adequate water pressure but it was quite difficult to adjust the water temperature. Another minor issue was the poorly designed wall-shelf in the shower stall, it was too small and slippery (when wet) to hold the required toiletries and whatever we put on it just fell right off onto the floor...

F&B: our room rate was not inclusive of daily breakfast which was available at an extra AUD32 per pax. Self-catering is probably a better option for those travelling on a budget; our grocery bill for 3 days (English Breakfast for 2 pax) was only about AUD40.

Jarrah Restaurant @ QUAY WEST serves international cuisine and is open 6:30-10am and 6-10pm. Jarrah Bar serves light refreshments and is open from 12 noon till 10pm. 24-hour Room Service is also available.

Just a few steps away from QUAY WEST is Southgate Complex where you can find plenty of bars, cafés and restaurants (many offer riverside dining) as well as a food court offering a wide range of cuisines at affordable pricing.

Good to know in case of sudden illness or minor ailments: Southgate also has a Medical Centre and Pharmacy.

SERVICE: Reservation, Check-In and Check-Out all proceeded smoothly. Housekeeping Staff came by daily to refresh our suite. Service was generally cordial and efficient, most staff we encountered during our stay were helpful and obliging.

Reception Staff were especially well-trained and highly commendable for their initiative and professionalism. When we indicated that we would be self-catering, the young gentleman who checked us in promptly provided us with a map and directions to the nearest convenience store and supermarket where we could shop for snacks and groceries. He also helped to stow our luggage after Check-Out and offered to call us a cab when we were about to depart for the airport.

FACILITIES: the needs of both business and leisure travellers are catered for with Self-Service Business Centre; Conference & Meeting Rooms; Indoor Heated Pool; Jacuzzi & Sauna; and Fitness Centre. Free WiFi is apparently available throughout the property.

IN SHORT: Melbourne has plenty of accommodation options to suit every type of budget but generally those within the CBD are more expensive. Rates @ QUAY WEST may be higher than most places but its spacious and well-appointed suites, professional service and convenient central location make it a worthwhile splurge. Despite the inclement weather & being sick for much of this trip, we enjoyed a very pleasant and comfortable stay here.

Room Tip: Suites on Higher Floors (12th-15th) have scenic views of City & Yarra River, remember to request...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeChat_EnVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. we appreciate you taking the time to post your detailed review on Trip Advisor, as guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards to ensure we are proving our guests with what they want.

We hope next time you return to Melbourne that we might put on some better weather for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently had a girls weekend at the Quay West Suites. We were a group of old university friends who came from all over Australia. The place was fantastic. Spotlessly clean. Location fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful. Thanks to the staff for helping to make our girls weekend's a very enjoyable one.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Aussie_traveller053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We were very pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Quay West to be friendly and professional. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm and thorough review of your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you and oyur friends back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for 5 nights (1 bedroom apartment) and were most impressed. We elected to pay a little more to secure rooms at 10-15 level with city views (room 1005). This was a great move ensuring excellent views of the Yarra River, city sky line including Federation Square. The suites are in easy walking distance of the city. The room was nicely decorated and well laid out. I also found the gym to have an excellent choice of fitness machines. We found the staff to be wonderful - helpful, smiling and very efficient. One small complaint is the necessity to pay $10+ per day for wireless connection. We gave feedback on this via sms (nice initiative of the hotel) and were rewarded 'gratis' service. Very impressive attention to detail and responsiveness to customers. We do recommend you try Quay West.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 10-15 facing the city are great.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doyoulikeourname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you were " most impressed" with your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

I am also pleased the staff lookoed after the internet for you , we hope to see you in Melbourne soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,627 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
2,369 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
3,879 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,103 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $178 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing