We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, great spot and reasonable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #13 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Big room, great spot and reasonable price.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Just left after a weekend at Quay West. I hadn't stayed there for probably around 10 years and all the reasons I used to like it were the same. Big room with loads of space for 3 of us. Right at the door of Southgate and a quick walk to the centre of the city. It's not a 5 star, but for the price it was great value and I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katharine1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
A warm welcome back after 10 years- thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    284
    61
    12
    12
See reviews for
262
468
36
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay in a 1 bedroom suite. Room spacious, clean well equipped and comfortable. In the separate bedroom the king bed was very comfortable with another tv in here. Curtains block out. Area very quiet and heard no noise from outside, other residents or road during the night. Bathroom well equipped with new towels in ample supply. Nice touch with some lovely warm bathrobes. Full size bath and full size hair dryer supplied. Simple meals able to be made in the kitchen and a comfy lounge with movies and cable tv. A newspaper of choice delivered in the morning. Staff at front desk very friendly helpful and pleasant. Attended all queries/ problems promptly and professionally. Used the valet parking and car delivered to front door when needed. Easy walking distance to the city, restaurants, casino and shopping outlets. Room service meal was well cooked and reasonably priced. Food court nearby for simpler quicker options for food. Room serviced daily. Security swipe in lift and doors. A very pleasant stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GingerRose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that "its a great place to stay" and we made your stay enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were delighted with the accommodation in Quay West Suites. Our suite was on the 8th floor with two balconies, overlooking the river and in very close proximity to the CBD.

Breakfast was included in the tariff and was open till 10.00am. There was an excellent variety in both continental and cooked.

We were given a great welcome by the very friendly and helpful front of house staff. She gave us all kinds of useful info. The furnishings were very tasteful and everything was very clean - my priority. A full kitchen, washing machine, drier were included in a very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: ask for a river view with a balcony......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Woodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to extending our hospitality again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Absolutely fantastic. Couldn't fault the staff, rooms or location. We didn't eat at the restaurant but I'm sure that the standard would be as high as everything else. Will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Topnotch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. we appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are pleased you thought it was "Top notch" .
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards to ensure we are proving our guests with what they want.

We look forwrad to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a 7 night stay at the Quay West Suites and were very happy with the accomodations and service. The desk staff and maintenance personnel were pleasant, professional and helpful. The hotel is very clean and quiet. Rooms are modern with comfortable bed, desk and good lighting - there is a balcony with table and chairs. Bathroom included both a stall shower and large soaking tub - plentiful hot water - good water pressure. The usual amenties - hair dryer, soap, lotions, etc. -- and a scale.

The location could not be better, situated on the Yarra river esplanade, just a few minutes walk from downtown, Federal Square and Flinders Train Station. Bus lines and tram lines are nearby so getting around the city is easy. Seemed to be a very safe area to walk around - even at night.

Our studio room had a mini kitchen area that included a stocked mini refrigerator, microwave, hot water kettle, The cupboard was stocked with cups, plates, utensils and dish soap/towels so we could make snacks or reheat meals. There are many nice restaurants along the river near the hotel and there is a food court in the mall next door. The hotel's breakfast buffet has both hot and cold items and the service is friendly and competent. We had dinner in the hotel one evening - food was delicious, nicely presented and pricing was comparable to area restaurants. Room service was quick and accurate.

One Caveat - if you plan to pack light and do laundry - confirm that your room type will have a washer/dryer. There is no shared guest laundry - the larger rooms apparently have laundry equipment - studio rooms do not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,550 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,325 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,064 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#22 of 160 in Melbourne
3,660 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing