We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View / Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great View / Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Quay West is located right next to Southbank, the Arts Centre, the Yarra River and Flinders St railway station. Its easy walking distance to Melbourne's sights. We stayed in a huge apartment with dishwasher and washing machine/dryer. Our apartment was well maintained, clean and comfortable. We appreciated the balcony with views across the Yarra to the city.

Staff were helpful and friendly. There is a well appointed bar, lovely restaurant and romm service. Highly rtecommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westernsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    268
    57
    11
    11
See reviews for
243
446
36
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. It was quiet and the rooms were clean. Great service with valet parking and efficient workers aiming to please. Yes the room needed extra hangers but you ask housekeeping and they are quick to respond! In fact they were quick and efficient also.

As the restaurant was closed I ordered room service and what a delicious soup I had. They too were quick in their response.

Lovely spacious rooms. We didn't have a river view room on level 7 but a courtyard view room but nonetheless the room was comfy.

We used the fully contained kitchen, which was awesome. Yeah some of the features/appliances were a little old but once you were worked out how to use them, they work just take ages to clean or dry but it is stated clearly for you! So anyone that can't read it does say it and you can't complain!!

Bathroom hubby thought was a little dated but I thought it was lovely and most important clean!! Only gripe was the soap dish was broken and missing so we had no dish to use!

Pool room was awesome and the spa was warm and fantastic! Not sure how anyone can not think this was not awesome!! Loved it!!

Location of the hotel is great too near shops and food!! Just a walk out of the hotel on the level where the restaurant is and you can walk into the shopping centre or courtyard and grab yourself awesome coffees etc... Love, love, love!!

Overall very pleased and really hope to return as my most important thing about a hotel is clean, comfort and that it is quiet so ticked my box!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels and "ticked all the boxes". We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We love staying at Quay West. It is so easy to access all the great things to do in Melbourne!
The staff are excellent and we will always stay there if we can get in there. The rooms are spacious and have great views from all the windows. The bed is comfortable and we enjoy the ease of access to everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank PortLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was fortunate enough to get an upgrade to an upper floor with views over Melbourne. Room was huge and there was a separate bedroom and bathroom from the kitchen/living room. There was a balcony off the living room. The kitchen was well-appointed with a proper stove, oven and microwave. Kitchen utensils were appropriate.
The bed was comfortable with a choice of pillow types. Views over Melbourne were so beautiful that we didn't want to draw the drapes. Bathroom was huge with a large spa.
Wifi was expensive, so use your mobile phone as a modem if you have an appropriate data plan.
The main restaurant was closed for dinner for the 4 nights that we were there but the bar did cook pizzas and other light snacks. There was a special deal for $6 pizzas that were a reasonable size and tasted beautiful.
Skybus services these units and the train and tram services are very close.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanchdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. we appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, as guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards to ensure we are proving our guests with what they want.

We were also pleased to hear you enjoyed our pizza in Jarrah Bar !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My fiancé & our 2 children stayed in a one bedroom superior apartment for 3 nights & it is the best location you are literally a walk away from everything, the restaurants have great food & lots of veriety, they have boat cruises all along the Yarra river & all, the rooms are absolutely beautiful (well worth the money), the food is beautiful & room service is fresh & quick, when we went out during the day & came back our room was spotless & freshened daily...
The staff were lovely & welcoming couldn't have asked for better would recommended this hotel to anyone..
Can't wait to stay there again :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed in Melbourne a few times and I have always been disappointed with the accommodation. Not this time. The Quay West Suites are handily located opposite Flinders Station via a quick walk across the bridge over the Yarra. Just out the front entrance you can connect to the Southgate Complex with shops, restaurants, a good food court just a stroll away. It is in a perfect spot for walkers/runners as you can either head down to exercise alongside the river or alternatively use the tracks through the Botanical Gardens just a minute or two away. The National Gallery, ACMI, and Federation Square all within easy walking distance. There is a complex adjacent which has a Medical Centre and Pharmacist. The restaurants in the Southbank where the hotel is located are pricey but we couldn't fault the service and food standard. Quite busy in weekends though it pays to book ahead if you are attending an evening show. The room we had was very spacious. Good quality fittings and nice linen and toiletries. It was handy to have a washer/dryer ( with sachet of laundry powder provided ) The breakfast was nothing particularly special but all the basics were covered and it was nice to have a proper barista coffee provided. The gym/spa/pool complex is great. Very clean and well maintained and the sauna was a real treat after a long busy day out in the cold. My only complaint was that when I went to use the gym another hotel guest had their toddler in there running around in a nappy. Not good. The staff were exceptionally friendly, efficient, and more than happy to oblige. This property was exceptionally good value for money and I will definitely use it again as my place of preference to stay when back in Melbourne.

Room Tip: If spending a lot of time in the room it would probably pay to request a 'river view' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I was very pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Quay West to be friendly and professional. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.

I am also pleased you loved the loaction ,thank you for taking the time to write such a warm and thorough review of your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed as a couple for a few days. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant.
The room was clean and had all that we could need
The location was perfect as very close to the city and south bank, also able to enjoy morning walks along the Yarra. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing