We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“QUAY WEST APARTMENTS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #8 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“QUAY WEST APARTMENTS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Highly recommend Quay West in Melbourne and Sydney.

Great locations, views if you want them, and the apartment is exactly what we need.

Service is considerate and focused from the young lady who met us from the kerb when the bus dropped us off, the receptionist and the ladies who serviced our rooms.

A couple of calls to housekeeping were responded to quickly and correctly.

Room Tip: Floor Six was great (view of City and river). There and above are all good. We booked through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    255
    52
    10
    10
See reviews for
225
417
33
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have two adjoining apartments, very spacious, quiet, looked out over the river. Great location could walk to Rod Laver Arena and other attractions in the city. Close to trams. Valet parking meant the car was out the front when we said we needed it even at 4am. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DianeJ2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family for the "next years reunion" back to Quay West Suites Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Quay West Suites. The location is perfect on the South Bank close by lots of restaurants, the National Galleries of Victoria and the Eureka Tower sky deck and about a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre depending on where you want to be. We had a river view room on the 9th floor which had excellent views out over the Melbourne skyline. All the staff from reception, bar staff and restaurant were extremely friendly and helpful. The suite itself had everything we could want, although a few extra hangers in the wardrobe would have been great.

Breakfast is a little pricey and the food was not that hot, so a tip for travellers would be to perhaps take a walk to nearby restaurants and have breakfast there instead.

We would return to the hotel if returning to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danny Boy 123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels
We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Quay West Suites provided all that we needed for a weekend trip to Melbourne. It is within convenient walking distance from the NGV, Federation Square, The Arts Centre, Hamer Hall, etc, with lots of restaurants at Southbank. The staff gave us a cheery welcome and were able to help us with any questions and small matters like storing our luggage after checkout on the last day. Car parking is provided with compulsory Valet Service which worked very well for us (although it is not cheap). Rooms with river or city view are available but you need to recognize the extra cost involved. Our only negative is that the couches and chairs in front of the TV provide only basic comfort, and some soft cushions would provide better comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms without a city or river view are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I was very pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Quay West to be friendly and professional. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm and thorough review of your recent stay. We note your comments regarding the cost of the overnight cost of car parking; we are very reasonably priced for the Southbank area, but appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I can see why other trip advisor users have rated it so highly. The hotel is in a fantastic position and the rooms are very spacious. Whilst the rooms are not 5* in terms of decor, it is properly reflected in the price. I would definitely stay here again next time in Melbourne as it is perfect for families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and found it good value for money. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently spent a night at the Quay West Apartments and can only speak very highly of it.
The staff were very helpful and the apartments well equipped with good views of the city.
Location, location, location. Walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and city centre.
Will definitely stay here again..
Jacquie Snare

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jacquie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.

It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent 4 nights in a river view apartment and was an excellent choice. The location of the apartments is perfect for shopping, lazy lunches in the Southbank restaurants and only a 10 minute walk to Crown for evening entertainment.
The apartment itself had everything we needed - the bed was very comfortable, (bathrobes etc provided which we always like) fully stocked kitchen and good bathroom with separate shower. We spent a lot of time on the balcony (even though the weather was very cold when we were there!). Was nice to have coffee and read the newspaper in the morning or a glass of wine in the afternoon overlooking the river.
The apartment was serviced to a high standard every day which was nice to come back to after an exhausting day shopping! We didn't expect this in an apartment.
We normally stay in 5 star hotels as we like our comfort but decided to book Quay West for a change to see how an apartment would suit and we were not disappointed - the extra space and especially the balcony was wonderful instead of just a room and bathroom.
We visit Melbourne every few months and we will definitely stay here in future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jules_0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, as guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards to ensure we are proving our guests with what they want. I am pleased you enjoyed the space of the apartment and its facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,832 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing