We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quay West Melbourne on South Bank” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #8 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Quay West Melbourne on South Bank”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel location in the city, right on South Bank and the river. Close to everything. I paticularly like the one bedroom suotes. Feels more like home with separate lounge area and kitchem. Bed is huge and comfortable.Balcony is a bonus. Staff are great and very accomodating.

Room Tip: I much prefer the one bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. The suites are a great size and the balcony is a bonus!

We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    255
    52
    10
    10
See reviews for
225
417
33
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to attend a wedding. Huge apartment in a great location and amazing views of Melbourne. Easy walk to southbank and crown bars and restaurants. It was a waste to only stay for one night!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at the Quay West apartments and we were not disappointed. A one bedroom suite on the 13th floor, very spacious, lovely views over the skyline of Melbourne and situated right on Southbank with a myriad of food outlets, restaurants and so close to everything in the city. We enjoyed the extra space of a one bedroom apartment, and the benefits of a kitchen and cooking facilities, full fridge and 2 flat screen TVs- with just the two of us, sheer luxury! Would not hesitate to stay again. Staff very obliging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here over the ANZAC weekend , we loved the room, the city view, the staff. Everything in the suite was of high quality , two TV s great with a child. Highly recommend it, could not find a fault.

Room Tip: City view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walabee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed in a 2 Bedroom Premium Suite as a group of friends travelling. Suite had two separate bedrooms on either side of the room, each with a lockable room key door. In the middle of both rooms was a full kitchen, lounge room with TV and dining room. There were two separate bathrooms and the sizable balcony was great for chilling out with 4 people with panoramic views of the city extending from the Rialto Towers one end to Federation Square at the other. High floor is a must for good views, staff were friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out was easy and rooms extremely clean. Beds were really comfortable. Could not speak more highly of this location!

Room Tip: Try for a high floor facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyntonmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a "brilliant" review of your recent stay. We are also pleased you enjoyed our location and facilities.

It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent four nights here recently - unassuming entry & a very simple lobby but highly professional, friendly reception staff.
We had a one bedroom apartment for the four of us (two adults, two kids)...kids slept on the sofa bed in living area.
The room was simple with one bedroom, one bathroom, compact living room with dining table plus kitchen (with washer/dryer). Our view was across a courtyard to other apartments.
Positives of this hotel are:
Location - fabulous! Direct access to Southbank with Southgate Shopping Centre below.
Cleanliness - super clean + housekeeping did a superior job daily
Staff - friendly & professional
Room Service - delicious, fast & well priced
We enjoyed our stay at Quay West - not the most luxurious hotel (if that's what you're seeking, you'll be disappointed) but for a quick getaway in a central location this served us well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlover_mumoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed here multiple times over the years. Around 10 years ago, this was one of the best "apartment hotels" Melbourne had on offer.

Now, unfortunately, it is outdated, and in desperate need of serious renovations. The beds are uncomfortable, the rooms need some new decor, and the new technology they have recently implemented, just doesn't work how it should.

On our latest stay, it took more than 3 hours to get our TV to work. Luckily we had a business dinner to attend, so TV wasn't necessary for the evening. 3 hours is unacceptable. I suggest if they don't know how to operate their "main frame" which I was told was the issue, to employ someone who does.

All in all, this hotel needs some serious renovations, staff training, and some new couches and beds to make the stay more comfortable. That being said, I will not be staying here in the near future.

Very disappointing, as the location is spot on, and most of the views (city facing), are marvelous.

Room Tip: Rooms with the city views are the only worthwhile rooms, although they charge a large premium, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlatinumGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is disappointing to read that you will not return to the hotel and you did not enjoy your stay. We always appreciate when guests tell us when our services are not the way they expect.

We note your comments regarding the technology in the suites and are sorry that the information provided to you was not adequate and you experienced issues with the television. The suites have been upgraded over the last twelve months and continue to have improvements made.

Hopefully one day you return and we can change your opinion of our hotel.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,833 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing