We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely return to Quay West Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #12 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2008

I took ages selecting an apartment hotel to stay at in Melbourne (my home town) guided by Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed by Quay West.

We rang on our way in from the airport to check the location and, as a result, were greeted by the reception staff at the door by name and told our room was ready and waiting for us. Our luggage was sent straight up to our room and our car garaged. It set the tone for a lovely weekend. The staff were very helpful with restaurant bookings and directions.

The room was great - a one bedroom on the 11th Floor - we had paid extra to be up higher and it was worth it for the view - although 12th floor and up is probably better if you want an unobstructed view. The hotel was quiet, the room immaculate and well appointed. The kitchen was fully equipped although we ended up only having breakfast there and making coffee (good size plunger included).

The sofa bed in the loungeroom and the main (seemed like a king size?) bed in the bedroom were firm and comfortable and the pillows are the best I have had in a hotel for ages. Plenty of nice fluffy white towels and a nicely appointed, clean bathroom.

We didn't try the breakfast buffet or the pool or gym so can't comment on these. The only quibble I have was the price of the room service dinner my kids had that night but I guess I was trading price for convenience although my son had to order extra bread because the serves were very modest. My daughter did better with the kids menu.

By the way, as a Melbournian I can honestly say this is a great location to see the city from. There is a very good arts and crafts market at Southgate (just out the front door) on Sunday mornings from 10.00 a.m. and plenty of kid friendly, reasonably priced restaurants there as well. You can also take boat trips from there up the Yarra to Williamstown (we did it a few years back and the kids really enjoyed it). We went to the theatre on Saturday night in the city and walked back to the hotel stopping for a coffee at Brunetti's in Swanston Street on the way.

Federation Square is 3 minutes in one direction and the Art Gallery of Victoria, Concert Hall and the Botannical Gardens 3 minutes in the other direction. You can walk for fashion shopping to Little Collins Street or hop on a tram and do the same in Toorak Road (South Yarra and Toorak), Chapel Street (South Yarra down to Prahran), Lygon Street in Carlton and Brunswick Street in Brunswick.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExMelbourneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2007

What a fantastic property!
As a travel agent myself i have high expectations of 5 star hotels given i have stayed and inspected many. This property is by far the best i have seen in Melbourne.
I stayed here for Three nights in June in a Premier One Bedroom Apartment. The apartment was extremely spacious, offered a very large lcd television, balcony, huge bathroom with all ammenities, convinient fully equipped kitchen and plenty of storage. The quality of furnishings is very high and certainly in no need of refurbishment. It is extremely convinient to all transport and attractions, on the south side of the CBD (a chilli 10 minute walk in winter)I found some odd things though in the kitchen, like a very old pasta bowl and some forks that didnt match the rest of the new set, but thats being picky. The service is professional and courteous. The night and day staff knew exactly what they were doing. I was greeted by name as i arrove in the taxi, which astounded me and had my luggage whisked away as i arrived at the friendly desk.
I cannot speak highly enough of this property and would happily stay again. For an apartment property which tend to lack on the service stakes, this one is an exception. Highly reccommended.
Room service is also prompt, however a little pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SydMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Stayed at Quay West Suites last weekend for 1 night in a studio room for 2 adults and found it to be an excellent hotel in a great location.

We booked directly through the hotel and had great service from an extremely helpful reservation staff member who was able to give us a great room rate and discounted breakfast rate if we chose to eat breakfast inhouse. As it was the weather was beautiful so we ate out along southbank instead so can't rate the food in the hotel rest. but we had a deal of $20p/p for a full hot/cold buffet b'fast only charged to us if used.

Our room on the 9th floor was a decent size with a queen bed(very comfy),sofa,small table and chairs and small kitchenette.Since it was only for the night we didn't actually need a full apartment so the studio room suited us fine. We had views across the Yarra to Flinders St station and Fed Square from our room.

The check in staff were very polite and efficient on both check in and check out. Our only problem was that we had trouble adjusting the temperature in our room so we slept as though we were in the tropics! There was a control panel in our room but it didn't seem to change no matter what we did (as per the room instruction manual)and then it completely shut off. As it was about 1am when this happened we didn't bother calling reception and we forgot to mention it at check out.

But this small incident wouldn't deter us from definately staying at Quay West again. The location is fantastic and the property is nice with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank familyof4Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

The Quay West Apartments are situated overlooking the Yarra River and
approx a few minutes walk across the bridge to Flinders Railway Station and Federation Square.

When looking for a hotel, we usually only want a few things, view, balcony and comfortable room. The Quay West have all three.

Our one bedroom apartment 1512 is on the 15th floor and had fantastic
views of Melbourne skyline and the river. It consisted of a large lounge/ dining room with a separate kitchen with all the necessary items one needs for self catering. A washing/ dyer was always neatly packed into the kitchen.

The bedroom was a comfortable size with doors that lead out to the balcony. Dressing gown and slippers were also supplied.

The bathroom again was spacious with a bath and walk-in shower with good toiletries.

Broadband and a working desk , plazma TV, CD player were also supplied.

Parking was available at the hotel rate.

Breaksfast was excellent, you can also order it in your room.

Staff very helpful, friendly and efficient,. A credit to this establishment.

I have stayed at numerous hotels in Melbourne and found the Quay West up to the standard of any of the 5 star hotels in the city.

Overall, we really enjoyed our comfortable stay and could not find one fault, and that's saying something as usually I am very fussy...

Tip > Ask for a higher room to capture the fantastic views facing the city and river.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Pros:
Great location
Nice towels
Nice shower and soaker tub
adaquate dishes and cookware
Staff responsive and friendly

Cons:
Breakfast buffet is only cold selections and very limited. Juice and coffee and any hot food are extra and pricey.
Although there is a french coffee press in the room, no complimentary ground coffee is provided.
Pool had zero loungers, only two hard wooden benches.
The onsite restaurant did not meet expectations for food or service
The washer/dryer was old , and took forever to process a load of clothes!
The fridge was so stuffed with pricey "snack bar" food, I had to really work to free up one shelf for the food i bought at the grocery store.
Almost no drawer space

Overall management displayed an attitude that this was 4 star or above, and the sad fact is the rooms and service are no where near that standard.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudyfromBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

This is an apart-hotel located on the Yarra River close to the centre of town and the Crown Plaza entertainment complex.

My family and I booked a high floor, 2 bed, 2 bath suite. Unfortunately despite giving the hotel 6 months notice, they had given our original suite to another guest that day! We were given another suite with the same facilities on the 1st floor, with no view and lots of noise early in the morning as people visited the breakfast restaurant next door.

The following morning, the manager made amends and moved us to a 3 bed penthouse suite which had amazing views of the river and city. I have to say, he only did this after I threatened to check out and move to the Hyatt or Marriott.

Like all of these apart-hotels owned by this group, they are in a great location however the fixtures and fittings are of Ikea quality. Because of this, if the hotel was ever rated properly, it wouldn't obtain any star higher than a 3.

After 2 nights, we took a road trip for 2 days along the Great Ocean Road then spent our last night in Melbourne back at the Quay West. When we left 2 days prior, we had been told a 15th floor room had been reserved for us for our final night. When we returned, guess what? They had given it to another guest. We were offered a 5th floor suite then a 7th floor suite by the manager, but to be fair, he really didn't care. The view will be disappointing anything below the 8th or 9th floor.

Would we go back to this apart-hotel? I have to say, it would be a definite no. There were good points about the hotel, great location, good breakfast restaurant. The frustrations with our booking has put me off. Also, the gym was very dusty and the pool was out of action.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

A beautiful property. Stayed for three nights at Quay West Melbourne after a very long flight from Europe.
The check in staff were very welcoming and attended to our every need.
With two very young children,this apartment style hotel was a dream come true. amazing view of the city skyline from our windows; good restaurant and first class room facilities including washing machine and dryer.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing family holiday in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank familybelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,960 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,475 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,915 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $186 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing