We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality suites at excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #12 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good quality suites at excellent location”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a very good Hotel suite at premium location by the Southgate at Melbourne’s South Bank. It is closed to all the attractions within short walking distance.
We had a one bedroom suite facing the MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground) with a good view to the Art Centre. There were 3 small balconies around the Suite providing good open-air view of Melbourne. it was very well decorated and furnished to a high standard, there was a very well equipped Kitchen with a washer/dryer for the laundrette. Service was good and the staffs were friendly, helpful and provided prompt service especially the valet parking service.
The Southgate Food Court and shopping complex is right next door, so very convenient.
The breakfast was somewhat disappointing with very limited choice of fresh fruit and other items that you would normally expect for such high quality hotel, but the service was good, they were quiet happy to provide freshly made omelette for us.
We enjoyed the stay at the Quay West, it was very comfortable with very good service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeds_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    283
    60
    11
    12
See reviews for
260
465
36
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a family weekend for my daughter's 40th. We had 2 suites. I booked them months ahead and was disappointed that they were not on the same floor. I had requested this, and had booked so far ahead, I could not see why it was not possible. The staff were great, very helpful, and our suites were huge, pretty good. We had great views, although far superior in one of the suites. The location was sujperb. We had dinner at Southgate and walked into the city the next morning.
We had been able to leave our car there, so this was great. I would recommend it for overseas visitors, as you would not need a car to see Melbourne city if you were staying here.
It was very expensive though, and this would certainly put me off booking there again.

Room Tip: Try to book a suite, as they are the best. Ours overlooked the river and city and views were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,044 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

What a nice place to stay in central Melbourne and so close to everything. There is a nice pool and sauna on the 5th floor. The room was comfortable and there are larger rooms/appartments for those with children or groups of friends. The room was also set up for eating in and getting your own breakfast. There is a 7 11 store around the corner for food stuff and a grog shop close by.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Quay West in a 1 bedroom suite. We originally paid for a premium city view suite after calling them and being told they look directly over the river and city. Upon entering the room We realised our city view was of St Kilda rd. We rang reception straight away and after calm but stern words (from both sides) with the reception we were moved to the room we organised to stay in. The girl was not very apologetic but did organise the change of rooms for us and was polite through the conversation.
Rooms are well furnished (lounge suit not very comfortable as is the case in most apartments so we are used to it) Bed comfortable and everything clean. View is awesome form living area and bedroom but due to the position/shape of the building not all rooms would have these views. Make sure you spell that out very clearly that you want direct city views and ask them to make a note in the booking.
Breakfast was good, they will make you fresh cooked eggs so dont be afaid to ask. Parking not cheap but sometimes you can get a package deal with parking, breakfast and late checkout.
Over all great experience and we would go back again.

Room Tip: Direct City Views are great but limited. Higher floors also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKEYGREENTHUMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne.

We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with your requests to change suites, we are however sorry that there appeared to be a mix up with the suite type at the time of booking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Quay West Suites Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had difficulty finding the apartments so rang reception and they guided us through the area. The front end staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We chose a City View apartment and although only on the 3rd floor, had a great view of Flinders Street Station and Yarra River. We were just a short 2-3 min wander along Southbank from the Casino. The room was very well appointed with a large bath. Everything you could want was in the apartment for a stay from 1 day to 1 month. If you have to pay for the breakfast, it's not worth anythong more than $15 and the staff are lazy so I suggest take a stroll along Southbank and find some amazing places to eat. The apartments are right next to the street market at the Art Gallery which operates on Sundays. You can find some beautiful things there that are made by the stall holders. Alternatively take a boat ride along the Yarra or catch the free tourist tram around Melbourne.

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartments have a pull out couch in the lounge room catering for another 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taya62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed there for a few days recently while at a Conference. Great location, rooms and service. REALLY GOOD service. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2012

As repeat guests, our family finds this hotel extremely pleasing. We stay several times throughout the year during the football season. The wonderful staff are welcoming and professional who are always making our stay enjoyable.
The fantastic central location is perfect, so close to all major attractions. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained suiting our family of four. Our two young boys find the indoor pool a must every time we stay. The customer service is one of the main reasons we chose to stay at the lovely Quay West Suites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, February 1, 2017
Wow- thank you Michelle for the lovely comments, we appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again soon when the footy season starts up again.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,484 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,296 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,034 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing