We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“CONSISTANTLY EXCELLANT VALUE FOR FAMILIES + we got a FREE UPGRADE TO SUITE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #10 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“CONSISTANTLY EXCELLANT VALUE FOR FAMILIES + we got a FREE UPGRADE TO SUITE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Purpose of trip: MELB MARATHON - Hotel Location Southbank.What can I say? These guys are infailble especially if you are a family traveling with small kids. We checked in on a Saturday night. Upon our arrival we were welcomed by name and given a COMPLIMENTARY UPGRADE to *wait for it* a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom suite on the 21st floor! OMG! Think penthouse without a butler It was WOW! Separate HUGE kitchen with eating area AND formal dining room 2 bathrooms a large laundry complete with accessories and 3 bedrooms -2 x king beds and 1 x twin king singles. If you are travelling in a group this is a fantastic option! My hubby loved the galley kitchen as he travels alot and likes to cook when he is on land! Kitchen complete with smeg dishwasher and fab full size fridge/freezer and excellant cooking facilities. They also have a pantry service you just email your shopping list and your groceries are delivered to your door! If you are looking for an apartment with the benefits of a hotel folks look no further! Pool/gym was easy access as usual and well maintained. We had 3 balconies to view the beautiful city of Melbourne from our room -which faced the river and Federation Square. Room service was up to its usual high standard and was delivered within 35 mins of being ordered. Nothing is too much trouble for these guys their consistant HIGH level of hospitality stands out in a busy city full of hotels.Valet parking is great and these guys take it seriously, youre not left standing around on the footpath like other 5 star hotels waiting waiting...for your car when you have somewhere you need to be. The hotel is 5-10 mins walk to Flinders St Station and Federation Square. Going in the other direction is National Gallery and Vic Arts Centre and is again about 5-10 min walk from hotel. Trams are adjacent to Flinders Street station Vic Arts Centre and Fed Square. Its so easy to get around from this location.There is a rent a bike rack outside the Vic College of the Arts which is on the next corner up from the NGV.Location is excellant. Hospitality excellant and the rooms are of a high standard in quality furnishings as well as cleanliness. I wont lie, weve thought about trying other 5 star hotels on Southbank when our son is not in tow BUT really WHY would we stay anywhere else when everything we need is there at Quay West AND if you have any special requests (like a dozen long stem red roses on Valentines Day) they will oblige discreetly and with a smile!I ts good to know you can get the same level of service every time and avoid the disappointment that can occur whilst staying in a big 5 star hotel chain. Concierge and Reception staff are happy friendly and well trained at this hotel. Thank you so much for another stress free stay guys and the complimentary upgrade we really appreciated the gesture! We will be back! The McIntyre Family.

Room Tip: If youre a business traveller ask for a corporate rate. If booking directly with hotel book ahead a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McGorgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    242
    51
    9
    9
See reviews for
216
397
32
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have been regular visitors to Quay West Melbourne for a number of years and would choose nowhere else in Melbourne. Not only are the suites reasonable priced for a balcony view of the Yarra and Melbourne city, but the hotel has location, location, location.

However if you are on holiday and like a sleep in and to spend some time in your room to enjoy the wonderful view, then beware that the hotel is located in the middle of a major construction site. The incessant beeping from machines is mind numbing. Wait for another six months before coming back. However if you are on business and will be out by 7.30 and not back until 5pm, then it will be perfect.

We were disappointed that the hotel did not alert us to the noise problem.

Room Tip: the highest level (above level 11) to get a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUSSIETRAVELADVISER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Firstly, I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, in particular the noise you experienced from the development next to the Hotel at Hammer Hall. We appreciate your comments and note them for your next stay. .

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards so I appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor, as I will now be able to review your comments and suggestions with my Executive Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelup, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

These are fantastic self contained apartments on Southbank in Melbourne.
Location is brilliant - very central to everywhere, and walking distance.
Nice and clean and roomy.
Heaps of cafes and restaurants next door - including a great food hall.
We have been going to Melbourne 2/3 times a year and keep staying at the same place!

Room Tip: Deluxe suites have the bedroom as a separate room from the kitchen/living/meals area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
WeI appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed in a river view apartment on floor 12. Expensive but worth it. Balcony overlooking river was superb. Not a single complaint.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitmanspartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Just stayed 2 nights at Quay West Southbank in a single bedroom suite.Great views over the city and river from the generous sized balcony. Walked to the MCG to see the PIES trammed it up to the Vic Market ,easy. Great spot to stay to go anywhere around Melbourne City and major sporting venues.Could not rate the staff highly enough friendly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Clean and pleasant facilities had breakfast which was excellent. Would recommend anyone to stay here. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the river to the city are great and the 12th floor, fanatstic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

totally a 5 star stay. was there to accompany my husband who was working next door . the view of yarra river splendid. and then, the staff is helpful. location wise very great to everything, shops, tram and etc. the apartment was spacious for a one bedroom apt. kitchenette was well plan with kitchen, fridge, dryer and washer and etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaezrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Have just returned from two nights at Quay West Southbank - marvellous location for our needs.
Staff ultra pleasant and helpful - suite tip top, very comfortable. Would return in an instant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,511 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,244 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing