We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, helpful and professional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #62 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Friendly, helpful and professional”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I arrived late due to airline delays, so i was very tired and frustrated. I was welcomed at check in and provided me with directions for Thursday morning.

Breakfast was delicious and delivered during my preferred time slot. The room service staff member who delivered it was friendly and wished me a good morning.

The lady who checked me out was also very friendly. She kindly checked me into my flight online and printed my boarding pass – this allowed me to spend longer at the conference I was attending. She was also helpful at giving me an idea of how long I would need in the afternoon to get to the airport. Finally, she made sure I knew how to get to the conference venue.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    558
    225
    63
    25
See reviews for
443
295
26
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We decided to stay on the other side of the river this time. We have normally stayed in the CBD (Mantra and others) properties and this side was a bit quieter. Mantra has always been consistently good with their properties (for me anyway) and this one isn't any different. We stayed in a 2 Bdroom apartment, it was clean, well appointed and nicely decorated. Good location, it is just a short walk to the Southbank promenade and footbridge over to the city. They offered breakfast but we found you can get a better breakfast in the restaurants/cafes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Just came from another inner city hotel of same value. Service here is much poorer, they actually offer heat n serve microwave meals after hours for room service. Still though to be quite honest it was just satisfactory. That's where the 'praise' ends. My girlfriend and I entirely picked this hotel and the last on the rooftop pool alone. This time however there was a drunk who got in somehow and was destroying the pool / outdoor area and police were called and pool was closed. I understand this was out of the hotels control, but it completely ruined our night, we were only here one night. My girlfriend wanted a free night, I only wanted free parking for ruining our night. Both were rejected and told to see the manager in the morning. ITS TOO LATE THEN. And one staff member was smug enough to suggest the pool wAsn't closed long enough to disrupt our plans!!! How would she know?? Disgusting.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed in the Mantra having come in off an international flight. We were checked in straight away. The accommodaiton was great but the price of the food and drink in the hotel were high. In fairness, i dont think that this was exclusive to the hotel. We found melbourne a very expensive city.
THe hotel had excellent Leisure facilities. The Swimming pool and Sauna / Gym were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Mantra in a 2 bedroom corner apartment with our 3 little ones aged 4, 2 and 2. The staff were lovely and extremely accommodating. We had anticipated a difficult stay with the kids but the kids loved the apartment and had a great time! The apartment was clean and fully kitted out with anything you would need, home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We recently stayed for a week in a 2 br apartment. Things have deteriorated since my stay last year. The reception staff were excellent as was the over worked maintenance man. Our 1st room at the rear of the property was quiet but we had to move due to major bathroom plumbing problems to a very noisy City Rd room. Even on 12th floor woke up every time noisy vehicle raced by overnight. They really could do with secondary glazing on all windows. We were not alone with bathroom issues as there were at least 6 other rooms at the same time with similar problems. There were also major problems with water leakage due to the airconditioning.

The apartments were tired with many scuff marks and poor repairs to walls/ceilings. The bathroom tiles were mouldy and dirty. The dishwasher (12 years old) put on at 10 am was still going at 3pm as the dial would not rotate. The same problem reported 12 months previously. Apparently according to regulations the dishwashers should have been replaced at least 6 yrs ago.

We received servicing for the 1st 4 days then were informed that was by mistake and didn't get get serviced again until day before we left. No where in my documentation did it mention that we did not receive daily servicing as advertised and as was received last year. Also last year we (Aust ballet groups) received a breakfast pack which was a lovely gesture and incentive to return, sadly missed this year.

The reception staff could not have been more helpful which made our stay. However, there semms to be a lack of management. We received no welcome letter and no apology or compensation for having to move rooms. May consider elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APVCmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2011

was the best service and the warmest friendlies staff also very helpfull the room was so neat and tidy I was very relaxed there could only ask you to provide a shuttle service free of charge to and from the airport and maybe the shopping centre.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebirdCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
772 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#48 of 158 in Melbourne
410 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#97 of 158 in Melbourne
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
1,046 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Property: Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's vibrant arts and entertainment district which includes the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre, Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne is also within walking distance of most of the major sporting venues including both the MCG and Hisense Arena to the east; and Crown Casino and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre to the west. Whether arriving by public transport or car the hotel is easily accessible! Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city and nearby Melbourne Botanical Gardens. All rooms feature a lounge and dining area, Foxtel and digital channels including Fox Footy, fully-equipped kitchen with full-size cook top, oven, refrigerator and dishwasher, laundry with washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board, wireless internet access (charges apply), ISD/STD direct dial phones, air-conditioning, sound system with CD player, some rooms with an ipod dock, pay movies, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel offers excellent facilities for both leisure and corporate guests and is ideal for families. Mantra Southbank Melbourne facilities include a 15 metre indoor heated pool and spa, well appointed gym, Restaurant and Bar and Conference and Meeting facilities; which will accommodate between 20 and 60 delegates. Our Swan Lake room offers an outdoor area with spectacular city views. All-inclusive half-day, full-day and residential conference packages are available with the flexibility to tailor specific catering and audio-visual needs to suit all requirements. Mantra Southbank Melbourne is the perfect choice for your next Melbourne getaway. WHAT ARE WE CLOSE TO: * Victorian Arts Centre- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Concert Hall- 5 minute walk * Hammer Hall- 5 minute walk * Sidney Myer music bowl- 5 minute walk * National Gallery of Victoria- 5 minute walk * Australian Centre for moving images- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Aquarium- 10 minute walk * Botanical gardens- 5 minute walk * Crown Casino- 10 minute walk * Flinders St Station- 5 minute walk * Southern Cross Station- 15 minute walk * Federation Square- 5 minute walk * Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit & Golf Course- 20 minute walk * Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre- 10 minute walk * MCG - 15 minute walk * Rod Laver Arena, Olympic Park, Hisense Arena- 15 minute walk * Etihad Stadium- 25 minute walk * Southgate restaurants & boutiques, 5 minute walk * Tullamarine Airport - 40 minutes by road * Avalon airport- 1 hour by road * Free City Circle trams- 10 minute walk * Eureka tower- 5 minute walk * DFO South Wharf- 15 minute walk * Williamstown ferry- 5 minute walk * St Kilda- 15 minute by tram * St Kilda Beach- 15 minutes by tram * Luna park- 15 minute tram * Regent Theatre-15 minute walk * Lygon St- 15 minutes by tram ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing