We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff exceptionally clean facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #59 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The staff, particularly reception (Bandara) were so welcoming...had huge smiles and were so friendly. The room was spotless, not one mark on the extra large glass shower and the king size bed had beautifully fluffed pillows....the upgrade was definitely worth it. The shuttle bus was also very clean to and from the airport and the driver was quite informative around flight arrivals and departures and weather. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,672)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Southbank Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,613 - 1,619 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

I stayed here on a Saturday night with a group of friends and found the staff to be very sour faced and not very friendly. When we first arrived at 2.30pm only one of our rooms was available which was fine but we didnt get an appology from the girl on reception and were just told to come back later even though the guaranteed checkin time is 2pm.
Once we got into our rooms we were very impressed, we had a couple of two bedroom apartments and they were a great set up. Nice big lounge room, ample size kitchen and bedrooms.
On checkout the staff were not at all friendly again. If you can cope with bad customer service then I would recommend to stay here manly because of the locaton and nice modern apartments.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnzie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Travelled to Melbourne for AFL Grand Final with two other blokes (1 x <40 years and 2 x >60 years). Stayed in two bedroom, one bathroom apartment.

We needed a place within walking distance of both Crown Casino and MCG and this was perfect. You can walk to everything, including Collins St, it no time at all. The Hotel has onsite restaurant for breakfast and dinner (no lunch). Very convenient location.

Room itself was very good. Decent size without being generous. Kitchen was very good - you could have cooked up a very decent meal easily. Beds were very comfortable (esp pillows) - one queen and two singles. I personally slept on the sofa bed in the living room (separate 6 person dining table and lounge/TV) which was more than fine.

The room is a touch worn in parts - sofa is a little worn and the bathroom showed a bit of age. Nothing major. A little more natural light wouldn't have hurt either (one medium window in the living/dining/kitchen area only. Areas for improvement - a bit of traffic noise - no doubling glazing and windows are sealed on the edges with pretty simple sealant. Also there is only one bathroom and the toilet is within - so hard to share with a group - a separate toilet would have been better.

Staff very friendly and we liked the football boot chocolates left for us at night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I stayed 4 nights in September in a 2-bed apartment with a colleague to attend a conference at the nearby Melbourne Recital Centre. Overall the hotel was comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. My one big gripe was the lack of coffee mugs, the item of crockery I use most when travelling. The kitchen was generally very well-equipped, but only had those tiny shallow cups and saucers that pretty much guarantee a spill every time you use them).

The gym and pool area high on the 18th floor looked very nice and I wish I had the time (and the swimsuit) to take advantage of it.

The location of the hotel is quite convenient to Southbank, the Eureka Tower (buy the day-night ticket), the Performing Arts Centre and Art Gallery and there is a 7-11 across the road for the odds and ends you inevitably need to buy. However, City Road itself is a rather busy and ugly street, so it's not a pretty location in itself. Our room happened to directly look out across a narrow side street into the Australian Ballet School so if we pulled back the curtains, we could watch the dancers practising, which was a somewhat usual "view" but interesting nonetheless.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kr_afol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Good size room - a full apartment with everything that you would need.

Room service was good and quick and no extra delivery fee.

Overall a good hotel in an area close to the Crown (which was what I needed)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffHermes, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

Dear Hobartgirl,

I just wanted to write a short email to say we are glad you had a nice stay and we appreciate the feedback.

Regards
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I always feel bad when I write a negative review, especially when the staff at the hotel have been friendly and as helpful as they can be. It is not their fault the place is a bit of a dump or the cleaning policy for rooms is once a week - or at least appears to be. My largest gripe at this place is that the bathroom in the room I stayed had obviously not been cleaned following the guest before. The toilet still had used paper in it and had not been wiped down - disgusting. I have attached some pictures so you can see for yourself. A person would have to have very low standards indeed to rate this place anything but a poor experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cfan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffHermes, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

Dear Cfan41,

Thank you for the feedback that was recently posted on Tripadvisor.
I was disappointed to read that our level of service did not meet your expectations.
Due to the nature of the feedback it is difficult for me to investigate effectively. If
possible it would be great if you could contact me directly to discuss.


Regards
Jeff Hermes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

awesome bed- best sleep in such a long time! rooms neat and tidy. no fuss booking. very happy and will definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillyd84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffHermes, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2010

Dear Lilly84,


I just wanted to write a quick email to say thank you for your feedback.
I am glad you enjoyed one of our beds and had a great night's sleep.


Regards
Jeff Hermes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#48 of 160 in Melbourne
927 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#52 of 160 in Melbourne
203 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#53 of 160 in Melbourne
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,110 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $134 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's CBD close to Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city. Maintenance Notice: Mantra Southbank wishes to advise there will be a refurbishment of the restaurant taking place between 11 - 28 September, re-opening on 29th of September 2017. During this time breakfast will be served in the Arabesque Conference Rooms from Monday – Friday 6:30am - 9:30am and Saturday – Sunday 7.30am – 11am, with Room service breakfast available during these times. Room service will not be available after breakfast hours, additionally Lunch and Dinner are also unavailable during this period (Alternative dining & delivery suggestions available at reception). We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing