We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #55 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great destination and accomodation. Close to the Southbank precinct and City locations. This is the second time we have stayed at the Mantra Southbank Melbourne and have throughly enjoyed our stay there, the cleanliness of the rooms and the outstanding service provided by every staff member. We stayed in a 2 bedroom deluxe on the 13th floor overlooking the National Gallery and Arts Precinct. Great views especially at night with the lights of the city. Comfortable beds. Great location for families wishing to visit Melbourne.

Room Tip: Book a room if possible on the higher levels as there is less road and traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Michelle R,
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us again at Mantra Southbank Melbourne. Being very close to the Arts Precinct, Southbank Promenade and everything that Melbourne has to offer, we are perfect for families who are after not only the extra space compared to a regular hotel room, but also the convenience of all of our apartments having a Kitchen, Washing Machine/Dryer and other great amenities.
We look forward to inviting you back soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,671 - 1,677 of 1,954 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

Saw a show at Hamer Hall and stayed overnight at Mantra Southbank. Great location for access to Arts Centre, Southbank and City generally. Staff were very helpful and provided a lovely food platter on arrival. 2 bedroom apartment had 270 degree views of the Arts Centre and Sports Precinct to the east. Apartment was spacious and spotlessly clean with a large balcony to watch the Arts Centre and Sports stadium lights change after dark.

Room Tip: Apartments on north east corner have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank blossomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear blossomtom,
Thank you for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. We are very happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and we hope to invite you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at Mantra Southbank last weekend as part of a bucks celebration. The room itself was pretty neat and clean (2 bedroom apartment). The beds were very comfy (especially the pillows). The hallway leading up to the room looks kinda dated and old but nothing to fuss about.
Even though it was a bucks and at times there were about 15 ppl in the room, it didnt feel crowded at all because of the balcony areas, which itself is a pretty good size and most of the guys just hung out there. Only a couple of us stayed overnight and made use of the breakky next morning, which again was pretty good.
The only downside was that the 'lights' in our apartment went off in the evening when we switched ON the kettle and that was kinda weird. Every other electrical equipment (tv, microwave, etc) still worked. That kinda dampened the mood because the boys were all sitting around having a few drinks. So we had to leave the room and loiter around for a few hours. The reception staff were helpful but no one could fix the issue for a few hours. Eventually we ended going out and came back late/early next morning to find the issue had been fixed. Next morning the manager refunded some amount back which was good and it didnt require any haggling in getting it. They were quick in sorting sorting it out.
Overall, a very nice stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay right in the heart of the city in close proximity to the CBD. Noticed a lot of families staying over so they must be doing a good job.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment so I cant comment on the rest of the rooms. We had great views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank maverickmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear maverickmelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Southbank Melbourne. I wish to apologise again for the inconvenience of the power outage during your stay. I am very happy that the staff were able to rectify the issue for you by the time you had returned to the hotel later that night. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed our confortable beds and spacious rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in a two bedroom apartment , view was amazing, great balcony, and great big kitchen perfect for families. Great service from the mantra team, they could not have been more helpful, explaining all facilities of hotel and very happy to answer all questions. Karl Henry was especially helpful organizing taxis so we could get to our function on time.
We will return
It is also a perfect location to get to southbank and crown.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Julie B,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback. I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, especially the spacious room, location and the great view.
I look forward welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice and clean, well kept one bedroom place. Comfy beds, kitchen to cook and close to the casino. Easy walk to cafes and the city centre. Customer service was good and we were helped with food on arrival. cheers, Patrick Lipman.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Patrick,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed staying in one of our 1 Bedroom Apartments. As you mentioned, we are situated in a great location, with only a very short walk to the Southbank Promenade and the Arts Precinct.
We look forward to inviting back next time you are in Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

stayed there overnight with family as I had a meeting in city. arrived at hotel and was told to park across the road at Wilsons parking, went to room was not impressed. TV remote did not work well.
Being a cold night , tried to heat up the room but heater did not seem to work well, room was still cold till the morning. We asked for 3 blankets but was only supplied 2 as the room service guy said he could only find 2. Overall not good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for city view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrazzyHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed at the Mantra on the night of the 28th room 609 i think from 8 till 130 there were people partying on the terrace underneath the window of my apartment when i rang reception they gave us another room 701 what do you know the people next door were having a party 3.30 am that finished very disappointing Mantra, Staff were great "No Party Policy" thats a joke no good for families or people that have to get up early as i did 6.30 am as i can assure you makes a mess of the following day Stay Clear

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear mjk64,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Mantra Southbank Melbourne.
I want to offer my apologies for the noise issues that you encountered during your stay. We do have a strict No Party Policy throughout the whole of the hotel, however unfortunately we have failed to rectify the noise issues that particular evening promptly and effectively. I have immediately addressed your issue with the whole team to reinforce existing hotel procedures and to ensure that all noise in the hotel is kept to a minimum at all times.
We would like to invite you and your family back next time you are in Melbourne. Please don’t hesitate to contact me personally at karl.henry@mantra.com.au to help with your accomodation arrangements.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,544 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,155 reviews
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#52 of 161 in Melbourne
1,014 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#85 of 161 in Melbourne
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $138 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's CBD close to Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing