We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Melbourne right next to BCD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #58 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

If you wan to stay in the heart of Melbourne, just near the central business district, without loosing too much from your wallet, this is just the place. Mind you, the main city road is just by the property, so try to get a room a little on the back end, so that the noise is minimal...The rooms are great..walking distance to the bridge to reach downtown and china town..Since it is located on the central BCD, nearby malls, offices and the riverside walk, is walking distance...

Room Tip: Choose rooms to the south of the building, so that you are away from the main road to avoid traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,567 - 1,573 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a lightning stopover in Melbourne for a concert at Hamer Hall and chose the Mantra Southbank on price (we wanted something nice but not too expensive) and location and were extremely pleased with on both accounts. When we arrived we were advised that we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment (we had paid for a room with three beds). The apartment was spacious, clean and quiet and looked out at the Arts Centre. The location was excellent with a two minute walk to Hamer Hall and Southbank shopping and cafe precinct. We had dinner in the restaurant (Spires) which was excellent but did not have time the next morning for breakfast. All three of us agree that it was a great choice and we would return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

Dear Val G,
Thank you for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. It is fantastic to hear that you had a great stay and even though you were only able to enjoy our hotel for a brief time, you had the opportunity venture into the Southbank precinct and enjoy our restaurant, Spire Kitchen & Bar.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I came here for a weekend away. What a waste of a weekend! So disappointed. The noise on city rd is constant and you will find it difficult to sleep. I layed in bed til 3am and was close to tears in frustration from not sleeping and then I ended up sleeping on the couch.
This hotel is not ideal for light sleepers.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stay1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We (my parents, 2 children and myself) stayed at the Mantra Southbank over the long Labour Day weekend. The staff went out of their way to help us and were always smiling and pleasant whenever we saw them. The room was spacious and had everything we could possibly need (full kitchen, 2 bathrooms and bedrooms). The indoor pool was not only beautifully warm and clean, but the Melbourne views while in the pool were magnificent. The buffet breakfast was lovely and the dinner in Spire restaurant was delicious. Being able to see the Art Centre spire light up while having dinner was gorgeous. Very central to the City and an easy walk to Southbank and Crown Casino. A very memorable and special weekend for my parents and my children. We all agreed to make this a regular holiday destination and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a special break.

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom apartment was wonderful as it had 2 bathrooms as well. Great view of the Moomba firewo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for the first time over the Labour Day weekend in a 2 bedroom corner apartment. Location is very convenient to the CBD and to the Southbank restaurants, casino, shopping, etc. Great views from the apartment towards Fed square, the MCG & Botanic gardens with glimpses of the Yarra river. The Arts Centre spire is central to the view, and is lovely when lit up at night. It was Moomba and the lights from the rides and other activities just added to the atmosphere - and I think we had one of the best views possible of the fireworks. The apartment itself was clean, comfortable and adequately equipped. Noise from busy City Road was not a problem unless you wanted to sleep with the balcony doors open. Two of the 3 balconies were big enough for a table and chairs or sun lounges, but there was only one chair provided. (Note: balconies in the 1 bedroom apartments are very narrow, OK to stand but no room for a chair). There was a small but reasonably well equipped gym. The heated, indoor pool is reasonably large, with an outside sun deck that is currently closed for refurbishment. When in Melbourne we usually stay 'up a star or 2' (eg. Langham, Quay West Suites) but must say we were pleasantly surprised with the Mantra and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the Arts Centre spire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank morticiaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our early check-in request was met which was very much appreciated arriving in the morning! Very convenient being on City Road and right across from Southbank and then in to the CBD. Room service food was quite average but this was the only downfall. Couch position to the TV wasn't the greatest either (quite small and close together) but for a 1 bedroom apartment we couldn't complain and there was ample room on entry and to sit around the table.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miss-bee-anchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our first time staying at a Mantra. We loved having the separate living area with the sofa bed and although we didn't use the kitchen it would be handy for a longer stay. The breakfast was very, very nice with a few touches we haven't seen at other breakfasts. Good location at Southbank . Would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0P60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2014

Dear J0P60,
Marvellous Mantra! I like it. It has a nice ring to it.
Thank you so much for taking the time review of our hotel. It's wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities that the hotel has to offer.
We hope to see you again next time you are in Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#50 of 161 in Melbourne
962 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#44 of 161 in Melbourne
531 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
259 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $147 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's CBD close to Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing