We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Downtown Melbourne Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #59 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Melbourne has become an expensive city by any standards - and especially in the downtown area. The Southbank Mantra Hotel is an exception. Located just a short walk from the Yarra River, the Crown Casino and hundreds of Restaurants, this is a great base for a Melbourne visit which is also good value. The rooms also have cooking and cloths washing/drying facilities so you can look after yourself even if on a tight budget.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same so go for those high up to enjoy the early morning sunrise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Des B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay and I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be of good value and well equipped.

Should you ever require accommodation back in Melbourne at any time the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Mantra on Southbank has a good location and is central to the city. While the layout of the apartments are good, the furnishings need to be better. The apartment was a one bedroom apartment. It had an entryway, combined lounge/kitchen and a separate bedroom. No traffic noise could be heard from the street below and the apartments were quiet. However the furnishings are tired and dated - almost basic Ikea. The Mantra could be excellent if the rooms were totally refurbished - painting them, new furniture, carpets, light fittings and walk-in showers would be a tremendous improvement. The lighting in the kitchen was adequate but the lighting in the lounge area was not sufficient to read by. The light fittings were old and outdated. Most hotels throughout the world now have walk-in showers but the Mantra has a shower over the bath - very outdated. There were no shelves in the bathroom to put personal items. We stay at the Meriton in Sydney and the Mantra doesn't compare to the Meriton. The Mantra is not as good and the cost is more. The apartment was air conditioned and a notice advised to read the instructions before adjusting the air conditioning. However, after a thorough search through the apartment, there were no air conditioning instructions. There was one central control panel, unlike the Meriton that has a control in the living area and a separate one in each bedroom. All staff we had contact with at the Mantra were friendly and helpful. A well done, total refurbishment would make this establishment excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Many Thanks for providing feedback following your recent stay at the hotel, I value your comments and have shared them with the team.

We are in the process of completing a full paint of the hotel with the project shceduled to be finished by the end of May 2013. Along with this we are also planning to replace many of the sofa's, lamps and also continue to re carpet all rooms on an ongoing basis. (currently 25% of the hotel is complete).

I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and with the planned improvements to the product know that if you do visit us again will enjoy a more excellent experience.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The room was like a small apartment . The kitchen,bedroom and bathroom were very good. But the lounge was very tired the furniture dusty.. The position was perfect to access the Hamer Hall &.Southbank .Booked executive room but did not come up to standard as the lounge spoil it. Not up to standard as we have always always chosen Mantra in the past..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel and the team and I aplogise for not meeting with all of your expectations on this occassion.

Your comments are valuable to us and I have shared your views with the team so that we can strive to improve in certain area's that you have identified.

We are currently in the process of replacement of many of our sofa's to esnure that our rooms maintain a modern and crisp look. This along with our current painting project will ensure that the shortfall in standard's that you experienced during your stay are addressed.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and sharing these changes with you.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel has the potential to be a "winner". Perfect location with restaurants galore along the river bank and a 24hr convenience store a few paces along the street. We stayed in early February with our daughters & grandchildren for a family reunion.. Whilst the rooms were quite shabby and in need of a thorough spring clean, they were spacious and very soundproof. The balcony was a great spot for the storage of prams & toys ....and for a morning coffee in the fresh air! Housekeeping, although quite unreliable, was attended to by a young man with a perpetual smile, something the reception staff at the time, seemed to lack. The main drawcard will always be the location with the bonus of a heated pool, gym and sauna.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trident18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel, the team and I truly value your comments.

We are currently undergoing a painting project that will encompass all guest rooms and public areas of the hotel which will give a fantastic 'face lift" to the property.

I hope that our perfect location, great pool and gym facilities and spacious rooms are enough to enitce you back at some stage in the future where I am sure that you will see the improvement in the overall presentation of the hotel and guest rooms.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Location is great. Totally accessible. And that's where it ends. Service is average. Call on the phone wait for ages for it to be answered. Call internally and wait even longer. Room service options and availability are minimal. Housekeeping is so unreliable it's not funny. One day they empty the trash one day they don't; one day they make the bed one day they don't; one day they replace amenities and minibar one day they don't. Makes me wonder how 'clean' the room really is... Spent a week here and can't say that I'd ever return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Many thanks for providing feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.

It is disappointing to read that you found the housekeeping standards and service to be less than satisfactory and I apologise for any inconvenience that this caused during your stay.

I have addressed the concerns you have raised with the team and can advise that they have taken your comments on board.

If you were ever in a position to give Mantra Southbank another attempt to make a better impression on you, I would welcome your direct contact on aaron.bond@mantra.com.au and would be more than happy to look after you with a fantastic rate.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

well appointed 2-bedroom apartment room in a good location a comfortable stroll just out of the CBD - all the mod-cons, all the utensils you need for a week-long business stay (eat-in/entertain or many restaurants to choose from along SouthBank). Very good gym/pool and meeting rooms available.

Room Tip: Opt for a 2 bedroom corner room which faces towards the city - very spacious large living/dining are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Many Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel in late February.

The team and I are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel. The corner suites are certainly spacious and provide fantastic views of the Sports and Entertainment precinct of Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked a room but upgraded to a suite. Decor is quite bland. Nothing out of the ordinary to comment on. Cleanliness was OK but not spotless. Kitchen fairly basic. Check in failry robotic. Price and location the main attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for you providing feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.

The team and I appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Your comments regarding the bland decor have been noted and as we work through our current refresh project we will be sure to take this on board as we look to create an element of "wow" in our rooms.

Hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel at some stage in the near future.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#52 of 161 in Melbourne
961 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#45 of 161 in Melbourne
531 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
259 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 161 in Melbourne
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $148 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's CBD close to Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing