We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #63 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very average.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

First, the good news. The pool is excellent. About 15 meters long which is exceptional for a hotel. The location is excellent. It is close to the Botanical Gardens, the main transport hubs and the major cultural attractions.

Now, back to reality. Very poorly maintained rooms. Inadequate cutlery, cook ware, and cooking utensils. We rented the place so we could cook but in practice you can't do much more than boil an egg.

Strangely, they don't even provide adequate materials for washing dishes and doing some basic cleaning.

And they want to charge extra for wifi. Don't bother with this. Walk over to nearby Federation Square where the outdoor wifi is excellent and free.

Charmless rooms, large groups checking in and out causing delays at the lifts and check out, staff who don't seem to care. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annerly777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback following your stay at Mantra Southbank in December.

The team and I appreciate your comments and apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Since your visit we have undergone a full review of all our in room equipment and all apartments are now fully stocked with adequate cutlery and cooking utensils as you would expect.

The hotel has an internet kiosk in the lobby which is free for guests and is set up with full printing facilities. Alternatively there is high speed wireless broadband available for guests to purchase if they wish to access the internet from the comfort of their room.

As a regular traveller we hope to see you back at a Mantra hotel or resort at some stage in the future.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    586
    235
    66
    29
See reviews for
474
317
28
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and, on arrival, clean. We spent 4 nights there; however, although housekeeping was supposed to be carried out daily, we had a day when the beds were not made up and the bathroom could have done with a sweep (but perhaps this is normal). Our smoke alarm beeped continually but maintenance were called twice to sort that out and they did. The kettle was faulty but this was replaced promptly. The rooftop pool facility is excellent but there are not enough sunbeds/seats on the sun terrace. However, I love Mantra and am looking forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: All rooms seem great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill-Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Mantra Southbank.

The team and I appreciate your valuable comments and we have discussed the concerns raised and will look to improve on areas noted.

Thank for your honest thoughts regarding the inadequate amount of pool furniture and we will be looking to recitfy this in the coming months.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here to use up some Mantra hotel credits we had. We were a bit apprehensive given some of the reviews. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, especially Sarah and Ellie. I had a special dietary requirement which the hotel restaurant was extremely accommodating with.

We also made special requests as to what sort of room we wanted, all of which were met without any questions asked - make sure you ask for a quiet room, as City Road is very busy.

I do agree the housekeeping could have been better, especially as they take things away and don't replace them.

However, we had a great time, the location is good - very easy walking to the cbd, Southgate or the tennis. The apartment was spacious and had good neutral tones, and the bed and shower were excellent.

So, all in all we would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from City Road - City Road is one of the busiest roads in Melbourne
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 736Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.

The team and I are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. I have passed your kind words onto both Ellie and Sarah in the Front Office team and given them due recognition for the service that you were provided. Pleasing to read that the kitchen staff were accomodating to your dietary requirements.

We continue to work hard at improvement to our housekpeeing services and am sure that on your next visit to the hotel you will notice a higher level of detail in this area.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Southbank at some stage in the near future.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a great time we had staying at the Mantra Apartments in Southbank. We were a group of friends in 2 apartments. Staff were extra helpful, with extra towels and bedding, the pool was a good surprise and breakfast was delicious. Very convenient to walk to the Tennis and into town and enjoy the sights of Southbank.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us at Mantra Southbank.

The team and I appreciate your comments and glad to hear that your stay with us lived up to expectations.

As you have mentioned the location of the hotel is truly ideal if visiting Melbourne for the Tennis or any other Sporting or Entertainment event.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future when you next need accommodation in Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The experience began with the booking service. We made a paid a deposit of $200 for a 4 night stay four months before our arrival. About six weeks before we were due to arrive the emails and phone calls started asking us to pay the balance. I was a bit suspicious as I have never been asked to pay accommodation in full especially if I have already paid a deposit. Rang mantra and was told by a huffy operator that the salesperson would have told me when I made the original booking -DIDN'T- and anyway it was in the fine print of the terms and conditions. As it turned out it did say something about special periods and it was apparently tennis season or something (I had no idea I do not follow it). Then he looked at the dates said oh, I didn't have to pay until a certain time before which I duly put in my diary. Weeks intervened and then another automatically generated email arrives demanding full payment or I will lose my booking. So I ring up again and the payment is overdue apparently cos the dates did fall into a certain period not as the previous huffy mantra person had said...

On arrival....Room adequate, in need of a spring clean - lots of dust behind curtains. Bath/shower mouldy and in need of re-grouting as no amount of cleaning can get the mould out at that point. Beds were not put together as requested in booking but it was easy fixed. The front counter staff were nice enough.

Had a neighbour with a noisy thumping stereo which fortunately only lasted one day. Worst issue was the poor cleaning services - not emptying the bin, not vacuuming up food under the table and not replenishing the coffee and sugar. We don't live like this in our own home and we certainly don't like it when we are taking rare time out on holiday. If the cleaning staff are pressed because the hotel is full they should put more staff on and give them more time to clean each room.

I was concerned at the very low waist level railing at the roof top swimming pool which even an adult could easily slip and fall over. 18 floors up? Surely can't be legal? We had small children and I held on to the smallest the moment we were out of the pool especially as there are chairs right next to the railing to climb on.

The location is within walking distance of the city centre but we will not book this property again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road if noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fragola66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thnk you for providing feedback following your recent stay at the hotel and I would like to apologise about the inconveniences that you have experienced during making your booking and also during your stay.

During Special Event Periods in Melbourne most often deposits are required to be paid for pre booked accommodation which was the reason for the request although I am disappointed to know that you felt our approach was gruff as this would certainly not have been the intention of our team.

We have undergone a full review of our housekeeping team in the past few months and are pleased to advise that additional resources have now been allocated to ensure that our team have enough time to clean the apartments to a higher level than you obviously experienced during your stay.

I can advise that the railing and balcony wall on the 18th floor swimming pool terrace is certainly to legal height as are all the balconies on every room within the hotel accommodation.

Again apologies that we were unable to meet with your expectations, however hope that you may be inclined to give Mantra Southbank another visit when you are next in Melbourne and experience the improved housekeeping standards that have been implemented.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights during Australian Open this year... Location is the best thing about this Mantra, it's located just behind the Arts Centre, and a short walk (5mins) to Flinders St Station & Federation Square. Took us 20mins to walk to Rod Laver Arena.

Service was always friendly and efficient and we were able to check in early. The room was clean & spacious, however it could've done with a refresh... There was a 50c size hole in one wall that needed patching up, and the toilet seat was unsteady and needed replacing...The gym was also in need of refreshing, with some equipment falling apart.

Not bad, not the best though... And I wouldn't say it was particularly cheap so these few criticisms are disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the hotel during the Australian Open.

The team and I appreciate your comments and are delighted to advise that we are in the process of undergoing a full painting project at the hotel along with upgrade to many items of furniture in the rooms. Our ongoing carpet replacement will continue throughout 2013 and 2014 and will certainly have a postive impact on the overall presentation of the hotel.

We have also undertaken a review of the gym equipment and are pleased to advise that we are currently looking to make some significant change to this area of the hotel.

We hope to see you back at the hotel at some stage in the near future to make use again of the great location and get to experience for yourself the improvements that are underway.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Positives: Mantra Southbank is the official accommodation provider for families with students at the Australian Ballet School. It is very convenient, just across the road from the school. We received a nice welcome back with a magazine for mum, fruit, snacks and colouring stuff. We also got a discount voucher to use for the breakfast buffet. Reception and restaurant staff were courteous and professional. The restaurant was quite good, and the kids meals were fine. (don't expect a good wine list though). The pool was good for the kids.

Negatives: Our 1 bedroom apartment was very disappointing. As another reviewer mentioned, we also had crumbs on the kitchen bench from the past occupants, there were lots of marks on the walls, and the tiles in the bathroom needed a really good clean. The top of the TV was extremely dusty.

After our first night, I happened to be in the room when housekeeping came. She just asked if there was anything I needed, so I mentioned we needed a couple of towels - she brought them in and just left, did not do the room at all! The next day, they didn't replace the shampoo or conditioner, and took the bath mat and face washers and didn't replace them with new ones. Our sheets were not changed in the 5 nights we were there and on the days they were made, the beds looked roughly done. The mini bar item we purchased, was not replaced, and some days the complimentary tea and coffee wasn't replaced either.

There were only 4 of everything - 4 glasses, plates, spoons etc which wasn't really enough.

The in-room movie service didn't work, and I found the dishwasher, washing machine and dryer were all quite difficult to use, and had to refer to the instructions for everything. There was no compendium in the room.

We had no view to speak of, and the room was quite dark, and small. The bathroom was just plain white tiles, no luxury to be found here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tassiemum94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel while in Melbourne to attend the Australian Ballet School.

The team and I appreciate your comments and are dissappointed to read that we were not able to live up to your expectations with regards to the room and the housekeeping.

I am happy to advise that we are currently in the process of painting every room at the hotel and in conjunction with this are also replacing many items of furniture and replenishing rooms with new pots/pans/crockery to ensure that they are equipped to guests satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when you are next in Melbourne to visit the Australian ballet School and am sure that you will notice the ongoing changes and improvements to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#47 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#51 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#95 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Property: Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's vibrant arts and entertainment district which includes the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre, Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne is also within walking distance of most of the major sporting venues including both the MCG and Hisense Arena to the east; and Crown Casino and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre to the west. Whether arriving by public transport or car the hotel is easily accessible! Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city and nearby Melbourne Botanical Gardens. All rooms feature a lounge and dining area, Foxtel and digital channels including Fox Footy, fully-equipped kitchen with full-size cook top, oven, refrigerator and dishwasher, laundry with washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board, wireless internet access (charges apply), ISD/STD direct dial phones, air-conditioning, sound system with CD player, some rooms with an ipod dock, pay movies, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel offers excellent facilities for both leisure and corporate guests and is ideal for families. Mantra Southbank Melbourne facilities include a 15 metre indoor heated pool and spa, well appointed gym, Restaurant and Bar and Conference and Meeting facilities; which will accommodate between 20 and 60 delegates. Our Swan Lake room offers an outdoor area with spectacular city views. All-inclusive half-day, full-day and residential conference packages are available with the flexibility to tailor specific catering and audio-visual needs to suit all requirements. Mantra Southbank Melbourne is the perfect choice for your next Melbourne getaway. WHAT ARE WE CLOSE TO: * Victorian Arts Centre- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Concert Hall- 5 minute walk * Hammer Hall- 5 minute walk * Sidney Myer music bowl- 5 minute walk * National Gallery of Victoria- 5 minute walk * Australian Centre for moving images- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Aquarium- 10 minute walk * Botanical gardens- 5 minute walk * Crown Casino- 10 minute walk * Flinders St Station- 5 minute walk * Southern Cross Station- 15 minute walk * Federation Square- 5 minute walk * Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit & Golf Course- 20 minute walk * Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre- 10 minute walk * MCG - 15 minute walk * Rod Laver Arena, Olympic Park, Hisense Arena- 15 minute walk * Etihad Stadium- 25 minute walk * Southgate restaurants & boutiques, 5 minute walk * Tullamarine Airport - 40 minutes by road * Avalon airport- 1 hour by road * Free City Circle trams- 10 minute walk * Eureka tower- 5 minute walk * DFO South Wharf- 15 minute walk * Williamstown ferry- 5 minute walk * St Kilda- 15 minute by tram * St Kilda Beach- 15 minutes by tram * Luna park- 15 minute tram * Regent Theatre-15 minute walk * Lygon St- 15 minutes by tram ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing