We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #60 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra South bank for one night before our trip down to the great ocean road. We got our deal off Wotif as a mystery hotel.

On arrival we were served promptly.We were asked to sign a no party agreement which we were fine with. When signing this I mentioned that we were on our honeymoon so that probably wasn't a problem. We then went up to our room on the 5th floor. Within 5 minutes of our arrival into our room there was a knock on the door from room service with a bottle of champagne with compliments from the hotel. I found this to be a very nice touch as we had not received this at any other hotel we had stayed at.

Sleep quality was good. We had dinner at the Casino which was only a 5 minute walk away but the hotel also has a bar and restaurant. The bathroom has a two person spa which we didn't have the chance to use. The kitchen looked well equipped.We were up early the next morning and the concierge called us a taxi which arrived immediately.

Room Tip: Views are not really an option however road side rooms are quiet so there is no worry there.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiec8805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback following your stay at the hotel whilst on your honeymoon.

We are so glad that you enjoyed the complimentary a bottle of champagne and that you found the hotel met with your needs and expectations.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at a future time when you are next in need of accommodation in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Southbank Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Staff were excellent and very accommodating for our needs. A view of the back of the art gallery, which was quite funky in a way. The only complaint i would mention was, one single mattress that was joined to another one to make a bigger bed was so badly stained with brown marks and the cover over it was disgusting and filthy... looked like it had never been washed at all. This i only discovered after sleeping on it all night....i was horrified. Apart from that the rest of the rooms appeared clean. Dined in their restaurant in the evening, must say the food was great. Free breakfast which was fine with a good variety.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback following your stay with us, your comments are very much appreciated.

I would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory state in which you found the mattress protector on your bed and can advise that we have, over the past couple of months, undergone a replacement program to ensure that they are all in a pristine state as you would expect.

We hope that given our good location and great Arts Centre views from over 50% of our rooms that you will be back to stay with us when you are next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed at the Mantra Southbank for 3 nights for a work conference. I picked the Mantra as it was close to Southbank & accessable to the trams that go to St Kilda.
Overall, the apartment wasn't too bad. It was clean & tidy. I don't think the aircon was working as there was a portable water cooler in the bedroom. Luckily the weather wasn't that warm so the aircon wasn't needed (would be a big problem in summer though...). I could open the windows for fresh air, but closed them at night due to the noise from the traffic.
The apartment had everything that you could need for a short stay. The bed was OK, not the best bed in a hotel, but not the worst either. The bathroom was a good size. The apartment was cleaned daily - towels replaced/bed made/rubbish taken/dishes done.
There are plenty of restaurants close by (and a good food court in Southgate - the prices are not too bad). There is also an IGA Express that sells alcohol which is just down the road. Handy if you feel like drinking some wine while dining in.
I would stay there again (if the price was good!).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzaboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback following your stay with us, the team and I truly appreciate your comments.

We are glad to know that you found the location ideal as the hotel is certainly right in the middle of the Arts and Entertainment district and only a short stroll to the CBD, Convention Centre and the MCG making it perfect for business or pleasure.

If you are in need of accomodaiton in Melbourne in the near future we certainly hope to see you back at the hotel for another visit.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our group consisted of 5 girlfriends from Adelaide staying 3 nights to attend the Melbourne Cup. The location is excellent, 5 minutes walk to Southbank with plenty of dining out options, 10 minutes walk for Flinders Street station and 15 minutes walk to city shopping. Check in was efficient and quite pleasant. Unfortunately, that is where the pros finish. Turning on the air conditioning in one of our apartments (Room 507 - twin share) dragged in putrid smelling air of raw sewerage which began wafting into the corridor. No maintenance staff available to rectify the situation as it was a Sunday!! We were then transferred to Room 511 - queen size bed. Housekeeping eventually changed the bedding arrangements. Lack of attention to detail shown here! Next day, after arriving back from a full day's shopping, no housekeeping services with no beds made, wet towels in bath, no fresh towels and no rubbish bins emptied. After two telephone calls to reception, fresh towels arrived. Flyer left on kitchen bench stated that next day, Melbourne Cup Day 2012 there would be limited housekeeping services. Not good enough for serviced apartments. Decided to dine in Melbourne Cup night as Steak night and Happy Hour was advertised. After having our orders taken by a "less than professional" waiter, waiting half an hour with no drinks served, we were then told the kitchen had "run out of steaks and we would order a burger". This whole experience was very disappointing and certainly took the shine off our long awaited Melbourne Cup trip. Do yourself a favour, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJK518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback following your stay at the hotel for the Melbourne Cup and Spring Racing Carnival.

I am disappointed to read that we were not able to live up to your expectations and apologise for the inconveniences that you experienced during your visit.

The team and I have noted and discussed your comments concerning the housekeeping service standards and the restaurant experience and will make changes to improve the experience we offer to our guests.

I would be more than happy for you to contact me directly on aaron.bond@mantra.com.au and would be dleighted to assist you with you any future accomodation needs so that we can give you the experience that you should have had on this occassion.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What I liked about this hotel was the pool, spa pool, sauna and gym. They were a nice way to relax each day after work or shopping. The location of the hotel is OK, but you need to be prepared to walk quite a bit to get to good shopping or the conference centre. The rooms were reasonably comfortable - a little on the small side for an appartment style hotel - but the price was OK for Melbourne. The noise from the road was high if you had the windows open, but fine when closed. I found the staff were not that knowledgable about the rooms and when I asked about things such as how the dishwasher worked and whether there was a coffee maker/plunger available the staff did not seem to know (I was told I could not have a plunger sent to the room when I asked, only later to find one already there in the back of a kitchen draw). The bath tub was a little small and shallow to have a good bath, but otherwise the bathroom was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nice20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the hotel.

The team and I appreciate your comments and glad that you enjoyed the factilities we have on offer including the amazing roof top pool, spa and sauna.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank, Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our accomodation was part of a package booked through Grand Prix Travel for the Australian Moto GP event at Phillip Island. After a long flight from Cairns we finally arrived at the hotel around 8pm, after being greeted we were then told that we were booked in for the following night.

The negative……….

Spring Racing Carnivals & MotoGP events being held in Melbourne that weekend, most hotels were fully booked but after a couple of minutes she realised she made a mistake - not the best way to welcome your guests.
Breakfast was not included in the (not discounted) price of our stay, housekeeping was non existent - they "made our bed" by pulling the covers over our wrinkled bottom sheets, never changed them, never vacuumed. Reception staff seemed really uninterested in us any time we asked for information from them, instead of having my luggage handed to me after leaving it in their store room, she put it on the floor as she passed and kept walking. The same receptionist saw us waiting for the Skybus she had booked for us a few hours earlier, instead of telling us where to wait for it, she told us where we were supposed to go after she saw it go by BUT told us it wasn't our bus! Eventually the manager paid for a taxi to take us to Southern Cross Station to catch the airport Skybus and blamed the bus company for the mix up!

The positive……

Overall the 1 bedroom apt. was fine, reasonably modern clean, although maintenance had been a little neglected. There were laundry and cooking amenities available in the room which we always look for.
Location was at Southbank, just cross the main street and walk past the Langham, over the Yarra river to Flinders Street Station and Melbourne CBD. This is roughly a 5-10 minute walk. Lots of restaurants, eateries and bars along Southbank and it is very close proximity to the National Art Gallery and Arts Centre; also not far from Rod Laver Arena, Etihad (whatever it's called these days) Stadium and MCG is easily accessible via the tram system or taxi.

There are better places to stay for the price and I am certain that any other hotel will provide a higher level of hospitality, that was so evidently lacking at the Mantra Southbank.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerenityChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback following your stay for the MotoGP and I am disappointed to read that we didn't live up to your expectations on this occassion.

The team and I appreciate your comments and have discussed the issues that you have raised so that we can improve our overall service standards.

The hotel is currently undergoing an extensive maintenance overhaul which includes the painting of every room and all of the corridoors, the addition of new lamps and sofa beds into our 2 bedroom corner and 2 bedroom deluxe suites and this will continue over the coming 12 months.

I would like to apologise about the mix up with the SkyBus transfer to the airport and in future the team will ensure they communicate this in a far more professional manner.

We hope to see you back at the hotel at some stage in the future as I am sure that you will be delighted with the improvements that are currently underway.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

THis hotel is not really in the 'flow' of the Melbourne CBD. If you don't know your way around if may seem like you are in the middle of no where when in fact you are close to Southbank and Flinders St station.
The rooms are ok - nothing special, not overly small but not what you would say 'big'. I had a one bedroom room, the kitchen was a full kitchen, but with basic utensials - and lets face it, unless you are having an extended stay, you don't really use much as you have to buy EVERYTHING if you want to cook - you mainly just re-heat.
THe bathroom was nice with half bath. It is great to have your own in-room washer and drier.
Room is on a major road with a set of lights right our front - not great if you are a light sleeper.
The staff were friendly but there never seems to be enough of them to get great service.
Room service menu is not the best - mainly pizza, pasta and burgers. Th resturant was not much better. Food was ok, service was slack and slow and price was high. I only ate here becuase the weather was bad and I didn't want to walk far outside. To walk to a food 'choice' is about 5 minutes - mainly because you hvae to cross the busy road and you also need to know whereyou are going. If it's just a bed you want - then this place is ok. I fyou want a holiday - this is not the place regardless of it's price.

Room Tip: Even on the none road sideof the hotel I could still hear the road traffic (trucks) in the night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for posting your review following your stay at the hotel.

The team and I appreciate your comments and in particular I have passed your comments onto the Chef and the Restaurant team to address your thoughts concering the food and service so that we can make improvements in this area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage in the near future and hope that you can then experience these improvements for yourself.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#48 of 160 in Melbourne
925 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#52 of 160 in Melbourne
201 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#53 of 160 in Melbourne
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,108 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $133 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's CBD close to Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city. Maintenance Notice: Mantra Southbank wishes to advise there will be a refurbishment of the restaurant taking place between 11 - 28 September, re-opening on 29th of September 2017. During this time breakfast will be served in the Arabesque Conference Rooms from Monday – Friday 6:30am - 9:30am and Saturday – Sunday 7.30am – 11am, with Room service breakfast available during these times. Room service will not be available after breakfast hours, additionally Lunch and Dinner are also unavailable during this period (Alternative dining & delivery suggestions available at reception). We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing