We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect sleep if you're on the City Road side...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #59 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just stayed 2 nights here for work. Worth checking if they are going to put you in the rooms facing City Road as I got zero sleep. Trucks and brakes all night long - felt like I was sleeping on the side of the road. Bed was right near a window which did not block out any noise. Have stayed in many hotels for work all over Australia but this experience made me compelled to write on here to warn others. I did ask to change rooms on the 2nd night and moved to a room on the side facing the Arts Centre - much better.....

Room Tip: Ask not to be in a room facing City Road if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerPete82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the hotel and apologies that you didn't get the nights slepp that you had hoped for.

We are continuing to investigate ways to eliminate the road noise nand hope to be able to make some significant improvements to the rooms along the City Road side of the building in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,659 - 1,665 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Nowhere near the quality of the other two Melbourne Mantra properties. Cheap beds, dirty linen left in hallways all day, cheap appliances. Not 4.5* standard. In desperate need of refurbishment. Hoping breakfast will partially make up for the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmsyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for proving feedback following your stay at the hotel in October.

I apologise that we did not live up to your expectations and deliver the experience that you were hoping for.

We are currently in the process of undergoing a major painting program as well as an upgrade of all of our in room appliances. The hotel has also recently had the addition of some new Sofa Beds and been fitted out with new lamps in many of the two bedroom apartments.

I will send you a private message with my contact details and would welcome your direct contact so that we can invite you back to the hotel to experience is as it should have been on this occassion.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed one night at the Mantra Southbank to attend the ballet at the Arts Centre. It is a perfect spot to attend a performance as it is so close to the Arts Centre. Had breakfast at Southbank cafe and then jumped on a tram to get to the MCG. The one bedroom apartment was a good size and had kitchen, laundry and a spa bathroom. It was clean and comfortable although the sofa bed in the main room had quite a thin mattress (daughter didnt complain). There are windows that open which i wouldn't want to do, as City Rd is quite noisy, but know many people like to be able to open a hotel window.
Staff were friendly and there is on site parking available. Very good value for visit to Melbourne and notice lots of families staying as school holidays. We didnt use but there is a pool and gym.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay at the hotel and glad to read that you found the location ideal, the apartment clean and well equipped and the staff friendly.

I have noted your comments regarding the sofa bed mattress and we are in the procssing of replacing them all over the coming months and have also ordered new sofa beds for all of our two bedroom corner apartments.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future be it for more Ballet or another trip to the MCG to watch the AFL.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We are regular visitors to Melbourne and try to always book into the Mantra in Southbank. The staff are lovely and helpful. The rooms are great value. Lovely and clean. It's and easy walk to cafe's and bars, sporting grounds and the CBD.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback and delighted to read that you are a regular visitor to Mantra Southbank.

We are in the process of commencing an extensive painting project from the end of Janaury 2013 and have also made imporvements with new sofa beds in the corner suites and new lamps in more then 20 of the two bedrom apartments. I hope that you get to enjoy some of these new touches when you visit next.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend in a 2bed corner apartment on the 5th floor, overlooking the arts centre, on a visit to the Napolean exhibition at the National Gallery. Superb views of the spire each night lit up, and the apartment was lovely with all we needed. Staff really helpful. Next time I would opt for a non-corner apartment as the triangular balcony with glass sides was slightly off-putting despite not being worried about heights! But that is a minor criticism and the overall impression of the hotel was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the arts centre but not on the corner if possible and higher floors have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinkydi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your visit to the hotel in September.

The Corner Suites at the hotel certainly do offer an unrivalled view of Melbourne including the spectacular Arts Centre Spire and out across the Botanical Gardens to the Sports precinct of Melbourne. On your next visit if you do not wish to have the corner balcony but still get a similar view then we have deluxe apartments on the 13th floor that can accomdate this request. Be sure to ask for one with a view of the Arts Centre.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage in the future.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was in Melbourne at conference in Southbank and found this accommodation wonderful. Friendly staff, 1 bedroom apartment was roomy and all mod cons. Small balcony allowed extra fresh air. Bed was great and enjoyed a really good shower. It is within easy reach of the centre of Melbourne...just a quick 10 minute walk up onto St Kilda Rd and Federation Square and easy access to all that Southbank has to offer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil_seymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Many thanks for posting your feedback following your visit to the hotel and glad that you found the location ideal.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future when you are next in Melbourne for business or pleasure.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We are a family of four with 2 adults and 2 kids (6yo & 18mo). We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel because the 1 bedroom apartment was big and comfortable and it is in a great location with close proximity to food options, southbank, Eureka Skydeck, federation square and flinders st station. The staff were all very helpful and attentive, and we were allowed to check in at 11:00 upon our early arrival and found our room all set up and ready with cot and extra sleeper sofa for my son. Beds are really comfortable!! My oldest son loved the pool and hot tub on the 18th floor and the gym is also really good. We found it very nice to have a washer & dryer in our room (especially with 2 young kids on a long holiday). We did not eat at the restaurant onsite because we found it easier and nicer to walk across the road to southbank for all meals. We did not experience the traffic disturbances or noise that many others experience, but I think it is because our room was not directly facing the alley or main road. Rooms could definitely do with a "touch up" of paint and grout and refresher as many others suggested. But overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to other family travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtcrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thanks for posting your feedback and glad to hear that yourself and your family enjoyed the space and facitlites that the hotel has to offer.

I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel needing a touch up and can confirm that we wil be commencing a comprehensive painting project from January 2013 which will include all rooms and corridoors. During this time our maintenance team will also be undergoing repair to all grout and silicone in every bathroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Aaron Bond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#52 of 161 in Melbourne
961 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#45 of 161 in Melbourne
531 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
258 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 161 in Melbourne
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $148 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's CBD close to Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing