We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Great location-close to everything including excellent free tram and tourist bus. Rooms facing Swanston could be noisy but some might find the clicketty clack of trams soothing! Flinders Lane has great restaurants. Room getting a bit tired but cleaned well. Some scuff marks. Smallish TV (CRT not LCD or plasma). Friendly staff and great to use internet at Business Centre for free. Breakfast okay but nothing special. A bit more variety esp. for our international travellers would be great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garthy_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2009

Dear Garthy_2,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Our central location is certainly something that sets us apart and keeps guests returning. I hope you will be able to visit us again in the future to view the exciting changes we have planned for our guest rooms.
Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,791 - 1,797 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

What a great experience. First and foremost, the staff were the standout feature of this property. From the doorstaff who greeted everyone with such grace and professionalism (small things like asking how lunch was when you returned to the hotel) to the check-in staff, the service was among the best I have experienced internationally.

The hotel itself has a lovely ambiance, with soft lighting, lots of Australian artwork and elegant, spacious rooms. Bathrooms are large, with a separate bath/shower. Bathroom was a bit dimly lit though. There were many nice touches, from the specialty teas in the rooms, to the light switches all placed within easy reach, to the free fruit in the elevator lobbies. Free wi-fi in the lobby/first floor was also handy.

The Westin is also in a great location- close to Federation Square, great restaurants (try Movida for Tapas, or Kenzan for Japanese), and boutique shopping. I look forward to returning to Melbourne and particularly this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmcf171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2009

Dear Canberraguy,
Warm greetings from The Westin Melbourne.
Thank you for taking the time to write such an inspiring review of your recent stay. Your feedback has been passed on to our associates who continually strive to offer our guests a memorable experience whilst here. It is lovely to hear that this has not gone unnoticed. Movida is one of the most popular dining establishments in Melbourne and you are lucky to have experienced its fare as reservations can be hard to arrange.
Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We used our Starwood Points for our stay at the Melbourne Westin. When booking our trip to New Zealand and Australia, I was looking forward to our stay at the Langham and not as much to our stay at the Westin since we have stayed at quite a few Westins before and they all range in rooms, service, amenities.

The Melbourne Westin is fantastic! Located a block away from Flinders Station/Federation Square, it is in the heart of Melbourne.

The lobby has a grand staircase and incredibly high ceilings. Everyone there is a consummate professional, from the check in staff to the lobby greeters.

The room was spacious! We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room which accomodated an entry way before leading to the king sized bed and ample room for a desk and two chairs. The closet space was also ample and had mirrors affixed to it making the room look even larger. The bathtub and shower were separate and the tub was deep. My one complaint was they didn't provide a shower cap and we had to request for it.

We loved how they provided granny smith apples at each of the elevator lobbies that you could take for a snack.

The pool, jacuzzi, and sauna are all indoors and located in the basement. The sauna is co-ed and the gym is directly across.

Our stay in the Melbourne Westin was near perfect. If you are going to cash in your starwood points, definitely consider using it for this Westin!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasmyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2009

Dear jasmyne,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. Your lovely comments are a constant source of inspiration to our associates who work hard at providing a memorable experience to each and every guest. I do hope you will visit us again when in Melbourne.
Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

The service at this hotel was very good. Very pleasant and friendly. I received an upgrade from Westin room to s city view room. The room was quite large and 'Heavenly Bed' was very comfortable. Loved the size of the bathroom and especially the rain shower. Great location on Collins Street and short walk to Bourke Street mall and convenient walk to everything else. Would absolutely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2009

Dear rc33,
Greetings from The Westin Melbourne.
Thank you for posting comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear your stay was a pleasant one and I hope you left us feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. We receive many comments in regards to our Heavenly Beds, so much so that many of our guests purchase these for home! I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I stayed at the Westin for one night recently with my partner, it is an amazing hotel. Loved the pool, spa and sauna and the staff were so polite and helpful. We had buffet breakfast the next morning which had so much to choose from and was very yummy. Bathrooms are huge with a big shower and double sinks, I would definetly recommend this hotel if you want to stay somewhere luxurious, I didnt want to leave! It is also located in a very central location which is close to everything, I will definetly be coming back for my next trip to Melbourne and also would be interested in seeing what the other Westin's are like :)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2009

Dear BEC1234,
It is comments such as yours that continue to inspire our team to provide the renewing service you experienced during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and I hope you do get to visit some of our sister hotels soon.
Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

This is a vastly superior property to the Westin in Sydney. Though the rooms may be a bit older than those at the Westin Sydney, this hotel outshines its flashier neighbor in all respects. The service at this property is fantastic, especially the concierge, who couldn't have been nicer or more helpful in telling us how to get around and making restaurant bookings at our request. Every staff member had a smile on their face and was very willing to help.

The rooms are fairly traditional, but nicely done. The bathrooms are elegant, with a separate tub and large standup shower and a huge double vanity. As others have said, the only negative in the room was the lack of a flat panel television, but that is a small price to pay for such a professionally run hotel in such a central location. Because of the tram system, and the fact that the hotel is centrally located, it is easy to get just about anywhere in Melbourne (except the airport, which does not have any public transportation links).

I would highly recommend this hotel, and if you are a SPG member and able to do cash and points, I think the value factor here is incredible.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2009

Dear qaz123,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you found our service professional and friendly and our central location convenient (which I hope you took advantage of as there is so much to see and do in this great city of ours.) Please note, we will be replacing our televisions with flat panel versions for our guests to enjoy in the near future. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The Westin is in the PEFECT location to experience Melbourne. Imporatant sights are nearby and public transportation is readily accessible.

We spent 6 nights there on Starwood points, so, of course, it was an incredible value for us. We did NOT eat at the restaurant (breakfast buffet was $38, so we opted for a muffin and coffee at the Starbucks on the ground floor). There are myriad restaurant choices nearby and we opted for the Italian restaurants on Bourke St., an easy walk from the hotel.

Service was polite and efficient from the front desk and the doormen. I needed to take a business call in the middle of the night and the business center was opened for me. Internet service is expensive ($30/day or $100 for a week).

GREAT lobby area and a small balcony that overlooks the street. Workout facilities were never crowded.

An enjoyable stay and we would highly recommend this as a base for a Melbourne vsit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2009

Dear old3,
I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you would recommend the hotel to others wishing to experience a restoring stay in Melbourne. Our central location is an attribute which keeps many of our guests returning and it sounds like you made the most of it by paying a visit to some of the great dining options nearby.
Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,780 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,431 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,817 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $200 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing