We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Check-in was uneventful and rooms are large an clean. Location is great for walking around Melbourne.

Only a couple of small issues we noted, nothing major: Room service food was left sitting outside rooms for hours, dust on the sink plumbing seen when in the bath.

Did not eat or drink in the hotel... why would you will all of melbourne just a few mins walk away!

All in all we would stay here again, its not cheap but its clean and comfy.

Hot tip, if you dont like the thick pillows just ask at reception for some thinner ones, they will send them right up.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Five15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your feedback with our housekeeping team.
During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault this hotel.... great food, amazing rooms (corner room), perfect location. One of my favourite Westins in the world. A good compliment to an amazing city. Will definitely be back. Second best bloody marys in the world... hahahaha cant beat Queenstown bloody marys.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank collegian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us in every way. Our commanding central Melbourne address does place our guests amongst the very best that Melbourne city has on offer. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed there on a Business trip great location and a great Hotel the rooms are big and spacious Front Office very professional and friendly so is the whole team in the Lobby and the Lady who cleaned my Room.
The only negative thing was the laundry service. As a very frequent traveler i need to have my shirts washed and pressed in the Hotel which i happy to pay for but paying over 14 AUS $ and then needing to iron it again is not very costumer friendly and a rip off.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Magelan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our large and well-appointed rooms, unbeatable location and instinctive service are all what we are so well known for. Apologies that your shirts were not pressed to your liking. We will follow up with our Executive Housekeeper. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Upon reputation I booked myself in for 2 nights for a refresh and rejuvenation and was absolutely delighted. My rate included valet parking and breakfast, and the valet parking was quick and convenient. Right from then through to the minute I left the service was first rate. Having stayed in numerous 5 star hotels throughout Europe this year, this one had the best service of them all.

The pool and bubble pool are fantastic and quiet, the gym is open 24 hours and really well equipped. Room service was really quick and although expensive, totally worth it. Breakfast was wonderful and the cleanliness and servicing of the rooms top notch. A 1 min walk from Federation square and 10 mins to Southbank I will be returning again when the bank balance allows it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you made the most of our unbeatable location and that you recognized the instinctive level of service that we strive to uphold at our hotel. Westin now offers a unique Gear Lending program, providing guests with the opportunity to hire our New Balance work out clothing and running shoes in your size for a small fee of $5. We look forward to welcoming you back. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Nice looking hotel in a good location; however, by North American luxury hotel standards it was far too expensive for what you get. A valet parking charge of at least $50 for a hotel guest is unheard of, but I was told that this is normal in Australia. (A Ritz or Four Seasons hotel in the U.S. or Canada rarely charges more than $35 for valet service and in some cases as little as $15 or even free.) Unfortunately, my most memorable experience at this hotel was my sleep - or lack of.

I have stayed in many dozens of hotels round the world that span the spectrum of standards, but I have never had a difficult time falling asleep due to being in an uncomfortable bed, but this is what happened at the Westin Melbourne. I even considered sleeping on the floor to avoid the extremely soft, unsupportive bed. And it wasn't just me, my girlfriend felt the same way. Fortunately, it was just one night, so it didn't matter too much. I understand that these beds are called "heavenly" beds and I did enjoy my sleep on one at the Westin Maui, but the one I had at this hotel was far from heavenly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location. In regards to valet parking we are in line with many other hotels in the city. After 6pm you can self-park your car for the price of $10 overnight in the car park below the hotel. Apologies that you didn’t have a good night’s sleep. For your next stay the Westin signature Heavenly Bed is available in a firmer option, you just need to request this when making a booking. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for a much more satisfying stay in every way. We do hope you will return. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location in the heart of the city. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is stunning and extremely well maintained. Our new favourite hotel in Melbourne CBD. Didn't dine at the hotel but cocktails in the lobby lounge were lovely. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Phoebsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Reviewer. We are very pleased to read that The Westin Melbourne is your new favourite hotel in Melbourne. Thank you for your feedback. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues
(T& C’s apply) even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne some time soon. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Travelling for business and wish I could have stayed longer. Great location and such comfortable, well done rooms. Bell staff, desk and lobby bar staff were thoughtful and attentive. I enjoyed the selections for the breakfast and the service was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerioke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments, your feedback is valuable to us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Westin Melbourne. Our converted Collins street address does place our guests amongst the city’s finest dinning and shopping precinct and Melbourne’s finest attractions. We are well known for our large and well appointed rooms with signature Westin features such as the Heavenly Bed (the name truly says it all). We will pass on your kind feedback to our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne sometime soon. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,065 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,612 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,964 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $209 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing