We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #18 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife, 7 year old boy, and I just had a few nights at this lovely well situated hotel. We were very impressed with the friendly, obliging staff and everything about the place. the King Bed we had (and rollaway for the little bloke) was very comfortable and i wouldn't mind having the blinds thay have at my place. They kept the room dark in the morning so you slept in very easily. The pool is great and perfect for little ones as it is only 1.1 metres deep the whole way. I would thoroughly recommend the Westin to other visitors to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Get a Swanston Street view room if you can - you can watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RooboyTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our instinctive service. We strive to provide guests with personal service and renewing facilities so it is inspiring to read we have consistently fulfilled your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    498
    128
    53
    31
See reviews for
245
810
132
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have stayed at Westin Melbourne on many occasions over the past 14 years. Comfort, facilities, location - nothing has change - all are excellent. However, as a supposed valued member of their loyalty club, I was disappointed on my treatment on this occasion. Having made 3 bookings - one room for 5 nights, one for 2 and another for 1 night for family and friends, I had received confirmation of all at agreed rates. When I came to settled my account I had been charged an extra $44 per night for the 5 night stay. Despite pointing this out and having by written confirmation with me, the front desk treated me as if I was trying to pay less than I should. They said they would look into the matter (why - because all the proof was there?) and when they didn't reply when they said they would, I contacted them on a few occasions the following day over some hours only to be told the relevant person was "with customers". Finally the matter was resolved after contacting and speaking to the General Manager. The point is - a written confirmation should be enough to authorise front desk staff to honour an agreement. It leave a disappointment on the way loyal customers are treated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Our location is certainly unbeatable along with our first class facilities. Apologies there was some confusion with your bookings. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We drove from Sydney to Melbourne dropped our car to the bell captain AUD50 per day for valet parking and checked in the hotel.
I have stayed here 3-4 times on business love the location.

Upgrade to a suite on the third day. Not much different between a suite and a deluxe room. Bigger bathroom, more spacious room and television. Unlike Sydney or some other Westin in APEC, a suite represent one bed room with separate living and sleeping area not the same in Melbourne Westin. The bed size is the same, same furniture.

House keeping need to improve. No complimentary fruit nor chocolate. Incomplete make up of room no milk in fridge and bath oil in the bathroom disappointed.

Like the high tea set AUD49 per head with selection of 16 types of tea and free refill of coffee, lovely cakes. Though expensive, great place to get together after shopping for a lazy afternoon.

Service is good with caring staff. In conclusion I rate this hotel 4 out of 5.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ladytraveljournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Perhaps you would consider one of the Regent Suites in the future as they have a seperate lounge room and stunning views over the city. Please feel free to inquire with our Front Office Manager for future stays. We do apologise that there was no milk in your room. In the bathrooms we do have bath and shower gel but we could arrange bath salts in your room on your next visit. We are pleased you enjoyed our popular High Tea and will pass on your comments to the chefs regarding their lovely cakes. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My first time in Melbourne, and yet again was recommended this hotel. I must say I was surprised with the room size they are quite spacious and very good beds. So you get a very good night asleep. They centrally located so pretty much everything is on walking distance, shopping, main train station, lots of restaurants and a theater opposite the hotel but mainly shopping malls..ect I went to an AFL game and it took me less the 15 min by tramway. My stay coincidence with the laughter festival so lots of activities around the hotel, you can actually see some from the terrace of their lobby coffee-shop. Very friendly stuff and polite. Great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaouad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your positive review and nice to read that we were recommended. We are pleased you made the most of our unbeatable location and that you recognized the instinctive level of service that we strive to uphold at our hotel. The world class in room features such as the Westins signature Heavenly Bed, bath and shower, provide our guests with such a revitalizing stay. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin.
Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have stayed in many places in Melbourne over the years. This is, by far, our preferred hotel. The location (at the bottom end of Collins Street) in unbeatable, The service is first class. The rooms are spacious and spotless. We have rarely had problems at the hotel. Any that we have had have been quickly and efficiently sorted - with a minimum of fuss.
The only possible downside of the hotel is the unusal TVs in the rooms. The speakers appear to be at the back of the TV, cuasing a muffled sound.
On the plus side, wi fi is fast (and compimentary in the public areas of the hotel). The hotel breakfast is outstanding, and the bar downstairs cosy and welcoming.
A first class location, first class rooms, first class staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomewardBound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear reviewer. We certainly thank you for your comments which we will share with our team. We are so delighted to know The Westin Melbourne is your preferred hotel. Our large and well-appointed rooms, unbeatable location and instinctive service are what we are so well known for and try hard each and every day to deliver. We thank you for your comment on the TV’s and we will investigate if this is something we can change.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Westin in Melbourne is a fantastic 5 star hotel that is completely unpretentious! From the moment you walk towards the doors, the concierge are friendly & helpful, the check-in is almost always quick & express checkout ensures you can be on your way quickly. Until late 2012, I frequently stayed at another 5 star property in the city, however am so glad that I have changed to the Westin & this is now our 'regular' hotel.

The location of the Westin is perfect. Close to Flinders St Station, close to Bourke St Mall & Little Bourke St for China town. Fed Square is nearby & you can walk to the MGC and/or Rod Laver & the tennis when it is on.

The bed is amazing, heavenly is correct. All rooms are spacious, from the standard to the deluxe. The only thing that seems to change is the view. Great products.

The bath is amazing, it fills quickly considering the size & is true luxury. I detest having a shower over a bath & it is so nice here to have a separate bath & shower in a huge bathroom. Fluffy bathrobes are a small luxury also.

Nothing seems too difficult for any of the staff at the Westin & it is definitely appreciated.

Looking forward to my next stay & keep up the good work.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, the only thing that seems to change is the view. In all honesty, the cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smally82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide lovely feedback and we are delighted to be your hotel of choice in Melbourne. We are pleased you enjoyed our instinctive service, signature Heavenly facilities and our unsurpassed location close to all Melbourne has to offer. We strive to provide guests with personal service and renewing facilities so it is inspiring to read we have fulfilled your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great location and lots of style. Our casual response to a question from Rhys at reception about a special occasion resulted in a room upgrade and a surprise bottle of champagne and macaroons upon our return from the theatre. Probably the best located five star hotel in Melbourne

Room Tip: Room overlooking the city square feels so European
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you stayed at the Westin Melbourne for your special occasion and thanks for your kind mention of Rhys.
Our hotel certainly is a relaxing oasis in the middle of this bustling city and our converted Collins Street address is positioned amongst the best designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions including Federation Square, the Arts Centre, MCG, and the Tennis Centre.
We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Until then, Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,486 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,202 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,660 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing