We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very good hotel in the heart of the business district in Melbourne. Rooms are tip top and staff are friendly and professional, even by Westin's superior standards. Wifi is free in public areas and available for a fee in the rooms. I found the rates a but high for the speed offered, but this is a small complaint in an otherwise excellent stay, including opulent breakfast buffet and catered meals for business meetings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you made the most of our hotels central location, in the middle of all that Melbourne has on offer. If you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply).
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Westin in Melbourne is excellent. From the moment we arrived were were warmly greeted by everyone we came across. Our bags were quickly deilvered to our room, all doors openned for us and everything clearly and efficiently explained.

The hotel is nicely appointed - the green tea aroma is lovely! There is artwork in every room and also in the hotel lobby.

Our room was larger than expected although didn't have the best view in the world, but then we had gone for the cheaper option so you expect this. The room had tea and coffee facilities, an enormous spacious bathroom with built in sound from the television. All amenities you would expect.

The spa area was very nice - not filled with children as one of the other reviewers mentioned. The steam room and sauna were also very good.

The location of the Westin is great - walking distance to all of the main attractions and shopping streets.

The rooms and facilities are great, but the staff in the hotel really make the experience. They were warm, curteous, friendly and charming at all times and really went out of their way to make us feel at home and cater to our needs.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your uplifting review. The swimming pool is certainly something special even visually it is really a work of art on how this pool was designed in the space. It is very popular along with the steam and sauna rooms. Don’t forget the Westin Workout gym is open 24hrs for that late night workout.
We are pleased to provide a refreshing sanctuary in an unbeatable location. We are delighted we delivered personal and instinctive service that we are known for. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne. During your next stay, perhaps download our SPG App for easy booking and with our latest special offers. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent. From the first minute to the last time we walked out the door, just stunning.

Staff were professional and friendly. I think I spooked the poor young lady at reception by arriving with two women though!

The room was immaculate. We had a King Superior facing the theatre, but despite the lack of view (didn't worry us) the room was incredible. Massive rain shower and deep bath, and I love Westin's Heavenly Bed. I wish I could stay at Westin hotels everywhere I go.

Congratulations once again Westin!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us in every way. The world class in room features such as the Westins signature Heavenly Bed, bath and shower, provide our guests with such a revitalizing stay. Next time you stay with us perhaps try the onsite facilities such as the 24hr Westin Workout gym and or unwind at the end of a busy day in our lap pool, steam room and sauna.
Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The rooms are very modern, clean and high quality. Beds are comfortable (generally all the Starwood hotels have very comfy beds). Spacious lobby with high ceilings. Locations is pretty good (adjacent to Federation Square and close to all the good restaurants). The gym was above expectations as it was spacious and new equipment. The only con is that it does not have a club lounge but this is due to the size of the hotel. The service was friendly and helpful. No complaints. We came here for our honeymoon and received a nice welcome gift from the manager.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RYN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer. Congratulations and we were pleased you enjoyed your stay for such a special occasion. Our rooms are certainly known for their size and it is with these signature Westin features and service standards that we are able to offer our guests a revitalizing stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

A 2 night start at the Westin and I was pleasantly surprised .... from the moment I arrived the staff were excellent ... all but one were so friendly and honestly helpful .. not just going through the motions and/or trying to up-sell something ... location is far enough away from the centre of the CBD to be relaxed but close enough to have a short walk and shop .... rooms are huge and well appointed . bathrooms also really well laid out ... over all a 5 star hotel that is a five star in all aspects ....

Room Tip: Contact the hotel if you are driving ... you have to enter the driveway from the back lane .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozclarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you made the most of our unbeatable location and that you recognized the instinctive level of service that we strive to uphold at our hotel. The world class in room features such as the Westins signature Heavenly Bed, bath and shower, provide our guests with such a revitalizing stay. Next time you stay with us perhaps try the onsite facilities such as the 24hr Westin Workout gym and or unwind at the end of a busy day in our lap pool, steam room and sauna. Westin now offers a unique Gear Lending program, providing guests with the opportunity to hire our New Balance work out clothing and running shoes in your size for a small fee of $5.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This place is excellent. Well located in the heart of Melbourne. The rooms are high quality and the staff, particularly the doorman, very attentive. I could not find anything wrong with this hotel. The rooms and services are brilliant. Tasty omelettes for breakfast too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DirtiSanche3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us in every way. Our commanding central Melbourne address does place our guests amongst the very best that Melbourne city has on offer. We are delighted you both enjoyed our personal service and delicious food in our signature restaurant Allegro. We will ensure we pass on the positive feedback to our restaurant staff. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The Westin has a good reputation and it dedirves it.
Great rooms large and well appointed, great staff, friendly and proffession service. Excellent location in the heart of Melbourne CBD and the most comfortable beds in hotels.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank David111060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your detailed comments, your feedback is important to our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our high service standards which we are well known for and our well appointed rooms with signature Westin features such as the Heavenly bed – the name really does say it all and it offers a very restful night’s sleep indeed.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,828 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,460 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
891 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $166 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing