We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #11 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed one night at this hotel and overall it's a great hotel. The location is probably one of the best for a hotel Melbourne; you are within walking distance to everything. I can't really fault this property, rooms are very large, great bed, bathroom etcetera. But I think overall if feels very masculine, as if it's more suited to the corporate male traveller rather than families and couples. We had breakfast in the restaurant and this was nothing to write home about. It was nice but not great.

Overall I don't think anyone thinking of staying here would find fault with this property.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We are pleased to learn that you had such an overall satisfying stay in every way and enjoyed our large and well appointed rooms with features such as our popular Heavenly Bed – the name says it all. Our unique and unbeatable location certainly places our guests amongst the best designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions including Federation Square, the Arts Centre, MCG, and the Tennis Centre – we are pleased you made the most of this. We will pass on your comments regarding the breakfast offering to our Restaurant team for further review. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne for another refreshing stay some time soon. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    444
    113
    44
    26
See reviews for
209
700
122
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It was a part business, part leisure trip. We were booked at the Westin Melbourne for 2 nights. Loved the bedding - they were super comfortable, one of the best amongst all the hotels I've stayed in. Service was prompt and not intrusive. It was in a good location within walking distance to most areas. Would have been better if we had a room with a view of the city.

Room Tip: Request for a city view room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esther_2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to hear that your recent stay at The Westin Melbourne was so uplifting in every way. Our aim is to ensure our guest leave us feeling more rested and uplifted than when they arrived and the signature Westin room features such as the Heavenly Bed, certainly deliver our guests with such experiences. Thank you also for commenting on our intuitive and friendly service as our associates do take pride in their work and strive to ensure we connect with our guests always. Upon your next visit, you can certainly request a city view room however, these rooms are popular and numbers are limited so do request one ahead of time to ensure it is guaranteed. We hope you and your loved ones had a safe and merry Christmas and all the best for 2014. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is always fabulous- staff are lovely and friendly (this time Sophie at reception was fantastic) and facilities are luxurious. Great location and great buffet breakfast. Only tiny negative was the steep price ($55) for valet parking but am thinking this is maybe normal for Melbourne. We will be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your positive review. It is always a pleasure to hear our guests have such a satisfying stay in every way. We are delighted you enjoyed our enviable location in the heart of Melbourne, delicious gourmet SuperFoodsRxTM buffet breakfast in our signature restaurant Allegro and our high service standards. Our associates take pride in their work and do work hard to deliver these standards to our guests. We will ensure your comments are passed onto to Sophie and shared with our entire team. During your next visit, may we mention, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Melbourne again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Have just had a night at the Westin in Melbourne. It was great, the staff friendly and happy to assist with anything, the hotel is clean and it is in a great location, especially when trying to do some xmas shopping. I was upgraded as well, can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are bigger with a bay window. There are some deluxe that have a small balcony inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your comments – your review is very important to us. We are so pleased to learn you’re recent stay at The Westin Melbourne was so uplifting. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and would like to take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy 2014. Until then be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim289
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Just a very nice stay. Located in the heart of Melbourne CBD in walking distance to both all major companies as well as entertainment and dining option. Great fitness area and pool. Breakfast great with omelette station, waffles etc etc. Stay is somewhat pricey, but highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel’s unbeatable location, the gourmet buffet breakfast in our signature restaurant Allegro and our fantastic onsite facilities. A personal favorite of our guests is the beautifully designed lap pool in our WestinWELLNESS centre together with the new Lifefitness equipment in our WestinWorkout fitness studio (open 24 hrs). It’s always a pleasure to hear our guests have a great stay. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not very distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Vic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed on a Fri/Sat/Sun night for our annual getaway and xmas shopping trip and decided to spoil ourselves a little this year. Overall a very good experience except for a couple of minor details.

Pluses - staff very courteous and professional; check in fact and easy; rooms very neat, clean and tidy; heavenly bed did not disappoint-extremely comfortable; great city location.
Peaceful sleep. Like the option of forgoing housekeeping to gain extra SPG points.
Bath a good size, fits two (just)

Minuses - Rooms need a clock next to the bed so that if you wake up in the dark, you don't have to forage for your phone and spectacles to check the time;
extra power points needed beside bed for recharging of phones;
toilet flush buttons poorly positioned, in that have to move seat and cover to access buttons, or go like a girl and leave seat down all the time;
Key cards did not work all the time in lifts. Had to go to reception twice to have checked - first said nothing wrong with them, second time had a new card issued;
When about to check out, called for a luggage trolley as we had all our christmas shopping to cart down from 6th floor. Never arrived and we had to make two trips down.
Valet parking $50 per night. Not an option for us, too expensive, parked one block away at 114 Flinders St for $15 for Fri, sat nights and all day Sun.(pre book online).

Appears minuses outweigh the pluses but would definitely stay again next year.

Room Tip: Room overlooking City Square. Trams and street cleaners a little noisy in the mornings but didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beejw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your detailed comments, your feedback is important to our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our high service standards which we are well known for and our well appointed rooms with signature Westin features such as the Heavenly bed – the name really does say it all and it offers a very restful night’s sleep indeed. We are also pleased to hear you participated in our innovative Make a Green Choice program by forgoing housekeeping, it is a great way for our guests to earn SPG points and to preserve environmental resources. However, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the key card incidence. Mobile phones and credit cards can deactivate key cards magnetic strip, which may have happened however we will have all the hardware checked in the lifts to ensure they are working correctly. As for the delay in bell services, we agree this is not acceptable and your comments have been passed to the related departments to ensure we maintain our responsive service standards. Your comments regarding the room features that would have made your stay more accommodating and comfortable are also well received. We are actually replacing all the bedside clocks in January that will ensure easier visability of the time. Lastly, for your next visit, we would be delighted to place a powerboard on the bedside table set up for your convenience upon request. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the not very distant future for a much more overall fulfilling stay in every way. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by local friends Westin Melbourne didn't disappoint. Large room, heavenly bed, enormous bathroom with huge bathtub and large walk in shower. Elemis toiletries - all lovely. Ticks all the boxes I expect from Westin. Top marks for location, walking distance to CBD and most tourist attractions.

What really annoyed me was the add-on wifi charges. Free in the lobby but not in the room? So if you walk in off the street and buy a coffee you can get free wifi but pay several hundred dollars for a room and its $20 a day? Come on management, wake-up, add $20 to the room rate if you must, we would probably pay it and leave without feeling ripped off!! Better still give guests free wifi, I travel extensively and most 4-5 star hotels don't add an obvious charge. I don't buy it that not everyone wants wifi so they keep the room rate down. My parents have iPads!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to learn of your overall fulfilling experience for your visit to Melbourne. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all Melbourne has to offer and we are glad that you enjoyed our spacious and well appointed in room features such as the White Tea toiletries, Heavenly bed, bath and shower, that we are renowned for. However, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise that the in room Wi-Fi charge dampened your otherwise uplifting stay. Your comments are both well received and noted by management for further discussion. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,231 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,495 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,972 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#7 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions.SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing