We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top hotel in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #17 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top hotel in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fantastic location in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by lots of shoppings and restaurants. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room is spacious and comfortable. Their heavenly bed is one of the best mattress i ever slept on. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_CJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to learn of your overall fulfilling experience on your recent visit to Melbourne. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all Melbourne has to offer and we are glad that you enjoyed our spacious and well appointed in room features that we are renowned for. You can actually ‘take a piece of heaven home’ as you can purchase our signature heavenly bed and linen directly through our Hotel (Heavenly Linen currently available at 25% off – until 31/12). We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    490
    127
    51
    31
See reviews for
240
795
131
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tumut, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I have an annual weekend in Melbourne without the kids to shop and chill. We decided this year to stay at The Westin as I have previously stayed in their Sydney motel and loved it.
The hotel is in one of the best locations in Melbourne, close to everything so when you fill your arms with bags you can easily call past and drop them off to head out again! Our check in was quick and efficient as was the business of dropping the car off. All staff were very friendly and new what they were doing. We were upgraded on arrival but I think the room was pretty much on par with what we had already booked from what I could gather. The rooms are nice and big as are the bathrooms. Its the bed that is exceptional, soooo comfy. We had a great view of the city which was lovely to see especially at night with all the city Xmas lights.
The only negative was the slowness of the staff in the lounge area. We had shopped all day and were quite thirsty as it was hot and we had to wait forever to be served for a drink. After one drink we decided to head out because we got sick of waiting for another. We were sitting on the balcony so they may have forgotten we were there. Other then that the hotel was pretty faultless and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review, your feedback is important us. We are pleased you both enjoyed your “mini moon” and shopping spree as we are in the perfect location to do anything and everything. However, we are disappointed to learn the less than efficient service you encountered in our Lobby Lounge. Your feedback is well noted and we will definitely pass on your comments to the team so they may readdress coverage with the team on the balcony area. During your next visit, may we mention, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We booked two nights at this hotel for our wedding weekend. The room was lovely, the staff by and large were fantastic. In particular, the GM Debra Watt, was brilliant and should be an inspiration to all hotel managers. Unfortunately the hotel was let down by terrible night service in room dining... which after a wedding is an important feature for a hungry groom. I ordered a sandwich off the menu that cost $28, took over an hour to get to me because the completely wrong thing came the first time, when it arrived, it was dry, the turkey was leathery and it was quite possibly the worst room service experience I have had. When checking out, I explained this to the girl on the front desk, who merely apologised and said she would pass on the feedback to to the cook. No offer to refund my $28. I did not catch her name, but I remember her badge informed me that she likes rock climbing... perhaps she is better at that than customer service. This unfortunate event had to lower my rating on service from what should have been a 5 plus down to a 3 overall despite the shining example of the manager.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear reviewer. Firstly, we would like to thank you for your comments as your feedback is very important to us. We congratulate you on your marriage together and wish you a lifetime of happiness. We do apologise for the less than satisfactory in room dining experience and we have refunded your account. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to The Westin Melbourne for perhaps your first year anniversary. Please do email the GM as she would be delighted to assist with your reservation. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Once again we had an amazing weekend at the Westin. Everything from valet parking, fast and friendly check in, beautiful room with balcony opening out to view of the church, swimming in the pool, working out in the gym and a delicious breakfast, was truly a five star experience. Thank you again I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echidna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for posting such uplifting comments regarding your recent stay with us, it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have such a satisfying stay in every way. We are delighted you enjoyed our instinctive and personalised service which we are so well known for and you experienced all the hotel has to offer, including the recently upgraded Lifefitness equipment in the WestinWorkout studio (open 24hrs). A personal favorite of our guests is the beautifully designed lap pool in our WestinWELLNESS centre. Even if a guest does not go for a swim, it certainly is something to view from a design aspect. Our Deluxe rooms on Flinders lane featuring a Juliet balcony are quite popular that many guests for the commanding views of St Paul’s Cathedral next door. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not distant future for another refreshing stay. Be well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin on Collins Street for 3 nights, and it was in the middle of a busy Christmas shopping week. Coincidentally there was a conference happening at the hotel at the same time but that didn't affect our stay.

The Westin was truly a mixture of comfort and luxury. The rooms were adequately sized, great bathroom, hotel facilities were phenomenal (definitely recommend the pool and the spa!), and the gym equipped with high quality (LifeFitness) exercise machines.

I do however think that the buffet breakfast needed a bit more variety, but the quality was superb.

I however was quite disappointed with the porter/bell boy service (one in particular). We had stepped out of the hotel hoping to get a cab and the porter hollered to us and said the taxi service is only for guests at the hotel with a tone that implied we weren't. I politely said that we are guests and he didn't apologize and instead went on to complain about there's a shortage of taxis that day, and that it's been driving him mad. A polite "are you guests at this hotel" to begin with would've been much nicer and wouldn't have made us feel terrible all throughout the taxi ride.

Ah well, people have bad days I guess but porters are the people at the front line, a bit more courtesy would've made our stay perfect.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Egwene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to learn you enjoyed our luxurious and well appointed rooms, the newly upgraded WestinWORKOUT equipment, the beautifully designed lap pool and spa, and the quality of food offered at the buffet breakfast in our signature restaurant, Allegro. Rest assured we will pass on your comments regarding a better range of breakfast items. Finally, we are disappointed to learn of the less than satisfactory experience you encountered with one of our associates. This is certainly not the type of service we strive to offer our guests and we would like to take this opportunity to apologise. The limited taxi’s in Melbourne are a sense of frustration for our associates and for our guests as well. We will definitely share your review with our team and guide them to be aware with guest interactions. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne for an overall uplifting stay in every way. Until then, be well.

NB. May we just take this opportunity to mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is located excellently; it is central to all the shopping areas and has lots of eateries around it. The staff were extremely dedicated and were all very professional, efficient and friendly.

I loved the smiles that I received when I arrived, and the quick room service delivery timing. The room itself was pleasant, comfortable, and had a great selection of TV channels to watch. When I was bored, I took a stroll and quickly realized how close I was to some of the nicest shopping areas in Melbourne.

I would not choose any other hotel besides this one in Melbourne! Greatly recommended for all.

4/5 only because of quite a steep price.

Room Tip: City hotel, so no one particular room has a better view than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchew11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for posting such uplifting comments regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an overall fulfilling stay in every way. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our hotel’s unbeatable location, spacious and well appointed room features and our outstanding service that The Westin Melbourne is renowned for. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary. Also, download the SPG app for your mobile device to stay updated on all the latest deals at our hotel and over 1100 other beautiful Starwood properties in the most sought after locations around the world. We look forward to the pleasure to welcome you back during your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights ( A$385/N ) for a 75SqM room , very well furnished and appealing and for a CBD hotel very spacious . Free WiFi in the foyer ,and were given great service by front office staff when my phone was lost in taxi . Unfortunately phone not returned .
We encountered only the one issue , and that was the vanity power point was faulty and reported on our first day , but , alas was not attended to whilst we were out . Next morning we had to remind hotel of the fault and had engineering attempt repair during our time in room as the outlet was required . Disappointing service by staff and the only other issue that was in anyway a negative reflection of our time in the Westin , was that room doors slam closed creating audible noise all night , maybe these door closers could be tuned a little better .?.

Room Tip: Any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climax46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at The Westin Melbourne. We are pleased that you noticed our large rooms which we are so well known for. Your constructive comment regarding the guest room doors is also much appreciated and has been well noted. However, we are disappointed to learn of the less than satisfactory experiences you encountered regarding the power point in your room and we regret we were not able to solve the problem in an effective and timely manner. This is not indicative of the level of service standards to which we strive to offer our guests at our hotel, and we will certainly share your feedback with our team to ensure we maintain our high service standards . We hope you will be back again in the near future for a much more renewing stay in every way. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,940 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions.SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing