We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class for business travellers who like to stay fit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top class for business travellers who like to stay fit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Westin is located very close to the best shopping and some excellent local restaurants within a short walk. For business travellers who like to stay fit, the gym and pool are excellent, and even the room service menu has a number of choices to suit all kinds of nutritional plans such as fantastic fresh squeezed juices, smoothies and healthy options.

The Westin workout option means that for 5 dollars you can hire joggers, top and shorts with new socks for you to keep for as long as you stay. This means you dont have to carry your workout gear around, and have more suitcase room. There are rooms with gym equipment in the room - which I haven't tried as yet because the gym is rarely crowded.

I stay here frequently, the service is unfailingly prompt and courteous. Rooms and bathrooms are large and luxurious and the bed is heavenly. The hotel is very quiet inside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zizzle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for posting such uplifting and detailed comments regarding your recent stay. Westin’s New Balance Gear Lending Program certainly makes it easier for our guests to keep up their exercise routine while travelling and we are pleased you would recommend our super foods menu which highlights our hotel’s ongoing commitment to personal renewal and wellbeing. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    490
    127
    51
    31
See reviews for
240
795
131
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

A very good hotel for business trips situated right in the heart of Melbourne. Its the first Westin Hotel I've ever stayed in, but I think it lived up to what I had expected from the Westin brand name. Very swish elegant reception and lobby. The staff were a bit on the formal side but freindly enough. It has a nice gymn with a good selection of equipment. An indoor swimming pool with hot tub and a sauna and steam room. The room was a bit on the small side but the bed was very comfortable. There's quite a good view of the city from the restaurant on the first floor. The wi-fi service was patchy and is not free. You need the room card key to operate the lifts and the card reader in the lifts might of had a problem cos I always had a lot of trouble with one particular lift not recognising my card.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for staying with the Westin Brand. We have to mention that we are very proud to be working in such a beautiful hotel and you never tire from viewing the lobby and the magnificent staircase. In regards to our WestinWORKOUT facility, we have actually recently replaced all our Life Fitness equipment as it is a popular for our guests to be able to work out any time of the day and or night. We regret you had an issue with our Wi-Fi service as significant capital has been invested to ensure a fast and efficient WI-FI connection. Ideally it would be great to know your room number so we may follow up immediately as we do understand there is nothing worse than having an insufficient connection. We also apologise for frustration experienced regarding the lift card readers. This system although high tech, is very sensitive. We have viewed all the key lift inserts and found one to be faulty so this was replaced. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night, could have stay for longer but not impress with hotel. The check-in was just standard no love there. The staff was professional but not friendly or anything.

I booked the room directly with SPG site and there is 1.5% surcharge on the credit card transaction. Unfortunately that is the only method of payment this hotel accepted with online booking. (so why don't they add 1.5% in the room price to avoid any confusion) I would love to pay by paypal, EFT to avoid the 1.5% surcharge but that option is not available.

We got the room upgrade, which is great as it's sunday night. Although I can’t imagine what is the standard room would be like.

The room is rather small, However, great view and great location. Nice little balcony We called up for sewing kit and tooth brushes. As it's not provided in the room. Comfy bed, nice sheet and towels. But apart from that it's just a simple room. I thought the design could be a bit better, especially the room layout. We looked at the room service menu but there is $8 delivery fee if you order the room (example, coffee/tea $7.5 you have to pay $7.5+$8 for the delivery surcharge) I thought that is such a biggest rip off. Stayed at more than 100 hotels around the world. This is the first time I come across this surcharge.

Check in: 3pm Check out: 11am ... again, seem like this hotel do everything to benefit themselves not their guests.

Since there is nothing good to say, I really hope that the “superfood” breakfast will be amazing to claim the westin reputation back (impress me please!) Unfortunately, the staff again rather cold, The food is like a good 3 stars hotel. About 6 hot food items in Bain marine, which placed very high on the bench that I can't really grab the food, some item I have to jump up and down to see what it is. (I am not tall, just an average 1.6ish women, also saw other women on their tippy toes try to get food) There is not much going on for the breakfast, if your room not incl. breakfast it’s not worth paying $40 p.p. there is a fresh fruit platter, sliced square bread, you can order egg cook how to like it. Small cold cut platter. Few fruits juices. As far as buffet breakfast go… this is one of the worst breakfast I come across from SPG hotels. (oh the coffee is good though)

Room Tip: higher floor and room with balcony, facing the church the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piya-namwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear SPG Member. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our unsurpassed location in the Melbourne city and our signature room features such as the Heavenly Bed, bath amenities, and the Juliet balcony for fresh air and inspiring views. However, it appears simply there was not much else that you enjoyed and for this we apologise. To avoid the 1.5% credit card surcharge that is printed on every confirmation, you have the options to contact our reservation office to pay cash or Eftpos upon your arrival. For a requested earlier check in time, simply let us know prior to arrival so we can do all we can to assist however, it does depend on the room type you may have booked. We also noted your constructive comment regarding the room service delivery fee and our breakfast selections and service. We regret we were unable to address these concerns for you prior to your departure. If you wish please contact the Hotel Front Office Manager for a further conversation on these matters. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for a much more overall uplifting stay in every way. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights during a recent work trip to Melbourne.
Pros:
- location: bang in the middle of everything, tram station is right outside, loads of shopping and eating options.
- room: we had a Westin workout room. Spacious and well appointed
- Service: staff were very friendly and helped us book a day tour to Phillip island with almost no notice!


Highly recommend the Westin Melbourne.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank frugaltravelerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post such positive review- it’s always so pleasing to learn when guests enjoyed everything about our hotel and our location really is the best for everything you want to see and do whilst in Melbourne. We thank your comments regarding our personalised and instinctive service from our concierge department as they are simply magicians when it comes to booking tours, securing tickets and or booking fabulous popular restaurants at very short notice . We will make sure your comments are passed on. Thank you for recommending our hotel to others and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed three nights as I was facilitating a conference at the hotel on the Wednesday. Room was good, bed incredibly comfortable, only the cleaning lacked. I pointed this out on the Tuesday to reception, a statement taken as fact but no apology or further comment, however, evidently the message went no-where. By the time I returned to the room there were still several places where you could write your name in the dust. Drinks coasters in the bath room were clearly days old and had a hair on them.
Once complaining I did get someone to clean, someone to check that the person had cleaned and then a couple of bottles of beer as an apology,
The bar was great for drinks but it would be nice to be left alone and free from staff continually trying to promote more drinks. Room Internet, where you need it to work was extra, although free in the lobby. In fact everything seemed to be an extra.
It is expensive and on reflection I'm not sure the location justifies the cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay, your feedback is very important to us . We are pleased you noticed our comfortable and well appointed rooms which we are renowned for, including the signature Westin Heavenly Bed. However, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the less than satisfactory experiences you encountered at The Westin Melbourne, particularly in regards to the cleanliness of your room, the internet connection and the service encountered in the Martini Bar. We work hard to ensure we deliver high standards of service that we are renowned for so we will certainly be investigating these matters further. We regret we were unable to address these concerns for you prior to your departure and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for a much more overall uplifting stay in every way. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel 6 years ago and went back but it has downgraded a bit. Staff not so friendly except for the doorman. Problem with the aircon in the room. Had to ask for bigger towels twice as we were 2 people and housekeeping kept on putting just 1 towel. Breakfast is bad value for money. You would expect fresh fruit in your bircher muesli at that price! Staff quite slow and no smiles. We went to the grand hyatt for lunch, far better!
Rooms are big and the beds are wonderfull. Location is perfect.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Else T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay, your feedback is very important to us . We are delighted you appreciated our unbeatable location and our larger and well appointed rooms which we are renowned for. However, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the less than satisfactory experiences you encountered at The Westin Melbourne, particularly in regards to the service you encountered and the breakfast offering. This is certainly not the type of service standards we uphold at our hotel and we will be investigating these matters further, in order to understand what went wrong. In regards to breakfast we have a new Executive Chef and he is reviewing our menu. We regret we were unable to address these concerns for you prior to your departure and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for a much more overall uplifting stay in every way. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights; spacious room and bathroom; luxurious pillow top bed, extremely helpful, friendly staff; delicious meals especially the omelettes at breakfast made to your selection and cooked to perfection!
A fantastic venue for National Conference to show case the best of Melbourne : in a great location! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grasshopper2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post such refreshing comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel’s brilliant location, instinctive service and the spacious and well appointed room features as such our signature Westin Heavenly Bed. It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests have such an overall uplifting stay. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the not very distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,250 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,938 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions.SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing