We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the Westin. What else is there to say.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's the Westin. What else is there to say.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stay here every time I'm in Melbourne - It's beautiful. The location is perfect and the rooms are spacious.

Apparently they are going to refurbish... god only knows why as it is timeless as it is.

Do yourself a favour and take a short stroll to Chin Chin. The best food ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear reviewer and valued guest. Thank you for your uplifting comments regarding your last visit to our hotel. We are delighted you made the most of our hotel’s brilliant location and spacious and well appointed in room features. We are very close to the final draft from the design team for our refurbishment. We chose the hotel’s original designer so we may “continue our story” as our lobby is so beautiful and iconic . As we work to complete it late this year and early in 2014, we look forward to your return. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    497
    128
    51
    31
See reviews for
243
805
132
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It has been more than 15 years since we have stayed at the Westin, Melbourne having decided to work our way through other 5-star Melbourne hotels instead. An evening function called us to the central part of the city and the convenient location was the main drawcard. Valet parking was easy, check-in was a breeze and a sparkling wine in the lobby lounge relaxed us enough to truly enjoy the function we attended. As many others have mentioned, the rooms are large, spotlessly clean and equipped with first class linen, furniture and accoutrements. Breakfast was relaxing and enjoyable, although the serving area was a little cramped. Overall, the Westin is an exceptional hotel, convenient and first class - truly a great stay in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us in every way. Our commanding central Melbourne address does place our guests amongst the very best that Melbourne city has on offer. Our rooms are certainly known for their size and it is with these signature Westin features and service standards that we are able to offer our guests a revitalizing stay. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My stay at the Westin was short, just overnight in order to attend business meetings. As I did not spend much time at the hotel I cannot provide comment on the general amenities, or value given I was not paying myself! (always a bonus).

Having said that, the check in and check out processes were excellent and all of the staff I came in contact with were helpful. I had left my overnight bag with reception when checking in before the room was ready and was told it would be in my room when I returned. It wasn't but was brought up within a few minutes of me letting them know.

The rooms are huge. There is an amazingly comfortable bed and chair and office furniture and still the room did not feel crowded at all. The bathroom was larger than most entire hotel rooms I have stayed in, extremely well appointed with a double vanity, bath separate from the shower (where I spent some time deciding which shower head to use - rainforest or usual). I was on a lower floor so there was no view, but for my purposes that did not matter.

Location is great. Smack bang in the theatre area, a very short walk from the Bourke Street shopping Mall and Flinders St Station, and nearby to many cafe's and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you made the most of our unbeatable location and that you recognized the instinctive level of service that we strive to uphold at our hotel. The world class in room features such as the Westins signature Heavenly Bed, bath and shower, provide our guests with such a revitalizing stay. Next time you stay with us perhaps try the onsite facilities such as the 24hr Westin Workout gym and or unwind at the end of a busy day in our lap pool, steam room and sauna. Westin now offers a unique Gear Lending program, providing guests with the opportunity to hire our New Balance work out clothing and running shoes in your size for a small fee of $5. Finally, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my first stay at the Westin in Melbourne. Based on this stay, it's a slightly below average 5 star hotel (which makes it very good on an absolute comparison). Good sized room, comfortably appointed and quiet. All you need for an overnight business trip. Long corridors, though, and some rooms such as the one I had are a long walk from the lift. And I looked out onto nothing in particular, just the entry passage which Kevin Rudd's entourage made quite noisy first thing in the morning. Many other rooms would look out onto City Square and have much better views, but might be a little noisier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We thank you fot taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. May we mention that there are two sets of guest lifts, the north and south end lifts, and we apologize you were not informed. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here with my Melbourne University student daughter for 3 nights. She checked in for us after class, the room was absolutely perfect with 2 very comfortable queen beds, a huge bathroom and plenty of space for suitcases, shopping and phone/ ipad chargers. King Kong was right next door, and tram-stops or city shopping only seconds away. Next time I go to visit her, we will stay here again, and will book in a spa day for us both!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your uplifting review. We are pleased to learn your stay us was so memorable. It certainly sounds like you made the most of our enviable location, amongst all the best that Melbourne city has to offer. We are well known for our large and well appointed rooms and our signature Heavenly Bed provides a comfortable and revitalizing night’s sleep. The bed linen can actually be purchased through the hotel and there is currently 25% off until the end of December. Prior to your next stay, please contact our concierge so we may organise the in room massage for you and your daughter. If you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We don't normally spend as much on accommodation as we did for this hotel but it was worth it. I had notified the Westin that we were in town for my husband's 50th and they upgraded our room and when we got to the room there was a plate with chocolates on it and happy birthday piped on it in chocolate. Nice touch. Started the weekend off on a fantastic note. Can't say enough about the location and service. The beds and shower definitely lived up to the hype. I doubt we will ever stay anywhere else in Melbourne again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMG082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear reviewer. We are thrilled that you and your husband chose to stay with us for such a special occasion. Thank you for taking the time to share your refreshing comments. We are delighted you appreciated our personable and instinctive service and that you enjoyed the signature in room features that we are so well known for. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the not too distant future for another special celebration. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Exceptionally well-appointed rooms with grand bathrooms, but the icing on the cake was the central location. Easy to meet guests in the lobby and go from here; lots happening in the area and easy walking distance to attractions, events and dining. Service was fantastic!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first guest floor have balconies overlooking the square - highly recommended!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarllaKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are delighted the family enjoyed the unbeatable central location, the stunning city views, the signature room features and our impeccable service. The deluxe rooms with a Juliet balcony are always very popular and are located on 3 sides of the Hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,347 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,047 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing