We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unbeatable location, beautiful room, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #11 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location, beautiful room, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

As a regular visitor to Melbourne, this was the second stay at The Westin (9 nights) and was the most comfortable, luxurious stay my partner and I have enjoyed. Staff service has improved significantly since our last stay at The Westin (2011). Nothing was too much trouble, from assistance with arrangement prior to arrival to small requests, staff were professional and friendly across the board, particularly the young lady who checked us in (and out) and a doorman who went to the trouble of recommending a yoga studio when I briefly mentioned that I was trying to find one nearby.

We were fortunate enough to have the spa room that we had booked upgraded to a corner room overlooking Collins St. It was such a nice touch and the view of a bustling city every evening from our floor to ceiling windows only added to the comfort of the room which was very quiet even though it was street facing. I need not go into detail about the heavenly bed, it was perfect. The room was spacious and included modern furnishings in good condition. The bathroom was exceptional with dual sinks, the amazing Westin white tea bath products (my partner is devastated that we cannot purchase these in Australia), a large, clean spa bath, dual rain shower/shower head and a modern, clean and elegant decor. The extra towels that were included in the room and spa suite products were a nice touch and levelled the hotel with 5* European hotels in this regard.

House keeping was excellent in general with the exception of the bathroom vanity and forgetting to restock a couple of items however this is pointing our minor details that did not affect the overall stay.

The hotel gym is well equipped in my opinion with a good range of equipment and well stocked supplies. Used several days and always clean and stocked.

The Lobby Lounge is a comfortable space to relax in. Staff were again excellent and attentive.

The only area that was disappointing was food quality. Did not have breakfast in the hotel restaurant, however in room breakfast (once) was inconsistent - good cold menu (fruit was fresh and ripe, bircher muesli delicious), eggs and meats average and cereal close to use by date and a little stale. Coffee average but fresh squeezed juice and smoothie perfect. Late night room service (twice) also inconsistent - not terrible but probably not to the standard of the consistently excellent Park Hyatt room service.

That said, the location is so fantastic that in-room dining is a last resort when it is too cold/too lazy to venture outside. Super restaurant location with Mamasita, Chin Chin, Bistro Vue, The Hardware Societe, Crown restaurants etc etc etc within easy walking distance.

We have agreed that we have found our Melbourne home away from home and will certainly be booking The Westin for our next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tahn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    472
    121
    48
    28
See reviews for
229
757
130
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We returned again to Melbourne and decided to stay at the Westin again. Once again, we walked into the foyer and greeted with friendly and professional staff. We had the City View room this time (with a balcony). We were really impressed with our beautiful room and it's layout but most of all the comfy bed and no street or tram noise. We chose to eat at the Allegro restaurant in the hotel as we had tickets to see King Kong at the Regent Theatre next door. The food was just spectacular and the staff were just so friendly and helpful and made us feel so welcome. We will be staying here again next time we come down to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such delightful feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our personal service, luxurious facilities and distinctive venues. We will also pass your inspiring comments regarding the Allegro service and to our Chefs. Our "Platter dining" is always a favourite before going to the theatre and perhaps on your next visit, you could return for our Lobby Lounge High Tea experience. We sincerely value your loyalty and look forward to continuing to be your hotel of choice in Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

From the minute we arrived at the door the doormen where there to take our bags which may I add had arrived in our room before we did. Fantastic service, beautiful rooms and huge bathroom. I was staying here on business and would definitely recommend without a doubt. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your special comments. Your inspiring feedback is certainly appreciated. We look forward to continuing to surprise and delight you with our personal service and facilities for business travelers. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is nice, the location is perfect, but there are some things that must be considered in a five star hotel.

Breakfast is too expensive and it does not value what you get. The coffee was always cold. That is not acceptable! We had to ask for HOT COFFEE to get it.
Everyday you have the same things. If you stay for a week you are gonna see the same fruits, type of meat and sweets than the other days.

Internet is not fee!!! How can that be possible in a hotel where you are paying a fortune for a room? Oh yes, it is free in the lobby, but not in the rooms, and they charge you 100 USD for 5 days of free wifi. I hired it, because I didn't want to go to the lobby every time I needed to send an email. And the service was awful. The signal was really poor. I couldn't even have a skype conversation.

In these communications days, having a bad internet service (or even worst, a lack of it) is unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeniaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your detailed comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location and luxurious facilities. We sincerely regret any inconveniences you experienced with our in room internet connection and welcome you to discuss these with us at the time of your stay so we may have the opportunity to remedy your concerns. We have also noted your feedback regarding breakfast variety and beverage. We hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future so we may have the opportunity to provide a more fulfilling experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Westin for 4 nights. Our room was lovely with a really comfy bed and spacious bathroom. The view was great; we could see a tiny bit of Flinders Station, St Paul's Cathedral and the busy street below us.
The location was amazing. It was walking distance from everything so we got lots of exercise in too.
We had a bit of a muddle up with a booking the Conceirge made but they waived the cost of our beverages and snacks one night at the hotel bar to compensate.
I loved reading all the staff members badges. They each say something they are passionate about!
All in all it was a great stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmeralda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel for your recent trip to Melbourne. We are delighted you enjoyed our Heavenly Bed, luxurious room facilities and uplifting views. Our central location is certainly perfect for shopping in addition to Melbourne’s theatres and restaurants. We are pleased to be able to resolve your Concierge booking issue efficiently. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Melbourne again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here recently for a surprise weekend getaway and was not disappointed! We have stayed in most of the 5 star properties in Melbourne CBD and this one would have to be up there with the best!
The room was incredibly spacious and well planned out - nice little sitting area over in the corner of the room with a small (but cute!) balcony looking out onto the street. Nice big TV, super comfy King sized bed, plenty of cupboard space for hanging up clothes, etc. and the bathroom was also enormous and well presented. It had a really classic feel to the room with a touch of opulence (without going overboard).
The service was exceptional everywhere we went in the hotel - reception were always more than happy to assist with anything, valet/concierge staff were always happy to have a chat as they opened the door for you, offering assistance with suggestions nearby for restaurants and so forth.
Really couldn't fault anything with this hotel at all and would definitely recommend without hesitation. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristyw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Have stayed many times at the Westin but this was our visit in a while. Great service from the moment we arrive at the front door. Valet parking good, check-in excellent all done proficiently and without any fuss. Lovely king sized room, no view but so quiet for a city hotel that the view doesn't matter. Every amenity is first class, very comfortable bed and great choice of pillows. Large bathroom. The lobby bar lacks atmosphere as it spread over a large area. Service time for drinks was very long. Good nights sleep followed by a sumptuous buffet breakfast. Really rate this hotel for service, comfort and location. Will stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 622 no view but so quiet for an inner city hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pommiegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your loyalty and we are delighted you recognize our personal service and unsurpassed location. You will be pleased to know we are currently developing plans to refresh some of our public spaces and our signature restaurant, Allegro. We look forward to providing another warm Westin welcome for your future visits to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,977 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions.SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing