We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martini Bar. Best Martini. Quiet Bar. Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #16 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Martini Bar. Best Martini. Quiet Bar. Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Martini Bar was absolutely aweseome. Had the best martini, drinks arrived right on time without having to wait too long. Service was great, friendly and attentive. Ambiance was more awesome. Quiet, even when the bar was 60% full. Staff was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    504
    128
    53
    32
See reviews for
249
813
132
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Travelled to Melbourne to watch the Wallabies play the Lions& stayed at the Westin for two nights. Service, food, location & room were all excellent. Have stayed at the Westin previously & definitely would not stay anywhere else. Compliments to the management team who run such a fine 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank activetraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Both my wife and I spent 3 days in Melbourne and could not believe how lovely the Westin is. The rooms are large with a very well equipped bathroom. I have stayed in many accommodation places and thought the bathrooms were the biggest I have ever stayed in. The service from the ground staff was great and they always had a smile. The guy who checked us out was moody, more interested in his looks and forgot to ask if we enjoyed our stay.oh well would still come back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Westin Melbourne is the only hotel to bother with in Melbourne. It is centrally located and the rooms are spacious and luxurious. Located in Collins Street, it is a short walk to boutiques, department stores, Federation Sqaure, Southgate and the Art Gallery.

The rooms and studios are lovely with large plate glass windows. The king sized beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. The bathrooms are lovely too.

The main restaurant is very good for breakfast with a real variety on offer. The bar downstairs with the open fire has a great ambiance and a great wine list. Next door is the Martini Bar which is fun.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and the guys on the front door are the most helpful in the country. They remember the regular guests and little touches like that are very welcoming for a regular visitor. I chaned from the Hyatt on Collins years ago and have been loyal to the Westin ever since.

I stay there every Melbourne Cup and the place is fantastic.

Room Tip: Try a studio because there is natural light in the bathrooms which is lacking in the other rooms. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liberty037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A package was set to us at this hotel, but the person who sent it did not write down the hotel name. The address of the hotel is the same address as the office building next to the hotel. We thought the package was lost. We left a forwarding address, but did not expect it to show up. But a few weeks later the hotel sent us our package, to our address in Thailand.

No additional charge!

That's really good service!!!

Room Tip: If you want a lot of room, we stayed in with exercise equipment, near the gym. Room was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The first time we have stayed at the Westin as we usually choose the Hyatt or the Langham. The location was great and our accommodation package was nicely priced. I was disappointed on arrival that our bags weren't automatically collected from us. On check-in the only information provided to us was the location of the lifts. In the morning we followed others to locate breakfast and it was not made clear what our breakfast package included. The rooms are a very good size, the beds very comfortable and wonderfully appointed bathrooms. We didn't have time to use other hotel facilities but pool, gym and spa area looked appealing. Due to its location we will stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you chose The Westin Melbourne and you enjoyed a fulfilling experience with our central location and luxurious room. We strive to provide personal, instinctive service so we regret if you were not adequately informed with details of your stay during check-in. For any future stays, please be advised any request or enquiry can be made thru Service Express anytime during your stay. We hope to welcome you back for a more refreshing experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I recently had a stay at the Westin Melbourne and must say that overall, the experience was very disappointing and below the usual Westin standard. The biggest problem with this hotel is the price: the quality of the experience simply doesn’t justify the premium the hotel charges and I felt that at every turn there was an attempt to gouge guests for more of their money.

Pros:
• The location is excellent. Located on the corner of Swanston Street and Collins, there are myriad public transport options and Southbank is a brief 10 minute walk away.
• Room was clean and well maintained.
• The bathroom design is spacious and the shower is spacious.
• The pool and jacuzzi area is very pleasant and generally fairly quiet.

Cons
• The gym is atrocious and probably the worst of any Westin I have stayed at. The equipment is old and dilapidated with very few machines. For example, there is only one cross trainer!
• Steam room seems quite poorly maintained and smelly.
• The room design is quite old fashioned and tired. Most of the furniture is chipped or damaged.
• Lots of amenities in the room are missing. There are no slippers, for example.
• Service throughout the hotel is very inconsistent and quite unfriendly. The staff at the lobby bar are slow and inefficient, the front desk staff generally quite unhelpful and a few times when I called for service, no one answered the first couple of calls. The doorman was excellent, but he seemed like the only bright spark of the entire staff complement.
• I went for High Tea. The hotel makes a huge fuss about how good it is and how bookings are essential. There were very few of us there and the quality of the food was nothing special at all. Certainly not recommended.
• Breakfast on weekdays is very busy and disorganized. The quality of food at the breakfast restaurant is especially prosaic and doesn’t come close to matching the standard of most Asian hotels. I waited at least 5 minutes before anyone noticed I had arrived and needed to be seated. It’s also very expensive—even by Australian hotel standards. If memory serves me, it was more than $40 for the buffet and it wasn’t memorable by any stretch.
• The room service menu is terrible and there is an extremely unreasonable $6 tray delivery charge on top of the already exorbitant meal costs. The Hyatt, by comparison, doesn’t charge such a fee.
• I went to the Martini bar one evening. Eventually gave up trying to get a drink as there was no service. The independent bars below the Westin are much better
• The internet connectivity in the hotel seems to be rather unreliable and not very well suited for Apple devices. I’m not sure whether this is common, but I found connecting to be a troublesome. On the positive, as an SPG Gold, it was included free of charge for me.
• There’s a lot of room noise in the evenings from trams passing by which can make getting a good night of sleep quite difficult

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LingMeiWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our close proximity to all that Melbourne has to offer, our spacious guest rooms and Wellness Centre. As one of Melbourne’s leading five star hotels, we strive to ensure guests have a valuable experience so it was disappointing to read your stay was not a completely fulfilling one. We will certainly review our procedures in Food & Beverage venues to ensure our usual high standards are maintained in these areas. As for High Tea, all of our ingredients are prepared freshly and made to order thus we require 24 hours advance booking. We have shared your comments about internet connectivity with IT department to investigate further. In regards to room amenities, we would like to assure you, any request can be obtained by contacting our dedicated Service Express team anytime during your stay. Regarding noise levels in the hotel, we do our best to ensure a relaxing stay for our guests in our central city location and all of our guest rooms have double-glazed windows. May we mention we are currently developing plans to refresh some of our public spaces including the Westin WORKOUT and our signature restaurant, Allegro which will ensure long-term viability of the hotel. For your next visit, we can certainly provide a more peaceful guest room alternative on request if you wish to contact our in house reservations prior to your arrival. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,553 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,680 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,066 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing