We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A package was set to us at this hotel, but the person who sent it did not write down the hotel name. The address of the hotel is the same address as the office building next to the hotel. We thought the package was lost. We left a forwarding address, but did not expect it to show up. But a few weeks later the hotel sent us our package, to our address in Thailand.

No additional charge!

That's really good service!!!

Room Tip: If you want a lot of room, we stayed in with exercise equipment, near the gym. Room was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

The first time we have stayed at the Westin as we usually choose the Hyatt or the Langham. The location was great and our accommodation package was nicely priced. I was disappointed on arrival that our bags weren't automatically collected from us. On check-in the only information provided to us was the location of the lifts. In the morning we followed others to locate breakfast and it was not made clear what our breakfast package included. The rooms are a very good size, the beds very comfortable and wonderfully appointed bathrooms. We didn't have time to use other hotel facilities but pool, gym and spa area looked appealing. Due to its location we will stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you chose The Westin Melbourne and you enjoyed a fulfilling experience with our central location and luxurious room. We strive to provide personal, instinctive service so we regret if you were not adequately informed with details of your stay during check-in. For any future stays, please be advised any request or enquiry can be made thru Service Express anytime during your stay. We hope to welcome you back for a more refreshing experience. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I recently had a stay at the Westin Melbourne and must say that overall, the experience was very disappointing and below the usual Westin standard. The biggest problem with this hotel is the price: the quality of the experience simply doesn’t justify the premium the hotel charges and I felt that at every turn there was an attempt to gouge guests for more of their money.

Pros:
• The location is excellent. Located on the corner of Swanston Street and Collins, there are myriad public transport options and Southbank is a brief 10 minute walk away.
• Room was clean and well maintained.
• The bathroom design is spacious and the shower is spacious.
• The pool and jacuzzi area is very pleasant and generally fairly quiet.

Cons
• The gym is atrocious and probably the worst of any Westin I have stayed at. The equipment is old and dilapidated with very few machines. For example, there is only one cross trainer!
• Steam room seems quite poorly maintained and smelly.
• The room design is quite old fashioned and tired. Most of the furniture is chipped or damaged.
• Lots of amenities in the room are missing. There are no slippers, for example.
• Service throughout the hotel is very inconsistent and quite unfriendly. The staff at the lobby bar are slow and inefficient, the front desk staff generally quite unhelpful and a few times when I called for service, no one answered the first couple of calls. The doorman was excellent, but he seemed like the only bright spark of the entire staff complement.
• I went for High Tea. The hotel makes a huge fuss about how good it is and how bookings are essential. There were very few of us there and the quality of the food was nothing special at all. Certainly not recommended.
• Breakfast on weekdays is very busy and disorganized. The quality of food at the breakfast restaurant is especially prosaic and doesn’t come close to matching the standard of most Asian hotels. I waited at least 5 minutes before anyone noticed I had arrived and needed to be seated. It’s also very expensive—even by Australian hotel standards. If memory serves me, it was more than $40 for the buffet and it wasn’t memorable by any stretch.
• The room service menu is terrible and there is an extremely unreasonable $6 tray delivery charge on top of the already exorbitant meal costs. The Hyatt, by comparison, doesn’t charge such a fee.
• I went to the Martini bar one evening. Eventually gave up trying to get a drink as there was no service. The independent bars below the Westin are much better
• The internet connectivity in the hotel seems to be rather unreliable and not very well suited for Apple devices. I’m not sure whether this is common, but I found connecting to be a troublesome. On the positive, as an SPG Gold, it was included free of charge for me.
• There’s a lot of room noise in the evenings from trams passing by which can make getting a good night of sleep quite difficult

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LingMeiWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our close proximity to all that Melbourne has to offer, our spacious guest rooms and Wellness Centre. As one of Melbourne’s leading five star hotels, we strive to ensure guests have a valuable experience so it was disappointing to read your stay was not a completely fulfilling one. We will certainly review our procedures in Food & Beverage venues to ensure our usual high standards are maintained in these areas. As for High Tea, all of our ingredients are prepared freshly and made to order thus we require 24 hours advance booking. We have shared your comments about internet connectivity with IT department to investigate further. In regards to room amenities, we would like to assure you, any request can be obtained by contacting our dedicated Service Express team anytime during your stay. Regarding noise levels in the hotel, we do our best to ensure a relaxing stay for our guests in our central city location and all of our guest rooms have double-glazed windows. May we mention we are currently developing plans to refresh some of our public spaces including the Westin WORKOUT and our signature restaurant, Allegro which will ensure long-term viability of the hotel. For your next visit, we can certainly provide a more peaceful guest room alternative on request if you wish to contact our in house reservations prior to your arrival. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels. Elegant but not overstated or over the top. Everything done just right. You really do feel like you are coming home when you stay there. With so many hotels they put on so much dazzle it is, basically, alienating.

Check-in is friendly and efficient, rooms are bright and very clean with wonderful amenities. While the hotel floors tend to be close to ground level some of the rooms offer great views of nearby Federation Square and St Paul's Cathedral. In fact staying just above the rooftop of this beautiful church was, I thought, quite stunning.

Sound insulation seems excellent as we were never bothered by noise from the street, whether staying on level 7 or level 2.

Gym is well above average for Melbourne in terms of facilities, and the pool is lovely though the odor there was not the best (probably just a combination of chlorine and a low ceiling).

Both pool and gym are at a sub-ground level though and they do not offer water bottles or even a dispenser within the gym (though there is a water cooler just outside the gym). In short, very functional and appropriate but not spectacular or particularly inviting (though not uninviting either).

Housekeeping was excellent and cleaning was done to the highest standard, yet it was never the least intrusive.

Art and decoration very tasteful and interesting. Staff very efficient and friendly.

Location is brilliant.

Room Tip: Upgrading the room is well worth it here. There is significant differences in views between rooms bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rafwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for delightful comments. We are pleased you enjoyed a refreshing stay in the city central location and you had the opportunity to experience our tranquil Wellness Centre. Thank you also for recognizing our personal service – our associates certainly enjoy indulging our guests so they leave feeling better than when they arrived. Your comments have been passed on to Engineering to make sure the pool area is always fresh. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Westin in the not too distant future. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

There is something about the Westin that just simply works. The rooms are done in a way that makes you feel like you are somewhere special.
However, it is the staff that really make the difference. They always make sure you feel welcome and it is a great experience.

Room Tip: The tram noise can be a little annoying if you are a light sleeper, request a room that faces away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HydeBronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you experienced the personal service Westin is renowned for. If you are not already a SPG member, we encourage you to enquire on your next visit so you may enjoy a range of inspiring travel rewards and earn Starpoints when staying or dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Whilst the Westin in Melbourne is at the upper end of the price bracket, it is definitely worth the extra money. The rooms are excellent with the best bathrooms in Australia (the shower is awesome !!), the Hotel has a very good fitness centre and the restaurant is first class.

Room Tip: The upper rooms seem to get less traffic noise, although the majority of rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evansclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Reviewers. We are delighted you experienced a refreshing stay with our signature Heavenly Shower, spacious rooms and tranquil Wellness Centre. Please note, our Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program offers benefits for frequent travelers. If you are not already an SPG member, please enquire on your next stay. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went for a long weekend dining, theater and arts experience and were not disappointed. The hotel is excellent and in the perfect position for what we wanted. The rooms were great and the service was high standard. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such special feedback on your recent visit. We are pleased to provide a refreshing stay in Melbourne’s city centre and we are delighted you recognize our instinctive service and luxurious facilities. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,690 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,373 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,769 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,392 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $211 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing