We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but not memorable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not bad but not memorable!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a nice hotel however the service is only at acceptable levels and the food in the restaurant and buffet breakfast is very average. I think there are better hotels to visit in Melbourne and certainly for the cost. I stayed in a deluxe room which was nice but also fairly expensive. I would take the standard city view room if I ever visited again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beno77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. It is regrettable that your experiences with us did not meet the expectations. We would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in more detail to learn how you feel we could improve our overall services, please contact our Rooms Division Manager directly and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    491
    127
    51
    31
See reviews for
240
795
131
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for the first time over the weekend of the 23rd of March. I have to say that the stay was one of the best I’ve had in a Melbourne hotel. Check in process was smooth and easy, having left the car with the Valet. I thought the lead in emails were a nice touch also. The room was a City View King, on the 4th floor. The room itself was fairly spacious, not significantly larger nor smaller than other 5 Star hotels. The bathroom however was excellent, with ample towels and toiletries, a huge bath and a monsoon shower head. But really this place is all about the bed. What can I say about the bed? It was amazing. If you can’t sleep like a baby on one of these beds there’s something wrong with you. It was luxurious to the point where I didn’t bother getting up for the running event I’d entered the next day! Instead I opted for the buffet breakfast which was everything you’d expect in a 5 start hotel. Fresh eggs, pastries, bacon (crispy which is a far cry from the sad soggy stuff others seem to dish up) and a good selection of cold cuts, cereal and toasts.
Really a lovely stay. Perfectly located right in the middle of town. Service was great. I did leave some feedback in regards to the In Room Dining menu which lists a price, and then in fine print at the bottom mentions an $8 delivery fee. Why would I be ordering off the in room dining menu unless I wanted it delivered? I felt that was a little sneaky, however my feedback was recognised in an email from the Front of House Manager the next day so I felt that was well handled. All in all I would definitely return.

Room Tip: City View the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our Heavenly facilities and central location. We will certainly share your comments with our Front Office Team and Breakfast Chefs, who will be inspired by recognition of their instinctive service. We look forward to providing another warm Westin welcome on your next visit to the city. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

An excellent choice for cental Melbourne as close to all amenities. Had no problem with street noise in the room.

A lovely modern bright hotel with spacious public areas. Free Wifi in public areas though for a hotel part of such a big chain it would be preferable for internet in the rooms, perhaps they will roll this out sometime?

All staff we encountered from check-in staff to room service to bar staff were courteous and friendly.

Rooms are great - I reserve a special mention for the large bed which was super comfy and the room and bathroom was impeccably clean as expected.

The lounge area in the foyer is light and spacious, a great spot for cocktails.

Room Tip: Choose a room on Swanston or Collins St for city view. Rooms at the end of the corridor away from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARiviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Reviewers. We are delighted you experienced a delightful stay with our signature Heavenly bed, spacious rooms and central location amongst some of Melbourne’s finest attractions. High speed in room internet has a minimal charges starting from $5 or guest are able to utilize complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby or Business Center. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here as a getaway from the kids. I chose the Westin (a) because of its fantastic location, central to absolutely everything and (b) it looks so classy from the outside. I'd only ever been in the lobby drinks area before. We only had the cheapest standard room, but it was very, very nice. Tastefully decorated. Average size, not too small. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was the highlight, huge, with a fantastic rain type shower head, and separate bath. Check in and out was simple and the staff were friendly and efficient. I was slightly disappointed with the pool, it was below ground level and so had no natural light, and felt a bit "dungeon" like, but if you just wanted to swim laps it would be fine. I would definitely recommend the Westin as you can't get a better location in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrinad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your great feedback. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all Melbourne has to offer and we are delighted you experienced the personal and instinctive service Westin is renowned for. The Wellness Centre’s indoor heated pool is located on the underground level to cater for our guest at all times even during winter or chilly days. We look forward to providing you with instinctive service on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
364 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a lovely experience spending the long Easter weekend in the city last year at this hotel so we tried it out again this year. In fairness, I did research the rates and amenities of other hotels in Melbourne's central business district (CBD) but Westin Melbourne kept on pulling me back for many reasons: its central location; quality of service provided; amenities we liked such as the indoor pool and gym; acknowledgment of SPG status; and lastly, the fact that we were able to get a reasonable rate for 2 adults and one teen. It didn't disappoint even though we didn't avail of the room upgrade offer and the room was a bit cramped with the roll-away bed.

We had a slow leisurely walk to St. Patrick's cathedral for a solemn Easter Mass officiated by Archbishop Denis Hart, and enjoyed the glorious organ music. During the two nights we were there, we experienced what multicultural Melbourne had to offer all within walking distance from this hotel namely: early dinner at Hallah, a nice Korean restaurant near Victoria market; Japanese bento lunch at Miyako at Southgate; and dinner at Ants Bistro in Chinatown. We had breakfast at the hotel on our first morning, and at The Quarter cafe at lively Degraves street the second morning. In between these meals, we either just walked around the city and enjoyed the 'vibe' from locals and tourists, including the energy from the annual Comedy Festival held at Melbourne town hall, or enjoyed the amenities of the hotel. We did see a few comedians staying at the hotel, one looked particularly grumpy, not that we would dare approach him. All in all, a wonderful Easter break at Melbourne's CBD, a yearly family tradition that we are keen to establish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRYMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing to return to the Westin. We are delighted to provide another fulfilling experience and are pleased you enjoyed our Heavenly facilities and distinctive gourmet SuperfoodsRX breakfast in our signature restaurant Allegro. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all Melbourne has to offer. May we mention, SPG also offers 15% off food in all F&B venues and another great savings for the family (T&C’s apply). We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary - received a card and chocolates in our room. I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. The service was amazing - the little things that really make the difference - water by the bed, complementary fresh fruit in the gym/pool area, late check out, amazing breakfast with fresh fruit juices and eggs to order. The bed was truly like sleeping in a cloud - I wanted to take it home with me. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: we had a city view and it was worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echidna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you enjoyed our superior service, luxurious facilities and location surrounded by Melbourne’s finest attractions. You are also welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly® Bed range. We will also pass your inspiring comments regarding breakfast to the restaurant team and perhaps on your next visit you could return for Allegro’s unique platter dining experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was really nice to be back in Melbourne after a couple of years away.
The hotel is in the best location. We were a little disappointed with the heavenly beds, they seemed a lot softer than the last time there.
The breakfast was really good & was on till 11am weekends a big plus.
Good selection of cable channels.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the church, they have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtwmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you returned to stay with us for another refreshing stay with our distinctive signature restaurant - Allegro and fantastic location. In regards to the softness of the bed, please contact our hotel in-house reservations for your mattress preference and we will place the comments on a guest profile for all future stays. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Westin Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,260 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions.SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing