We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hidden gem for the Melbourne Cup or what the hell anytime.!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #12 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well hi everyone he is my second review I hope it helps when looking for somewhere to stay in
Melbourne !
This hotel has it all especially when your there for the Melbourne Cup as we were the service is second to none from the front desk to the door men.The rooms are great make sure you get the ones facing the street .The breakfast /brunch on Melbourne Cup day is second to none all for free of charge if you are staying at the hotel.
I would highly recommend this as a place to experience in Melbourne and yes is worth the visit.

Room Tip: High Floors facing the Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonda825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide inspiring feedback. We are pleased to provide a refreshing oasis in Melbourne’s city centre and we are delighted you enjoyed our Melbourne Cup Day Brunch. The Spring Racing Carnival is a great time to be in Melbourne.
We hope to welcome you back soon. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Gave me a lovely SPG upgrade. The location is simply excellent being near to plenty of restaurants and other amenities. Try to get a higher floor if you want to keep your curtains open. Some of the lower floors can be seen from street level. Considering this is Melbourne, the price is understandable but a bit too high for leisure purposes.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor if you want to keep your curtains open while you're in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eng_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with such special feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This would be an excellent place to stay - the second time. By then you will have finally worked out where the light switches are when you want to sleep ( hidden down the side of the bed), where a power point is to charge your phone (hidden near the floor or down the side of the bathroom cabinet), where the restaurant is for breakfast (they don't do wayfinding signage so just ask someone)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer. As one of Melbourne’s leading five star hotels, we strive to ensure guests have a valuable experience so it was disappointing to read your stay was not a completely fulfilling one. Thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are elegant and the bed truly is heavenly - one of the best beds in Australia! Bathrooms are spacious and well-appointed.

The lobby bar downstairs does a lovely afternoon tea, or evening drink.

My only criticism of my most recent day was the room service dinner. My steak sandwich was a baguette, with a piece of steak that was SO tough, half had to be left, as my teeth couldn't get through it, no matter how long I chewed for! My friend's chicken was dry and awful.

The breakfast buffet is fine, but they need a few more hot choices. Plus, they are slow to replenish food, as things are depleted.

Room Tip: Ask end of corridor, away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbourne_Female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for staying with us at the Westin. You are welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly® Bed range through our Business Centre. Thank you for your comments about the In Room Dining experience you encountered – we have forwarded your comments to our Executive Chef for further investigation.
We hope to see you again in the near future. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for a weekend break recently (but I have used the Westin Melbourne for business as well). The whole deal was first class: check-in, the room, concierge service and the location. You cant really go wrong here.

The hotel. Recently renovated, modern, clean and fresh with really large rooms. This was my second stay and the room was as large as the first time so they must all be of a decent size. I was on one of the lower floors with a balcony overlooking Collins Street. There was no issue with noise and being able to open up the doors outside was nice. The rooms were typical high quality Westin and the beads as usual are awesome. We had breakfast in the hotel one morning which was pretty straightforward 5 class hotel fare other than that we did not eat there.

The location for me at least is a winner. You are toward the lower end of Collins Street beside Flinders Lane. Perfect. If your working you can walk everywhere you need. If you are there for the weekend its a 10 minute walk to Southbank. It is a 5 minute walk to the station of your going out to Flemington and the great bars and restaurants in Flinders Lane/Little Collins etc are right on your doorstep. Mix in great shopping etc and you are good to go.

I would personally chose this everytime over staying on Southbank/Crown complex.

Great stay.

Room Tip: Get the concierge to arrnage breakfast at Cumulus restaurant....wow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments - it’s always fantastic to hear our guests enjoy themselves. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location and being near to all Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there two nights and was impressed by the size and the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. They are larger than any standard 4.5 star hotels with crisp linen, pillow and quilt cover. The wellness swimming pool is very well maintained, warm and inviting. Not to mention the location is perfect for both tourists and business people. Melbourne Central station and Federation Square is just across the street, for cake lovers the famous Brunetti cafe is right in front on the of the hotel vicinity.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezra-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer. We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location near to all Melbourne has to offer and you had a refreshing experience in our Wellness Centre. Our spacious guest rooms are also certainly amongst the largest in Melbourne. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to the hotel for even more refreshing experience. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at The Westin for a long weekend and I would definitely recommend it for a great location and of course their fabulous 'heavenly beds' which I still rate as fantastic. The room was understated and lovely, and the bathroom large with plenty of room at the large sink for putting all your toiletries, one thing that I like in a hotel. Of course, the room and bathroom were also spotless. They have blinds for blocking out all light and the hotel was exceptionally quiet, particularly given it is in the centre of Melbourne. We found it very handy to shops etc, and the staff were helpful and very friendly, particularly those at the front door. When there was a queue at the concierge desk, staff immediately came over from reception to clear the queue and assist. I would recommend the hotel as a lovely place to stay in Melbourne - the foyer is also light and airy.

My only complaint - free WiFi would be fabulous in the rooms. The foyer has it free but it is so nice when hotels provide this - it would make a nice accompaniment to their free bottles of water in the room (that was appreciated in the 30deg heat).

Room Tip: Even though we were on the third floor, we heard no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location, personal service and luxurious facilities. Guests are welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly Bed range. Apart from our lobby, we also provide complimentary wireless access in our Business Centre and Lobby Lounge. For future visits to the city, we would suggest you review the Hotel Offers page of our website, which are continually refreshed with seasonal packages. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,062 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,609 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
2,964 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $215 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing