We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #11 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Westin Melbourne for my Birthday and had a wonderful experience. It was so refreshing to find young staff who were not "too cool" to chat and they were all very helpful, especially the guys out the front of the hotel, really a pleasure to see. Our balcony room was delightful, spacious and very well appointed. If you want fresh air at night (as we both hate hotel air conditioning) it may be a little noisy but what can you expect in the heart of a city. If you love people watching you must book a balcony room. The breakfast quality was high, not your usual buffet fare and the morning staff were so helpful, and always quick to seat you and the espresso coffee was really good (which you seldom find in hotels). They even have lots of healthy options, I had an egg white omelet, it was really delicious. Good work Westin, I had almost given up on hotel but you have restored my faith (for the time being). Oh and the lobby bar serves great bubbles.

Room Tip: If you like fresh air book a balcony room but be prepared for a little city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    448
    115
    44
    27
See reviews for
211
708
123
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had two nights here early in Dec and was very impressed.
The room was very well appointed and the king bed was wonderfull.
Excellent service, valet car parking and breaky was great.
Had a short business meeting in the lobby area. Really nice place to meet. plenty of private areas, comfy chairs, good coffee, etc.
Definatly will be back next time in Melb

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Loved this hotel. Central, stylish and very well appointed. I think it is wrong to ask guests already paying $40 for breakfast to pay for a second latte. Should be included as I don't think what we both ate was really worth $80. A touch disappointing.

Room Tip: Definitely one facing either Collins St or Swanston St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel recently booking a couple of rooms for a birthday celebration.
In the days leading up, as well as at time of booking I made them aware this was a special stay for birthday occasion with their response being that they'd look after us on this special occasion.
I was not expecting anything until then.
Upon arrival there was not one mention of it. Like I said I had no expectations prior to the email, then I expected maybe just a "happy birthday". But nothing. It was somewhat disappointing as nor did the receptionist welcome me to the hotel or ask how I was. It was a transaction and it left me feeling a very cold vibe. This is a minor issue and only is it an issue because I have stayed here previously and had the most amazing service from all encountered but I felt like the standards have slipped.
I also was disappointed in the housekeeping because every day our room was serviced it seemed all they did was make the beds. Our amenitys were not topped up and there was plastic rubbish left from opening the bar of soap etc. little things that you would assume of you saw rubbish that the cleaner would throw it. We had a week long stay & it got quite frustrating that it continually happened.
Bell boys were lovely and welcoming as they were last time.
I was just slightly disappointed by quality of service received by the front desk & housekeeping.
Another disappointment was that the Martini Bar was closed. And right up until 25th jan.
This was disappointing as we were really looking forward to this aspect of the hotel and not once in the lead up to our stay were we notified of its closure, not in email correspondence or on the website. Just a let down if prior to arrival it's something you have in your plans.
As I said, I've travelled here before and had an amazing stay. But this time, not so much.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
183 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I arrived at the Westin running away from another shabby hotel in town, and as usual I felt back home. I love the Westin and this one is no exception.

The location is simply fantastic, our room was overlooking one of the main streets in the center, with a XMas fair just below us and the church on the side. The rooms are nicely appointed, spacious with nice amenities and bathroom. The only regret is that they do not have an executive floor and executive lounge, otherwise my rating for this hotel would be a 5.

I arrived without booking, as I said running away from another place, and the girl at the reception was very helpful to find me a good room at a good rate. Also we forgot a sweater in the room and they Fedex it to another hotel in Sydney where I would be arriving in some days. Very nice touch.

The location is perfect, right in the center, near Federation Square, few minutes waling anywhere from bars, cafes, shopping area and even (if you like to walk) Victoria Market.

Unfortunately another reason for not rating the place 5, is the Breakfast buffet. Nice one, but not at the level of other Westin around.

We really enjoyed the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGADOTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here on 31/12/12 and 1/12/13 for the first time. We had a westin spa studio and were blown away with the size of the room, location and amenities. We overlooked St. Pauls Cathedral on one corner and Swanton on the other side. The room was spacious and had everything that we wanted. The staff were very professional and friendly. We can't wait to stay there again, if not before then definitely on New Years Eve 2013

Room Tip: The Spa studio's are expensive but well worth the cost. Won't stay in any other room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here in a room on Level 3 in late December. This was our third stay at The Westin and we weren't disappointed.

As with our previous stays, the service was first class. At all times, all staff encounted during our stay were very professional and friendly.

Our room overlooked St Pauls Cathedral and had a juliette balcony. The room was well appointed and quiet.

Breakfast was included in our room rate - the selection catered to all tastes.

We're looking forward to our next visit to Melbourne - and of of course, our next stay at The Westin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,329 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,624 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,913 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions.SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing