We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location. Pay close attention to your bill.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #16 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Outstanding location. Pay close attention to your bill.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have been staying exclusively at Starwood properties and this may be the best Westin ever, as far as facilities are concerned. Outstanding location with beautiful lobby, rooms, decor and bathrooms. The shopping and dining options make this a perfect choice for exploring the downtown area.

The service is consistent with that found at other Westins. Concierge and bellman services were better than I expected. The one weak spot was the lobby bar. It seemed more like a commercial for Moët and Chandon Champagne than a hotel bar. It took forever for them to take my order, and they never returned for me to ask for the check.

I was quite disappointed on checkout when I noticed they added a 'voluntary' contribution to the UNICEF charity without my permission. It was for a small amount and I was too rushed on checkout to complain. But this was an unpleasant surprise to an otherwise great visit.

I went to the gym and felt the pool was average. The steam room was quite small- it seemed adequate until someone else came in- it then felt crowded. Ladies take note- the steam room and sauna are coed. But the sauna was broken.

I cannot comment on value as we stayed here for free on points.

Overall a very nice hotel. High points are the location and bathrooms. Service at times lags behind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for continuing to stay with the Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We sincerely value your loyalty and are delighted you enjoy our instinctive service, luxurious facilities and central location. Our spacious guest rooms are also certainly amongst the largest in Melbourne. Regarding the charge mentioned on your account of $1.00 for UNICEF, please accept our apology if you missed this information on the registration card and our Front Desk did not provide you with the UNICEF insert in your key wallet outlining our partnership with this charity. This donation is optional in all our Starwood properties and we do inquire with our guests on check out confirming participation from each guest. We offer our apologies as it appears this was not offered to you. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    504
    128
    53
    32
See reviews for
249
813
132
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is simply an outstanding hotel, everything is first-class. Nice, large rooms and bathrooms. Bathroom especially is gleaming marble and glass, with luxury and hi-tech touches. Very comfortable bed. Great location too, right in the heart of Melbourne, close to the famous lanes with the coffee shops, restaurants, and galleries.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idichev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such special feedback. We are pleased to provide a refreshing oasis in Melbourne’s city centre and we are delighted you recognize our unsurpassed location, luxurious facilities and signature Heavenly Bed. By the way, there are “hidden secret laneway tours” if you wish to learn the history and the tours are very informative. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 720 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I try to stay here for a few days each time I visit Melbourne, and this time it was just as excellent as every time I stay and just as reliable and great as when i first started staying here 8-9 years ago. Service was excellent, I had a fab room with a view onto the city skyline with little balcony great for a drink at dusk. The beds are still some of the best offered by any chain out there. Excellent location, and great place to explore the city or for business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing to return to the Westin. We are delighted to provide another fulfilling experience and pleased you received such special service from our associates. You are also welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly® Bed range through our Business Centre. As a loyal guest, you may be aware of our Starwood Preferred Guest program. If you are not already a member, we encourage you to enquire on your next visit so you may enjoy a range of inspiring travel rewards. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We always stay here and get well looked after. Comfy beds, good aircon, terrific food, and the driveway boys are always a standout. This time we did the meal deal in the Allegro which gave us a selection of entrees and mains for a reasonable price - well presented and surprisingly healthy. The Westin seems determined to improve my overall consumption of the so-called 'super' foods! Brekkie can be busy but the selection is impressive. I particularly enjoy their swimming pool, going to the Business Lounge for free Nespresso and sitting in the lobby bar by the fire on winter Sunday mornings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneyacademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your inspiring feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you recommending us to other travelers. We will ensure your comments are passed to all associates in our hotel with special mention to our Doorman and Food & Beverage associates. We do try to build a culture of continuous communication amongst all our departments and most of all, deliver caring service that is memorable. SPG members now receive 15% off food in our Food & Beverage venues as a new permanent benefit (T&C’s apply). We look forward to welcoming you your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Always our favourite hotel in Melbourne because of the superb location. On recent 3 day stay had a charming corner room overlooking both the square and the sandstone church nearby. The understated and yet luxurious decor is enhanced by the art that lines the corridors. The lounge is the foyer is comfortable, expansive and relaxed, a great place to meet up with friends. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout, and particularly notable were the doormen and the concierge, nothing being too much trouble. Highly recommended. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: The lower floors appeal to me because you can view the activity in the square below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GANDK715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Westin for a night after finding a good deal on Wotif - $295 for accommodation, buffet breakfast for 2 and valet parking. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the facilities lovely too. The hotel is located in a great area and is very convenient to get around.

Pros:
- Friendly staff - the bellboy helped us pick a dinner location
- Large rooms, large bathrooms
- Incredibly comfortable beds and pillows
- Great buffet breakfast
- Good valet service

Cons:
- Terrible view from our room (looked out to the driveway - absolutely no city view or view of anything nice at all really!)
- No free wifi available in the room
- Check-in from 3pm (would have liked to check-in at 2pm)
- TV had a few pixelation issues
- Shower had a bit of funk on the floor

I would definitely stay again (if I got a good deal on Wotif!) but would request a room with a better view next time.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadescool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here two nights in October 2012. Free Wi Fi in the lobby and a super business center. I booked my room on Starwood points and got a room with no view. This was diss-appointing and the rate was to high in my opinion. 16000 per night. location was very good being centrally located to Federation Square and the central terminal for the metro only one block away. Super friendly city and a lot of sites to keep you occupied. I saw few but there were plenty to be seen. This was my last town on a month long venture through Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. Melbourne has been voted one of the best cities in the world to live. The destination always has so much on in the theatres, art exhibitions, ballet, jazz and let’s not forget the fabulous shopping. By the way, there are “hidden secret laneway tours” if you wish to learn the history and the tours are very informative. One of the best ways to stay at our hotel is through our Starwood Preferred Guest Free Nights Awards program. With many events such as the Australia Grand Final, Australian Open and Spring Racing Carnival recently, our hotel is fully booked most of the time. For SPG members, accumulating your points and redeeming free nights during peak events or for family holidays is the best way to enjoy Starwood’s loyalty program as there are as there is no black out dates either. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next adventurous getaway. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,553 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,680 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,066 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing