We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the best in Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Melbourne to your Saves list
The Westin Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SEVEN DAYS, SUPER SAVINGS
Ranked #12 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Location is the best in Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in The Westin for 1 night while attending a concert in the city. Having worked in Melbourne for years, it's somewhere I've walked past many times and thought it would be a great place to stay. Our concert was around the corner at Regent Theatre so it was lovely to be able to finish there and be back in our room in 5 minutes.

The location is absolutely fantastic, especially if you've got a City View room or better with views across City Square to Flinders St Station, St Paul's Cathedral and the general hubbub of city life below. Our room had a little balcony that was perfect for standing out and watching the world go by or just letting some air in on a beautiful Melbourne day. The room itself was huge as was the bathroom with all the bits you would expect of a hotel of this standard - comfy bathrobes, relaxing bath, complimentary morning paper, ipod dock, etc. I am a lover of soft beds but this one was a little too soft for my liking - not so much a pillow top as sleeping on an actual pillow. Linen was gorgeous though.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special and very expensive - glad it was part of our package otherwise we wouldn't have bothered. Pretty much everything 'extra' was charged at premium rates - room service prices were very high as were mini-bar prices. Staff were mostly friendly and efficient although I struggled through the door with my bags without being offered help and the valet had parked my car quite tightly between 2 others then watched as I struggled to get it out, also without offering to help. You can tell from my previous reviews that I don't normally pick on such little things but, when you're paying the rates that you are at The Westin, I'm expecting consistent high standards so little things matter.

Overall, enjoyable stay and I would recommend it to others, especially for the location which really can't be beat.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view - fantastic people watching in rooms facing City Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_bear19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    434
    112
    44
    26
See reviews for
203
689
118
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, QLD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights for the AFL grand final.
It is in a great location to the MCG and the Bourke St shopping mall, If you can afford the likes of Gucci, Chanel, Tiffany & Co they are all within a few metres!
The room has all you need. My only criticism would be the lighting. I found it very difficult to do my make up in the bathroom or bedroom as the lighting was very dim.
Aside from that the bed was beautiful and so was the breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GC_Family30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Melbourne is a fabulous location for retail therapy with great bars, cafes and restaurants all within a short distance from our Hotel. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all the city has to offer and we are delighted you experienced our signature Heavenly Bed, Westin is renowned for. We have noted your comments regarding lighting and may we request when returning you mention this to our in-house reservation prior to arriving and we will organized enhanced lighting for the bathroom. We have just recently released our summer packages on our hotel’s special offers page and we hope to see you before the end of the year. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a great Hotel in Melbourne. Location can't be beaten. Was able to secure a great rate ( used stored Hotelclub points )
Very handy for Chinatown area of the CBD, also very convenient to great shopping on the bourke st mall.
Short walk to Flinders Street Station and the MCG

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. Our central location is certainly perfect for shopping in addition to Melbourne’s theatres and restaurants. Please also note, to earn Starwood Preferred Guest Starpoints you have to book through our Starwood branded websites. It is amazing how many guests save their points for their family holiday overseas and if you are on business away a lot then this is the best way to spend them with the ones you love. There are no blackout dates so you can book our hotel for all the major events and whilst it is grand final today, spring carnival commences next month and the Tennis is the best time to be in Melbourne. SPG also offers 15% off food in all F&B venues and another great savings for the family (T&C’s apply). If you are not already an SPG member, please enquire on your next stay and or log onto our website. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great location, clothes to shops,theatre and top resturants. Little noisy with the trams in the morning. Beds too soft but ok. Staff friendly and approachable nothing was ever too much trouble. We never used room service but had a couple of drinks on our way out and bar staff were great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megsychitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer. There is nothing like getting away with great friends for the weekend as we all lead such busy lives. When coming to stay once again, we are always happy to assist with your bedding preferences for a more peaceful nights sleep so please contact us directly prior to your next arrival to ensure a completely fulfilling stay. We will also pass your inspiring comments regarding our Bars team and we thank you for your comments. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Possibly the best location- & with great staff in all depts, very well trained. Understated elegance in large foyer, naturally light area. Good, spacious, quiet, well furnished room( turn off a/c at night) with great bathroom & good city views. Food was a let down. Buffet breakfast was mundane (3 nts), "high tea",was overpriced at $45 & although well presented, we thought a little stale. $8 service charge for room service is silly; surely this is a service not an extra? However, given all else, staff, location, comfort etc; would happily stay here again but going outside to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer. It is great choice to recharge with your family on a vacation in Melbourne. Our central location certainly provides convenient access to all Melbourne has to offer and we are delighted you experienced the personal and instinctive service Westin is renowned for. We thank you for your constructive feedback regarding our breakfast selections and we are always trying new items to keep it fresh. The breakfast chefs are very well known to our guests and they would be happy to assist and whip up the breakfast you would be happy with. Regarding room service charges, this practice is common in other Australian 5 star hotels. It is disappointing to hear your experience with our Contemporary High Tea was not fulfilling as all items are made on site and we are amongst the most reasonable priced for this afternoon favorite. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having stayed here for work many years ago it was an obvious choice when planning a quick overnight stay to compliment a celebration dinner in Chinatown. Online we were able to book an earlybird rate 21 days out from the stay allowing a very reasonable rate for what you get.

The staff, entry, bar and other areas are classy and welcoming. Rooms are beautiful and luxurious without being over the top and bling. Beds are top notch comfortable for a good night's sleep.

This place is even better than you expect from a hotel of this caliber. If the price suits you, don't hesitate to stay here.

Oh, even better... the hotel has logical options for internet starting at $5 so you don't get stuck with$30 bills for internet1 hour of internet!

Location wise... could not be better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whenareyoucominghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Reviewers. We are delighted you experienced a delightful stay with our signature Heavenly bed, spacious rooms and central location amongst some of Melbourne’s finest attractions. We are pleased to confirm the hotel is 100% wireless now in all our guest rooms with minimal charges starting from $5 as you mentioned. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off all Food and Beverage (T& C’s apply) and of course you always gain points by booking direct, through the SPG mobile app or our hotel website. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We decided to treat ourselves with a room here for four nights for our wedding anniversary. We normally stay at the Stamford when we come to Melbourne.This hotel is close to all of the action in terms of shopping and restaurants. Cultural attractions are also close by using the tram or walking.
At checkin we were offered a bottle of wine when told it was our wedding anniversary but declined as the word `complimentary' was not used. Our room was on the opposite side of the Swanston street frontage with a building site overlooking us with some requisite noise. This room should have been quiet at night but there was the hum of fan noise from somewhere outside the room which was disappointing.
The famed Westin bed was comfy but a bit soft for my liking. Don't look for a hard copy compendium on the desk, its all on the T.V. which has a `tinny' sound.
But the room was nicely furnished - loved the tub armchair, and had all the trimmings you would expect.
The bathroom is a cut above your average hotel offering. Its spacious and well appointed though I was surprised that there were no bath products to use in the bath; all other categories of toiletries were there including mouthwash. And bottles of water for $7.00? Its easy to pass up with free drinkable water out of the tap.
We cant comment on the food and drinks here as there are so many tempting offerings outside but we would not consider paying $8 to have room service delivered. What are the staff doing when they are not raising direct revenue in this manner?
The foyer has a nice feel and outlook and the staff were friendly. The bathroom may tempt me for a return stay but we will probably hotfoot it back to the Stamford which is a lot cheaper but still comfy.

Room Tip: To avoid building site at the moment go for a Swanston side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are thrilled you decided to stay with us for such a special occasion. At the Westin Hotel Melbourne we strive to make your experience more enjoyable at every opportunity we can. We are sorry to hear about the noise you had to deal with during the night and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We are delighted you enjoyed your luxurious room and spacious bathroom and we do take great pride in our associates and are very pleased that you thought so too. We hope you do consider staying with us again and on your next occasion we can make it an even better experience for you. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,390 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,137 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#8 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions.SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing