We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Almost awesome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #11 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Almost awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Unbeatable location in the CBD. Warm and friendly check-in. Room and bathroom very generous size and probably the best standard room I have stayed in in Melbourne. Bed is amazing as you would expect. All great but I had a few gripes, the main one being $8 delivery for room service and other minor issues being no bottle opener, no toothbrush and no bath salts to use in the beautiful bath, all of which makes it feel a bit mean. Fix these sorts of issues and I would rate it 5/5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12345678966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you enjoyed our superior service, luxurious facilities and location surrounded by Melbourne’s finest attractions. You are also welcome to ‘take a piece of heaven home’ by purchasing from the Heavenly® Bed range through our Business Centre. With the room dining delivery fee, this practice is common in other Melbourne 5 star hotels. On future stays, please may we request you send us an email and or communicate your preferences for the bathroom amenities on check in as we would be delighted to add these amenities to your profile to ensure these items are placed in your room each future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future . Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    472
    121
    48
    28
See reviews for
229
757
130
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We will definitely be going back to the Westin Melbourne, the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated in a contemporary style - it has a really good feel about it. The bathrooms are huge and the staff are like no other I have encountered before. I accidentally left clothing at another hotel and they offered to collect it... even though this proved to be quite difficult for a number of reasons... but they still pulled it off and this is something I will not be forgetting. I have already told about five people about my experience and I know that I will be telling many more - don't even bother looking anywhere else! The Westin is the place to stay. A big thank you to all the staff that helped get my dress back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dash34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for delightful comments and are sincerely grateful you are willing to recommend us to others. We are pleased we can help to retrieve your dress and your comments will be shared with all of our associates to ensure we continue to provide personal, instinctive service. For future visits to Melbourne, please visit our website to view our upcoming special offers. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

There is no better Hotel for all round criteria than the Westin.
Our room (335) was probably the best room we have had in any hotel for a while. We stayed in a Spa Suite last time, but for an "open air" feeling the "Deluxe" room is tops. Large bay windows add a unique dimension to this room.
As always, the Res staff of Regina and Rosa did did the hard yards. Thank you both.
A 3 minute walk to laneway cafes, 5 minutes to Fed Sq. & Flinders St. Station.
The same time frame to Myer and DJs.
Everything about this Hotel is exceptional.

Room Tip: Deluxe with bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyGAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our spacious room and central location. We will certainly share your comments with our Reservations Team, who will be inspired by recognition of their instinctive service. We look forward to providing another warm Westin welcome on your next visit to the city. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

By all accounts The Westin is a very enjoyable hotel to stay in. Fantastic location, excellent service and the rooms spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are a highlight. Main traffic areas are starting to look a little tired but that aside you truly cannot go past the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tastetattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you chose to stay at The Westin Melbourne and you enjoyed a fulfilling experience with our central location, luxurious Heavenly room facilities and instinctive service. In regards to our public areas, we are currently in the planning stages to refresh some of the areas including our Lobby , Wellness Centre and Allegro Restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Again we had a great weekend deal through expedia.com and I took my husband to Melbourne for his birthday. We choose not to have the hotel buffet as we were in Melbourne and spend our days walking the streets, cafe's and bars. So much to eat and so little time to do it all in.

The hotel was great as we arrived early morning and allowed us to have an early check in as our room was available. Which was a bonus for us, we grabbed a early nap before heading out for some breakfast.

The staff were excellent and we enjoyed the well appointed room with a great view. I loved the little balcony which we could open our windows out too. The plush robes were a nice little treat :).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pentacles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your husband’s birthday. We are pleased you had a memorable stay with us and hope your special experiences will bring you back to The Westin Melbourne in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King Island, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Probably the best location for 5 star hotels in proximity of being right in the centre of the CBD. After arriving and checking in, the room I requested(quiet) was very noisy with cranes building near my room. Reception was exceptionally good, in not doubting me and in no time had me moved to another room. You are so close to the main mall area, so popping back was so easy. Room service was quite good and the lobby pleasant. Beds are so incredibly comfortable, they really do live up to their reputation. Owen from concierge was extremely professional and each time he saw me in the hotel by myself, he came and asked if there was anything he could do for me and always remembered my name. Most outstanding staff member. I hope the general manager hears of such a stand out staff member.

Room Tip: A city view, a larger room than the standard is more appealing. Higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russellalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your inspiring comments regarding your recent visit. Your special comments will be shared with all departments as inspiration to continue providing personal, instinctive service and we are certainly aware of what an asset Owen is to the team and he has been commended for his exceptional service and we wish to point out that in fact he is new to our hotel. Our General Manager is very hands on and she will ensure a personal letter of thanks from you is given to Owen. We are glad we were able to quickly and easily accommodate your request to move rooms and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another fulfilling stay on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just spent a night at the The Westin for a girls night out. Must say it was a wonderful experience.
The staff were so friendly and helpful and even gave us a free upgrade.
Our room was wonderful with two doublebeds and great views of St Pauls cathedral. The beds were the most comfortable I've slept in.
We spoilt ourselves with High Tea in their lounge and it was delightful. Very generous with both savoury and sweet, little cakes and mini bagels. Tea and coffee included but we indulged with a couple of glasses of Chandon. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your delightful feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed a refreshing girl’s getaway in one of our spacious Deluxe Twin Rooms with our Heavenly beds. We appreciate you recommending our High Tea experience to others and would like to mention we have seasonal menus. We hope you will be back again in the near future for another renewing stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,977 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions.SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing