We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better luxury hotels in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Ok it's a 5 star hotel so let's get picky. Am comparing this with the Crown Towers and Park Hyatt. I ordered a morning paper, it didn't arrive. My room was at the end of the corridor and directly looked into someone else's room so I had to keep my curtains closed at all times as a man was in bed! Tea and coffee sachets were not topped up each day. Shower pressure is weak and disappointing range of toiletries. Breakfast was ok nothing special and staff around the hotel were not particularly friendly - yes bed was very comfy, location great and very quiet

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed a comfortable sleep in our central location, however we are disappointed to read you stay was not a completely fulfilling one. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments to ensure we consistently maintain our quality procedures and service standards. Please rest assured we take any service errors seriously and we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope that if you consider returning to The Westin Melbourne, you will contact us directly so we may assist with your personal room and amenity preferences for a more refreshing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,604 - 1,610 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

I really wanted to give the Westin Melbourne 5 stars but the lack of free WiFi in the rooms, the lack of a Starwood Preferred Guest breakfast room and the odd plug placement in the room let the hotel down. The staff - excellent; the bed and bathroom - excellent; the food (breakfast) - great (although perhaps a little overpriced) and the location - great, central location.

It was just annoying not to be able to get WiFi in the room, and to be on all fours at the desk (in the room) fumbling for a socket for the laptop beneath the table (and then realizing that the plug won't fit as the socket is placed too close to the floor so that the adapter plug wouldn't fit!)

I can imagine how petty these issues sound; but beside the business desk in the room (beside the desk lamp and in a great, easy to access position) was a wall mounted socket plate with every plug known to mankind (including HDMI) - but they couldn't think to provide a power socket too? ....and who in this day and age charges $300+ a night and doesn't provide WiFI?

Look - it's a fantastic hotel, in a great location with staff that provide a level of graceful service which is a credit to the Westin name.

I'd stay again - but I wish they'd sort out some of these basic features (such as the WiFi) which one kind of takes fro granted and (when it isn't then) become an annoyance greater than it warrants.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor with a view of the Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessClassExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed our personal service, guest room facilities and central location. Regarding internet access, we are currently in the process of confirming wireless internet for all of our guest rooms. Until then, internet is available by high speed broadband (wired) or wireless router. You will find these guest room internet charges are consistent with similar five star hotels and we also provide complimentary wireless access in our Business Centre and Lobby Lounge. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the placement of power sockets. We would always encourage you to contact Service Express with these concerns, as we may be able to assist with a small extension cord or similar solution to ensure your stay is more comfortable. Regarding our Starwood Preferred Guest program, similar to other boutique-style Starwood properties, we are unable to offer Executive Lounge facilities, however we hope to provide a distinctive stay in other ways as we sincerely value your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here twice going and returning from the great ocean road.

The goodness for the valet. He was prompt and just what we needed after two long driving days. Even remembered my name the second time....he was cute to boot!


The rooms were nice, but disappointed in no wifi....though with some calls to service express we did get a portable wireless router lot use. Ask service express...

The location couldn't be beat.

A little disappointed in having to pay for breakfast. In other Westin's they give me meal vouchers because of my status.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasch3904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased we were able to assist with instinctive valet service and you enjoyed a comfortable stay in our central location. Regarding our Starwood Preferred Guest program, similar to other boutique-style Starwood properties, we are unable to offer Executive Lounge facilities, however we are able to assist with complimentary Internet access for Platinum members. As you mentioned, at this stage this is available as either high speed broadband (wired) or wireless router and we are in the process of confirming standard wireless access in all guest rooms. Thank you for your loyalty, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I loved the couple of chances of had to stay at the Westin. It does its job so well.
It is above the price of many other five star places, and offers services to reflect. It is not that expensive, so expecting butlers and champagne at every corner is unreasonable.
The staff were great on all accounts, from service through meals, tending to our meetings and making us welcome at all times.
The restaurant offers far too many temptations for my stomach to bear. And the view from the dining area is gorgeous.
When in Melbourne, you must try to book here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenslanderabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide personal feedback and recommending us to others. We are pleased you enjoy our attentive service and refreshing dining options. We would be delighted to welcome you back for another distinctive stay on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

As with most of the expensive Australian hotels, there is no free wifi in the rooms even if you're a platinum preferred guest. This is very disappointing. Unlike the Westin Sydney, this one doesn't have an executive lounge (with free breakfast and free wifi) for its premium guests. Also unlike the Westin Sydney, you can't get the a/c temperature below 18 degrees C at night, so that I have to ask on every stay that the antarctic-weight duvet standardly provided be replaced with a blanket.Given the proximity of the hotel to the noise of the Swanston Street trams, the sound insulation in the affected rooms is not bad. The rooms are pleasant and clean, the bathrooms standard Westin (i.e. badly lit but with nice plumbing), the beds standard Westin (i.e. very comfortable indeed), and the staff well trained, pleasant and helpful. The location is ideal for anyone wanting to go on foot to the opera or the NGV.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our personal service and peaceful, convenient location. As a Starwood Preferred Platinum Guest, we sincerely value your loyalty and are disappointed to read your experience was not a completely fulfilling one. Similar to other boutique-style Starwood properties, we are unable to offer Executive Lounge facilities, however we do offer complimentary Internet access for Platinum members. At this stage this is available as either high speed broadband (wired) or wireless router and we are in the process of confirming standard wireless access in all guest rooms. We apologise if this was not made clear during your stay. Regarding the air conditioning temperature, we will investigate if this can be lowered and otherwise we are more than happy to assist with adding your personal bedding preferences to your profile to ensure a consistently comfortable stay. We hope to welcome you back for a more refreshing experience. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Beautiful hotel, the beds are amazing. It was just hubby & I this time for my birthday and it was romantic! The rooms are very nice and spacious. Service exceptional and one of the best things is the location. Right on ritzy Collins streets, next door to the theater and a short walk to fantastic shopping. Loved it and will stay again one day......

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighgrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you enjoyed a fulfilling stay for your special occasion. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our Heavenly Beds, spacious facilities and personal service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is. Good property though a little too close to the seedy train station for my liking. I have styled here a number of times and find it very convenient. Rooms are spacious with little sign of wear. Could do with better plug arrangements for computers etc and perhaps an iPod dock. Otherwise staff v nice. Breakfast good

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Reviewer. We are pleased you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms, personal service and refreshing breakfast options. Thank you for your feedback regarding our guest room power outlets and please note we do have iPod docking stations in all rooms as part of the bedside radio/alarm clocks. We look forward to welcoming you back for another refreshing stay in the not too distant future. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,828 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,458 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
890 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $166 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing