We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seasons Botanic Gardens
Ranked #85 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent view, excellent location - easy walk or tram ride to CBD, with much cheaper parking (even cheaper on-street meter parking - 4 hours during B/hrs, but free over night). Have stayed twice using "Run of the House" specials. Very affordable. We live only 1 hour from CBD, therefore would not stay in town if had to pay high rates. Expected to get worst rooms, but both times upgraded to 1, then 2 bedroom apartment. Very spacious. Only down side is double beds are two singles pushed together - not ideal for couples night away, but will definitely stay again.

General comment for all hotels - stop using carpet! it can never be as clean as laminate floors. Recently stayed in at Fraser Apartments in Shanghai. First hotel I have stayed at with laminate floors - excellent!

Room Tip: Use "run of the house" specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winemakerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buddhika b, Manager at Seasons Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review based on the experience and observations during the recent stay with us.

Once again, thank you for the review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Thank you,

Buddhika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    257
    68
    30
    23
See reviews for
132
179
28
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed one night in winter and chose the "run of house' special for the first time. It turned out to be excellent value as we were given a one bedroom apartment which was a real surprise as we were expecting a studio room. We arrived early and were allowed to park downstairs until the room was ready which was really helpful. The apartment was very clean with very basic kitchen facilities, 2 spoons, 2 forks etc. No coffee plunger, but we managed with the teapot and strainer. Heating was good, bed comfortable, 2 TVs. Very pleasant staff at reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buddhika b, Manager at Seasons Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is fantastic to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us at Seasons Botanic Garden Hotel. Certainly, your feedback will be handy for our potential future guests.

Please be advised that coffee plungers and additional kitchen utensils are available for any requests.

Once again, thank you for the review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Thank you,
Buddhika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location was good, we stayed in summer and was a nice walk to the MCG for the cricket. Hotel was ok and clean but fairly dated and boring. Views are horrible so not a place to stay if you are looking for luxury. If you are just looking for a cheap place to sleep in it is perfect. Would stay again for location and value but not for a romantic / special stay. reception staff not very friendly or good, we had free breakfast as part of our deal but they did not tell us this ended at 10am. Restaurant staff excellent and whipped us up a quick breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay for the view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazzy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buddhika b, Manager at Seasons Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and sharing your opinion based on your experience during the recent stay with us.

Your feedback is always welcome and it will assist us in maintaining what we do well and improve in areas of need.

However, we are not very happy to see your comment “cheap hotel” as our standards comply with required standards of 4.5 star hotel apartments. This could potentially tarnish our image.
We have taken your other comments onboard and colleagues have been advised accordingly.
Once again, thank you for the review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Thank you,

Buddhika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had not stayed here for over 10 years so decided to give it a try as it was close to where we had to attend a function.
The reservation process was relaxed and easy, check in was straight forward, the 2 bedroom apartment was tired and very dated but acceptable. Unfortunately I don't think the bathroom had been updated for a long time nor given a good clean. The housekeepers need to have a look behind the door in the bathroom and give the floor a good clean.
The beds were also well past their use by date but the linen was nice. The rooms were fairly quiet and we had a nice view.
The trip from the car park to the lobby could be a challenge for some as there are lots of stairs with twists and turns. I liked the fact we could park our car and come and go as we pleased but some might find the lane and car park a bit tight.
Whilst i think the standards have dropped it was a pleasant stay but certainly on the expensive side and not good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buddhika b, Manager at Seasons Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor based on your personal opinion and experience.

As we always have a positive approach towards our guest feedback, and we believe they help us to improve our shortfalls in order to provide better service to our valued guests.
We have noted your comments on housekeeping standards and necessary steps have been taken to prevent it happening in the future.

Please feel free to talk to us to find out our value added promotions and specials for very attractive and competitive rates.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Buddhika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tessacate88
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent just one night here recently and took a gamble on the "run of house" special on the hotel's internet site. Expected to be allocated the worst room in the hotel but were very pleasantly surprised to be given a one bedroom apartment with a decent outlook down the drive and across to the gardens with half the Shrine of Remembrance visible.

The apartment had a small balcony with table and 2 chairs, but it was too cold to use them. The apartment had a microwave oven and dish washer and basic kitchen ware. Both lounge and bedroom had large flat screen TV's which were welcome. The bathroom was large and modern and adequately cleaned, although I'm not convinced the hand towel had been changed since the last occupant. The bed had a definite dip in the middle but this didn't affect our sleep at all and in fact it was very comfy. The full length windows in both rooms made for a light and airy apartment.

Check-in/check-out was friendly and efficient. Access for the carpark was easy from South Melbourne although note there is no lift to reception from the car park so ensure you take your bags to your room before you put the car away. The hotel seems to be keeping costs down by eliminating the conscierge/bell service so it was self-serve with the bags on arrival and departure. This didn't worry us as there were luggage trolleys available from just inside the front door.

Our only real complaint was the lighting in the rooms which all used energy saving globes and it was very difficult to find a spot where you could get a good light to read.

Overall a good 4 star hotel. We will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessacate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed recently for 2 nights while in Melbourne for a football match. We actually walked through the botanical gardens to the MCG, easy flat 20min walk. Parking is reasonably priced given proximity to the city. Car park is a bit tight and quite a few stairs back to the lobby with no elevator. We had a room in the southern building which was obviously quite old, they've done an ok job of modernising especially the kitchen was good but our room needed fresh paint pretty badly. Room was clean though. Quiet room with tram stop to the city or st Kilda right out front. I would stay again for the good price we got.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony but it was tiny so it wasn't a big bonus. A room facing st kilda rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buddhika b, Manager at Seasons Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and sharing your opinion based on your experience during the recent stay with us.

Your feedback is always welcome and it will assist us in maintaining what we do well and improve in areas of need.

Once again, thank you for the review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Thank you,

Buddhika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I chose to stay here as it was the venue of our 2 day seminar. We found everything from the car parking, reception service, room facilities and general location to be fantastic.
Our room was facing busy St Kilda Road, and looking out towards the Botanic Gardens, but was extremely quiet. The thing that came as a real surprise was the quality of the in-house restaurant Orient East. We enjoyed a 10/10 evening dining experience due to the exceptional Malaysian-influenced cuisine and friendly and competent service. On our last evening, due to the mild conditions, we walked from a show at Exhibition Street back to the hotel. We look forward to making the Seasons Botanic Gardens our Melbourne base!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevthenob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buddhika b, Manager at Seasons Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your beautiful review along with your true experience. It is indeed a great pleasure to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our hotel facilities.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Buddhika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#111 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Quest South Melbourne
#121 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra St Kilda Road
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Bayview Eden
#108 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Royce Hotel
#33 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seasons Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Botanic Gardens

Property: Seasons Botanic Gardens
Address: 348 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seasons Botanic Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasons Botanic Gardens is located on tree lined St Kilda Rd. overlooking the picturesque Botanical Gardens and Shrine of Remembrance. Only minutes away from the CBD, Southbank Entertainment prescient, Arts Centre, National Gallery of Victoria and Melbourne Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seasons Botanic Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Botanic Gardens Melbourne
Seasons Botanic Gardens Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing