We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms better than comparable hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seasons Botanic Gardens
Ranked #105 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our experience of this hotel is positive. Staff were excellent. Friendly and most helpful. Location to botanical gardens across the road unbeatable. Short tram ride to city or St Kilda. Breakfast we enjoyed. The studio apartment served us well [2a/1c]. It had a kitchenette, bed and lounge area and it was a big room. We had actually transferred from another apartment chain in Collins Street which was nothing on this place. So we highly recommend this hotel and thanks to the staff for a great stay [actually November 2010].

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 560 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

We used this hotel because of its location close the Shrine and the Botanic Garden. From this point of view the choice was a success and we found that the CBD was only a short tram ride away. We had a one bedroomed apartment, which was OK. However we found that the food provided for breakfast provided on our first morning was very sparse. We also had trouble in getting our room cleaned, and when it was done, the overall process was very unsatisfactory and skimpy. Nuts which had fallen on the floor were still there 2 days later. The front desk staff did not have English as their first language and were decidedly vague. They even tried to charge me again for our prepaid room. Our details hadn't been entered into the computer system and it was only after a lot of argument and getting them to look at their paper records that they agreed that they had indeed been paid. In addition there was an extra charge to use the washing machine, and the internet was also charged extra - 20AU$ for 30 minutes which had to be used in a single session.
In brief: location fine: Accommodation adequate: service poor,

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment,only one wine glass in kitchen,otherwise pleasant and clean.Ordered the newspaper to be delivered only got it once.
Very bad service and food at the citro cafe,The staff had no customer service skills and we ordered fish which we had to send back as it was still raw in the middle.waited another 25 mins only to be offered a plate which looked like someone had blow touched the fish and vegies.refused to eat it and did not pay the $66 for the fish.If you have a 4 1/2 star rating l would expect the same in your food.How hard is it to cook fish and put a smile on your face!!!
managment need to look into that place as it reflects on your hotel and l will not recomend it to anyone.Lift your standards

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Hotel was ok average but unsre 179.00 per night plus 20aud for parking was worth it
bit dissappointed really

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLHJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I cant believe how bad this hotel is. I was present when the maid was cleaning the bathroom. She sprayed a bit of harsh chemical on the bathtub - that's it! Didnt even use a sponge or brush! Then she sprayed some chemical on the floor and used my towels and her leg!!! Those towels go then to a wasing machine with other towels and are used by guests! When i asked her why she is diung it this way, she responded that this were the instructions from management!
This hotel requires a health inspection and should be closed!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoannaInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasonsmanagement, Manager at Seasons Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Joanna,

Thank you for your review on expressing your dissatisfaction with the level of service you received from Seasons Botanic Gardens. We have earned a reputation as a modern apartment hotel for guests to have an enjoyable stay. I was disappointed that on this occasion, we did not deliver.

It is certainly not our hotel standards to adhere to such poor cleaning procedures or standards, nor do we accept such poor performance of housekeeping team members. We would like to assure you that we take these matters very seriously as they directly affect the reputation and image of the hotel.

As a result of this, we requested the outsourced housekeeping company to conduct special training sessions to ensure that all staffs are using the correct procedures. This training was held in a vacant dirty room during and each staff member present were asked to sign documentation which acknowledges that they understand the procedure and the consequences for any breach of the procedure.

The housekeeping supervisor will be monitoring this on a daily basis when she is on the floors, and any staff member found to be non-compliant with the procedure will be issued with a Disciplinary Notice.

We are certain that this will ensure that there is no repeat of this incident.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this matter further.

Vincent Hsu
seasons apartment hotel group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the Seasons Botanical for 5 days on our first trip to Melbourne. Reception staff very efficient and friendly on checkin and throughout. We stayed in a Studio Apartment Room, was very clean, spacious and a really comfy bed. For some strange reason there were no bowls available for soup or cereal??? We asked for bowls a number of times but they never turned up??? We made do sharing the pyrex casserole dish!!!! Needs a light in kitchen area, very dark. It is a 15 minute walk to Flinders Station and Federation Square. Botanical Gardens and Shrine of Remberence opposite. Trams close by if required.

Room Tip: Our room was on 5th Floor and had views of more apartments, but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanandeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Brought my family here, so 4 adults in a 2 bedroom unit.

Good:
Enough room for everyone
Kitchen has all appliances and plates and cutlery
Tv in main room and in each bedroom (3 in total )
Washer and dryer
Internet ($30/day)
Good value, for little more than a hotel room you can house 4 people

Bad:
lifts can be slow
Swipe card did not work on day 2 of a 5 day stay
No soap! Had to ask and it was delivered - perhaps an oversight
Breakfast buffet is crap! One of the worst hot buffets I've ever had
Room service food is also crap! Neither my wife or parents liked anything ordered except hot chips which can't go wrong
Service slow - asked for extra towel took 30 mins to arrive
Asked for help with bags from concierge , took 10 mins to get help


Overall I think this is a good value place but wouldn't stay here again as food and service not good. But the apartment is spacious. There are other places in cbd that are better



  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneysider99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#15 of 162 in Melbourne
556 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#122 of 162 in Melbourne
605 reviews
Royce Hotel
#35 of 162 in Melbourne
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#51 of 162 in Melbourne
942 reviews
Quest South Melbourne
#121 of 162 in Melbourne
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seasons Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Botanic Gardens

Address: 348 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#93 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $112 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seasons Botanic Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasons Botanic Gardens is located on tree lined St Kilda Rd. overlooking the picturesque Botanical Gardens and Shrine of Remembrance. Only minutes away from the CBD, Southbank Entertainment prescient, Arts Centre, National Gallery of Victoria and Melbourne Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seasons Botanic Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Botanic Gardens Melbourne
Seasons Botanic Gardens Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing