We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home in Melbourne!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #94 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We return each year to Melbourne for an extended stay visiting family so we look for somthing more than just a hotel room. This stay was our first at The Lyall and we honestly believe to have found our new home away from home in Melbourne.
We were welcomed by a friendly desk staff who during our 11 night stay always displayed the same friendly approach and were always available responding to any type of request.
Our room was a super deluxe one bedroom suite on the top (4th) floor of the hotel. The room offered large living, sleeping and bathroom areas and a small fully equipped kitchen which was also equipped with a clothes washer/dryer. We made little use of the kitchen since the South Yarra area offered so many great places to eat within easy walking distance. Above all else we enjoyed a beautifully restful sleep each night undisturbed by any noises from the corridor or outside. We are fussy about hotel beds and pillows but we found the king size bed in our suite perfect for us both.
Being a small hotel breakfasts were served in the bar/bistro area beside reception. There is no buffet but a full breakfast menu with tables served by the staff serving both breakfast tables and reception at the same time. For this reason we found the table service a little slow sometimes but the our morning coffee was always delivered to our liking...hot.
We will definitely stay again at The Lyall and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 13LOVE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 344 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

Great personalized booking experience from very generous and welcoming Manager. A huge discount was given for the top "Platinum" suite for our 2 night stay aswell as complimentary breakfast, valet parking, internet and a very-much appreciated bottle of French Champagne delivered to our room at the time of our choosing. Very professional and gorgeously dressed staff. Our suite on the top floor was extremely spacious with huge comfy couches, 2 flat-screen TV's, 2 toilets, great kitchen, huge spa-bath in bathroom and a wonderful shower. The private balcony was well used for drinks and nibbles on both balmy evenings and gave a gorgeous view through the leafy-trees over to the city skyline. Evening/pre-dinner cocktails in the cosy intimate Champagne Bar was a lovely experience - served by a very friendly and chatty barman. Breakfast in the same room was a very elegant affair with gorgeous coffee and beautifully presented food served with elegant crockery, etc. Great location in a quiet back-street just off bustling Chapel St which is full of wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommend this hotel to those wanting a getaway without the hustle-bustle of the often crowded and bustling bigger hotels in Melbourne. Even saw the winner of the Australian Open doing an interview in the Lobby - we probably had the room he wanted!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNicky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The Lyall is a really lovely city hotel which is great for travelers as each room is like a small apartment complete with fully equipped kitchen and a washing machine - an added bonus!
We were upgraded to a two bedroom/two bathroom suite which was very handy. Especially good as the rooms themselves are quite small and one bedroom would have felt cramped.
The staff are delightful and really can't do enough for you and this, together with the warm welcome we received whenever we returned to the hotel, made it feel like a home from home.
The surrounding area is fantastic - full of shops and restaurants and definitely better than the CBD. I highly recommend this hotel ( apart from the pillows which were too hard!)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We live in Melbourne and decided to have a weekend at a luxury hotel. We were not disappointed with the Lyall. It has the feel of a private club and the staff are exceptional. The decor is conservative elegance and all rooms are suites. One thing we really noticed was the attention to detail - they really have thought of everything - right down to local hotel recommendations from the hotel owners. This was a nice touch and was even current - one thing you often find lacking in a hotel. The room was quiet even though we were on the front of the building. The curtains were full blackout and the aircon worked well. The kitchen was a nice touch too with plunger coffee included. The bathroom was large and well appointed and there is a TV in each room. The Lyall Spa is fantastic also - I was lucky enough to have a fantastic massage and steam session. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a luxury alternative to CBD hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Arrived at this elegant hotel to find we'd been given an upgrade to a large suit, complete with a washer and dryer in the kitchen - perfect as we were on a driving holiday. Beautiful, light filled rooms with three balconies. The staff were excellent, especially David the evening manager who was helpful, informative and went the extra mile to make our stay in Melbourne one of the best parts of our time in Australia. The Spa was worth the money - wonderful, restorative massage. Would go back in a heart beat. Good location for shops and restaurants and easy walking distance to the beautiful Botanical Gardens. The restaurant is a little limited but a good place for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldhaddonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed the first night of a three week holiday visiting friends and family in Australia. Staff were fantastic, and very helpful. Room was tiny, and bathroom needs a refurb. Airconditioning was not working, which was disappointing, considering how much we were paying. Overall okay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zouppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Arrived to a friendly welcome and the staff were pretty much helpful throughout. Lovely spa with easy availability for treatments, plenty geared to jetlag, and they work! Lots of good eating places nearby (though one of their recommendations was France Soir, which we wouldn't recommend unless you were a regular!) particularly Harveys next door (but don't do their famous breakfast, unless you still want to be there for supper!) The hotel is also close to some fabulous shopping and cafes for bored husbands, but you need to be aware that the hotel is in the middle of the urban sprawl and has absolutely no view at all. The rooms could probably do with a bit of a refurb soon, but always clean and well stocked, with littlle balconies. The one thing this hotel is missing is a courtyard or some area to sit and relax, that to us was their one failing. Good breakfasts and a friendly little bar. A lovely family run boutique hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,842 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,921 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#84 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $173 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing